Ratings based on 194 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Fair room conditions, within walking distance to main Ocean Ave street, and lots of available parking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Lovely Stay

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Pros: Big room.
Cons: Wifi
We stayed in the Hofsas Hotel for 2 nights, and it exceeded our expectations. We booked it based on value as Carmel seemed to be pretty expensive, so we weren't expecting much, but were pleasantly surprised. Big room, clean, all amenities that we needed (hairdryer, iron, fridge etc), shower was good and the bed was comfy. Continental breakfast was provided, which consisted of a selection of pastries, yoghurt and fruit. All in all, a pretty good stay. And Carmel is a lovely place to visit, with great parks and wildlife nearby, so well worth a stay. Only downside - really band wifi!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel for the price

Posted Sep 11, 2017
We needed a clean place to sleep not a resort. This hotel fit the bill. Clean in a nice central location. Dated and thin walls but lovely staff and a nice breakfast. Quaint.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ancaster, On, canada

Hotel in Carmel

Posted Aug 23, 2017
More like a motel than a hotel. Built on a slope so some walking required from the car to the room
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location

Posted Jul 27, 2017
Pros: Location and a very comfortable room.
Cons: Parking
Location: Walking distance to great shopping and wonderful restaurants.
Our room was very comfortable and spacious. Loved the balcony!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth, Western Australia

Quaint hotel in beautiful Carmel

Posted Jul 27, 2017
We had a great stay for one night here on our way from LA to San Francisco. A quaint hotel with great facilities - the heated bathroom floor was awesome! Would stay here again, wished we had more time in Carmel. A definite must see on the coastal roadtrip.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice simple hotel

Posted Jul 19, 2017
The Hotel is nice and near to restaurants and shops. The breakfast is include but is a buffet with croissant, Joghurt and fruit that the guest should take with them in their rooms. The rooms are pretty clairaudient
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Alameda, CA

Nice View and Very Clean

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Pros: The balcony with a view of the ocean.
Cons: Thicker soundproof walls would make this place great.
Location: Very easy walk to all the wonderful shops and restaurants in Carmel.
Overall the experience was very good. The hotel is old, but it is very clean and we had no issues at all. The only criticism I would make is the walls are very thin in all directions.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Close to town

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Pros: See above.
Cons: See above.
Location: See above
Hotel staff is excellent. Hotel grounds very clean. Room could use some work in cleanliness. Carpet needed to be restretched. Door lock needs to be replaced, it would not release key w/o wrestling. Hotel is very houses. Walking on balconies, walking in rooms above and next to you is very loud. If you need quiet, look elsewhere. Hotel is right in town, great restaurants, stores, charm. Like I said: Hotel is at best good. Staff was great.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas - TX

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Average hotel, the rooms facing the pool can be very noisy as there are only 2 or 3 floors and you are literally few steps from the pool. Breakfast is not good (fruits and some pastries only), the room was clean, staff was very friendly. Location is great. Would recommend if you are on a budget and pretend to be outside most part of the day!