Ratings based on 181 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location

Posted Jul 27, 2017
Pros: Location and a very comfortable room.
Cons: Parking
Location: Walking distance to great shopping and wonderful restaurants.
Our room was very comfortable and spacious. Loved the balcony!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth, Western Australia

Quaint hotel in beautiful Carmel

Posted Jul 27, 2017
We had a great stay for one night here on our way from LA to San Francisco. A quaint hotel with great facilities - the heated bathroom floor was awesome! Would stay here again, wished we had more time in Carmel. A definite must see on the coastal roadtrip.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice simple hotel

Posted Jul 19, 2017
The Hotel is nice and near to restaurants and shops. The breakfast is include but is a buffet with croissant, Joghurt and fruit that the guest should take with them in their rooms. The rooms are pretty clairaudient
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Alameda, CA

Nice View and Very Clean

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Pros: The balcony with a view of the ocean.
Cons: Thicker soundproof walls would make this place great.
Location: Very easy walk to all the wonderful shops and restaurants in Carmel.
Overall the experience was very good. The hotel is old, but it is very clean and we had no issues at all. The only criticism I would make is the walls are very thin in all directions.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Close to town

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Pros: See above.
Cons: See above.
Location: See above
Hotel staff is excellent. Hotel grounds very clean. Room could use some work in cleanliness. Carpet needed to be restretched. Door lock needs to be replaced, it would not release key w/o wrestling. Hotel is very houses. Walking on balconies, walking in rooms above and next to you is very loud. If you need quiet, look elsewhere. Hotel is right in town, great restaurants, stores, charm. Like I said: Hotel is at best good. Staff was great.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas - TX

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Average hotel, the rooms facing the pool can be very noisy as there are only 2 or 3 floors and you are literally few steps from the pool. Breakfast is not good (fruits and some pastries only), the room was clean, staff was very friendly. Location is great. Would recommend if you are on a budget and pretend to be outside most part of the day!
5 out of 5
by Ken

Old but Authentic Hospitality

Posted May 14, 2017 on Hotels
Great location in Carmel, good value, partial ocean view, nice breakfast, wonderful owner/hostess.
5 out of 5
by Robin

A great place for visiting Carmel at a good rate

Posted May 2, 2017 on Hotels
We really enjoyed this place. It is in a great location and even though it is older and a bit worn, the staff was both friendly and so many hard working employees, from housekeeping to grounds. The room was large, could easily accomodate a king size bed, and the queen bed in it was not very comfortable. We did get a great deal. The bathroom was very large and although older, extremely clean. The pool is heated and beautiful. The view from the balcony on the top floor is beautiful. Great for sunset. The location to the beach and close by dining is perfect!
5 out of 5
by Bernard

Roomy and great location!

Posted Apr 28, 2017 on Hotels
Location was great! Just a few blocks to where everything is, and about a 15 minutes walk to the beach which would be a great place to hang out for a couple of hours. The hotel does show its age but it is well maintained in regards to cleanliness. Customer service was outstanding! If you are used to modern hotels with updated furnishing, this will not be for you. If you appreciate a bit more space than the average hotel plus great customer service, this is the right place!
5 out of 5
by Jean

A Carmel jewel.

Posted Apr 27, 2017 on Hotels
Had a very good experience. Great location, very friendly staff. Would diffinitly go back.