Ratings based on 210 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Westlake Village, CA

A celebration!

Posted Nov 14, 2017
Pros: The ambiance and location. Loved the ocean views.
Cons: Room 32!
Location: Art galleries. Dining! A bit of Europe.Try Friar Tucks for lunch. Unique.
Your staff made us feel very much at home. Plus, all our family had lovely, updated ocean-view rooms. Hofsas suites are unique in their decor ... no one accommodation alike. This is a beautifully-cared for family-owned business. The morning pastries were delectable and the coffee delicious.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alameda, CA

Ok, but small.

Posted Nov 9, 2017
Pros: See above
Cons: See above
Location: The location was good.
The room was ok, but small. The mattress had lumps and the chairs were uncomfortable to sit in for very long. The bathroom tub had problems. The hot water handle die not shut off until you moved it back and forth. Also, the water didn't switch over to the shower when you pulled up the pin. About half the water still came out of the faucet. The staff were nice and helpful. The place was kind of old and needed some work.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 8, 2017
Nice big rooms within walking distance of beach and restaurants
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Fair room conditions, within walking distance to main Ocean Ave street, and lots of available parking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Lovely Stay

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Pros: Big room.
Cons: Wifi
We stayed in the Hofsas Hotel for 2 nights, and it exceeded our expectations. We booked it based on value as Carmel seemed to be pretty expensive, so we weren't expecting much, but were pleasantly surprised. Big room, clean, all amenities that we needed (hairdryer, iron, fridge etc), shower was good and the bed was comfy. Continental breakfast was provided, which consisted of a selection of pastries, yoghurt and fruit. All in all, a pretty good stay. And Carmel is a lovely place to visit, with great parks and wildlife nearby, so well worth a stay. Only downside - really band wifi!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel for the price

Posted Sep 11, 2017
We needed a clean place to sleep not a resort. This hotel fit the bill. Clean in a nice central location. Dated and thin walls but lovely staff and a nice breakfast. Quaint.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ancaster, On, canada

Hotel in Carmel

Posted Aug 23, 2017
More like a motel than a hotel. Built on a slope so some walking required from the car to the room
4 out of 5
by Syed

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 14, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Catherine

Hofsas house

Posted Aug 9, 2017 on Hotels
Great stay in Hofsas house in Carmel. Beautiful hotel with friendly staff and great service. Carmel is a fabulous place to stay
4 out of 5
by Christina

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 3, 2017 on Hotels