Ratings based on 152 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Nice hotel for a family trip with great view

Posted Aug 1, 2017
Pros: view, breakfast
Cons: the room is out-dated
Location: hiking
We stayed here for one night for our family trip. The hotel room is comfortable and has great view, but it could have been nicer if the rooms are remodeled. The hotel staff is friendly and helpful. We love the breakfast and the view from the restaurant is amazing!
5 out of 5
by Carry

Incredible Resturant - dinner was excellent

Posted Jan 7, 2017 on Hotels
This was the perfect spot for our honeymoon. Very romantic.The hotel even sent us chocolate covered strawberries and a bottle of wine.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't need to do this again

Posted Dec 26, 2016 on Hotels
Service was great, but the rooms are a huge disappointment considering the price. We had stayed there many years ago on our honeymoon and wanted to go back out of curiosity, but don't ever have to do that again. Also, the tub spout shot off when we tried to use the shower. Not exactly the best experience given the other nice hotels in the Carmel area.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Views - Otherwise a Mixed Grade

Posted Oct 31, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel has fantastic views. The lobby, restaurant and common areas are all nice and in pretty good shape. However, the rooms are dated and both the interior and exterior of the guest rooms need refurbishing, although the bathrooms seem to have been updated. Hotel service was great. Restaurant service was mixed. Breakfast service was good. The service at dinner at Pacific's Edge was mediocre and the wine steward was poor. Overall, if it were not for the great views I would say the hotel was overpriced.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from montreal

Posted Sep 2, 2016
Very Nice view ! Old facility ... Over priced and definitely not worth 4 diamonds ... The food quality is very good The room and bathroom are more like a 3 star hotel
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NEW YORK

Disappointed, Overpriced Rooms, Food

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: The fireplace, the view from the dining room.
Cons: THE FOOD, Bushes and trees need to be trimmed, never blocking any room views.
Location: North of Big Sur
Considering the pricey rates, it's no surprise that the clientele is super uppity here. When we showed up to check in, one guest was complaining about the sleeve for the room key not having information about how the magnetic strip could be demagnetized by a cell phone (and she wouldn't let it go), and another complained about the "muzak" being too loud, which wasn't loud at all and actually Muzak at all. Being expensive, it's no surprise that the hotel is stuffy. And it's no surprise that the food is super stuffy and overpriced. That considered, you would at least expect it to be good. It was not, save the au gratin potatoes side dish. The prices were really obnoxious, considering the quality. More important, the view, which is the whole reason for staying here was largely blocked by a bush. Before booking, it's essential to know where they're going to put you. Don't accept a lower room (one sitting downstairs from the pool or on the first floor), or the view will be disappointing and therefore the room overpriced. Best thing about the place (and this was awesome), was the in-room fireplace. Kindling, newspapers, matches, and tons of different types of logs were provided, which was awesome. Also, it's INSANE that they serve breakfast in a room with a crap view... Every meal should be served where the great floor to ceiling glass windows are... It's incredibly frustrating to guests that breakfast must be eaten in a subpar room on the side.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great view and restaurants.

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Property is in dire need of renovation. Very overpriced.
3 out of 5
by Allison

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 14, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from dayton ohio

Nice view

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Hotel good location and nice view to ocean from room, found the rate extremely expensive and needs to be mantained much better. Next time will stay at hotel In carmel rather then this hyatt ....not worth the view...staff however very nice and helpfull
2 out of 5
by Lori from PA

Definitely not 4 stars!

Posted Aug 14, 2016 on Hotels
We were very disappointed when we got to our hotel/room it was definitely not a 4 star hotel! Wanted to leave but the staff was nice and it was only for one night.