Ratings based on 201 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location/poor service

Posted Oct 18, 2017
Pros: Breakfasr
Cons: Responsiveness of staff, room’s carpet cleaned, shear curtains for privacy, fans if not air conditioning.
Location: Lovely location, next to main street shopping and restaurants.
Terrible check in experience and staff is very slow to respond in all most all conditions. Our phone did not work and despite 2 service people it never was fixed. Good breakfast. Room was dark, dirty carpet, right on court yard with no privacy except heavy dark drapes, and no air conditioning with 90 degree temperature and unsafe conditions to leave windows open.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Just Beautiful!

Posted Sep 6, 2017
The hotel was simply beautiful. The room was well appointed. The staff was attentive. The breakfast amazing. I really enjoyed my stay. The outside gardens were peaceful, the closest I've ever been to a hummingbird. You will not be disappointed.
5 out of 5
by Jennifer

Lovely Hotel

Posted Jul 30, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely hotel nestled in the heart of Carmel. Staff was excellent in handling our dinner reservations and recommending restaurants.
5 out of 5
by Matthew

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 25, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Charming boutique hotel perfectly located.

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: Elegantly charming. Old world European charm with modern amenities. Friendly staff. Delicious food.
Cons: Can't think of anything.
Location: Blocks from the beach, shopping & restaurants. Short drive to Monterey, Pacific Grove, Pebble Beach, Big Sur & Carmel Valley (lovely wineries).
From check in to check out, we had a lovely stay. The hotel fits perfectly in Carmel as it is elegant, quaint and charming - just like so many of the homes and shops there. Our room overlooked the property's beautiful courtyard which is filled with flowers, well-kept landscaping, and a number of areas with tables, sofas and chairs for guests to enjoy coffee, a glass of wine or just to take in the beauty of the surroundings. The hotel staff is so friendly and helpful - always smiling and asking how they can be of service. The breakfast that was included with the room rate was delicious, filling and a perfect way to start the day. The Nespresso machine in our room was a much-appreciated amenity. Our room was bright and airy with comfortable chairs to relax and read in and the bed was quite comfortable as well. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and are looking forward to returning someday.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Expensive & Underwhelming.

Posted Jul 6, 2017
This was the most disappointing of hotels, given the price and the hype. It's old, tired and SO expensive. The bellman accepted our tip before we were told that an additional hefty daily fee to cover tips would be added to our room charge. He should have politely declined it as it would've been the classy thing to do - especially at a hotel of this "elegance." The included Breakfast offered eggs, toast, and coffee/tea. We had expected something unique and gourmet. A cappuccino was offered... for an additional cost. I guess a cappuccino is just too much to ask. Hmm. We won't be back. Save your money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Perfection. Coffee on the terrace, cognac in fron

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Pros: Everything.
Location: Walk to the beach, shops, many restaurants...even a park.
We loved the location, the Quiet atmosphere, the staff the food and the extras...cookies at turn down...yum!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 28, 2017
We had a very nice stay. It is close to everything.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from S.C.

great to explore downtown

Posted Apr 8, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Location and staff.Better
Cons: Better value in restaurant
Location: 17 mile drive wineries pacific coast hwy.
Enjoyed the stay in great location in Carmel. Staff very accommodating. Restaurant is a bit pretentious and overpriced.
5 out of 5
by Michael

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 11, 2017 on Hotels