Ratings based on 579 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from campbell, ca

Beautiful view

Posted Jan 20, 2018
Beautiful hotel very close to the beach, wish there was better parking but it does not take away from the stay. The staff are very friendly and polite and they seem proud of the hotel and what it has to offer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great hotel for couples getaway

Posted Jan 15, 2018
Our stay at this hotel was excellent. Falling asleep to the sound of the waves crashing on the beach was priceless and the sunset views were amazing. It is in a very good location - close to the beach and to shopping without being right in the middle of it. The only thing that could have been better was the size of the bathroom - it was very small. Otherwise, perfect!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St Louis

Beautiful Carmel

Posted Jan 10, 2018
Pros: The charm, comfort, and staff.
Location: All of Carmel from the town to the beach.
La Playa is an established hotel with old world charm. The staff was wonderful, the amenities were great, and loved the cookies.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Very cozy hotel!

Posted Dec 23, 2017
We loved staying at La Playa! We’ve stayed there twice now and loved both times. The brunch, milk and cookies, and wine by the fireplace make this hotel memorable and a real treat!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Smallest room ever

Posted Dec 19, 2017
Room wasn't ready on time and it was the smallest room I've ever stayed in.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Posted Dec 8, 2017
Pros: the noncommercial enviornment but a top hotel.
Cons: may be the lighting in the room.
Location: Great proximity to the carmel beach and the downtown with amazing shopping experience..
Beautiful facility and a boutique small residential style with all amenities. The best part was the great breakfast on the terrace with great views of the ocean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SF Bay Area

Beautiful hotel close to beach & Ocean Ave

Posted Nov 21, 2017
We spent our honeymoon here, and it was perfect. They gave us a complimentary bottle of champagne and a sweet congratulatory card upon our arrival. Champagne breakfasts with omelet and waffle bar. Free shuttle service to and from restaurants around Ocean Ave. Amazing and friendly staff. We can’t wait to come back for our one year anniversary!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great all around

Posted Nov 20, 2017
Great hotel all around. Only downside is the walls are quite thin. Very friendly staff, beautiful grounds, very good breakfast and excellent location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bay Area

Nice stay!

Posted Nov 14, 2017
Very nice experience. Super friendly staff. Great breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Love the extras!

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Pros: Location
Location: Shopping and dining options galore!
Rooms were small but well kept. Enjoyed the extra services including local rides, water bottles, cookies and breakfast. Even though you do pay an extra resort fee it was all done very well.