Ratings based on 566 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Posted Dec 8, 2017
Pros: the noncommercial enviornment but a top hotel.
Cons: may be the lighting in the room.
Location: Great proximity to the carmel beach and the downtown with amazing shopping experience..
Beautiful facility and a boutique small residential style with all amenities. The best part was the great breakfast on the terrace with great views of the ocean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SF Bay Area

Beautiful hotel close to beach & Ocean Ave

Posted Nov 21, 2017
We spent our honeymoon here, and it was perfect. They gave us a complimentary bottle of champagne and a sweet congratulatory card upon our arrival. Champagne breakfasts with omelet and waffle bar. Free shuttle service to and from restaurants around Ocean Ave. Amazing and friendly staff. We can’t wait to come back for our one year anniversary!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great all around

Posted Nov 20, 2017
Great hotel all around. Only downside is the walls are quite thin. Very friendly staff, beautiful grounds, very good breakfast and excellent location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bay Area

Nice stay!

Posted Nov 14, 2017
Very nice experience. Super friendly staff. Great breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Love the extras!

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Pros: Location
Location: Shopping and dining options galore!
Rooms were small but well kept. Enjoyed the extra services including local rides, water bottles, cookies and breakfast. Even though you do pay an extra resort fee it was all done very well.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice old hotel but small rooms

Posted Nov 8, 2017
Pros: Breakfast was excellent
Loved the setting and the breakfast could not have been better. We had a very tiny room facing the garden that was definitely not worth the high price we paid. The hotel was not very busy and we asked if we could be upgraded but our check in clerk said she “didnt know how to do that”. It is a nice hotel but there are many others in the area with much better rates and rooms.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami, Florida

Good location

Posted Oct 28, 2017
Small Rooms, very small bathrooms, there was very warm weather and there’s no air conditioning. Gave me wrong room when arriving.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Dream hotel outstanding customer service in perfect location
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Lovely hotel. Lovely staff

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Whilst the rooms were smaller than you might expect and there is no car park these were our only two slight negatives. The common areas in the hotel were comfortable and high end. The environment is superb with great attention to detail. The bar staff were wonderful, informative and very engaging. The room and bathroom was in the small side but was fine for our two night stay. Would recommend
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boulder

Carmel Classic

Posted Sep 30, 2017
An iconic Carmel property in easy walking distance to the beach our downtown. Great breakfast buffet on the terrace with glimpse of the Pacific beyond. Cozy bar and very good dining. Staff excellent. It is an older property in need of a facelift, yet not worn or dirty in any way. Simply a beautiful lady looking for a fresh nip and tuck. The gardens and pool area is magical. This is truly a Carmel classic. Stay there.