Ratings based on 138 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bainbridge Island, WA

Great Location

Posted Oct 18, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Be honest about how much parking. Friendliness of desk staff. Bellmen and waiters etc were great.
Location: Carmel, Pebble Beach and beach. Don't need more than this.
Location is strongest point. It is right in the middle of shopping and a "walkable" distance from beach. Room was nice but with some quirks you might expect in an old hotel. The complementary breakfast is ok and the restaurant is very-very good. Not 5 star but a nice combination of quality food and casual atmosphere. The desk personnel were somewhat snippy. One of the reasons I selected this hotel was that I believe the listing said it has parking which is a hassle in Carmel. In fact it only has "limited parking"...I would guess enough for about half the rooms. When I complained they said this was disclosed on their website. I went there and could not find it. This could be a big time hassle in crowded periods like the summer. I was there mid week October.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham, Al

Small but great

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Rooms were small but was a great hotel. We greatly enjoyed our 3 nights there. Right in the middle of Carmel shops
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from central california

Perfect location

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: Clean, convenient, and restaurant right next door. Perfect!
Cons: We were perfectly happy with everything.
Location: Located on the Main Street. Close to all the shops, restaurants, and short walk to the beach.
This hotel was located right in the heart of town. Room was small, but clean and comfortable. I'll Fornaio restaurant located next door, morning buffet breakfast was perfect, and the restaurant and bar were fun with great food. Small room was not a problem, who wants to go to Carmel and spend time on the room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from philadelphia

Perfect location

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Altogether pleasant. A plus is the hotels'sbar and restaurant Al Fornaio. Staff very friendly. Would stay again on future visit. Handy off street parking too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Laguna Beach, CA

WE HAD A WONDERFUL STAY

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: See above.
Cons: We liked it the way it is.
Location: Perfect location; near restaurants, shopping, the beach.
The location is perfect, right in the middle of town. Check-in and check-out was efficient. There is free parking. The rooms are clean and nice. Great place to stay. We'll be back!
5 out of 5
by Derek

Fun Visit

Posted Jul 24, 2017 on Hotels
Very cool inn. I have a replaced right hip and often have issues with stairs. The lack of elevator concerned me, but I was able to get by just fine. The angled halls and doorways almost gave a carnival funhouse feel. But overall, the staff was nice, the rooms were comfortable, and I have no major complaints. Parking can be a problem. They have a 20 car lot and 40 rooms. So if you don't make it into the lot, you'll need to find street parking... somewhere. We got lucky both nights and ended up in the lot. Also, driving in the area is brutal with all the pedestrian traffic.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Lovely accommodations convenient to beach and town

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Tasteful and classic decor in the room and common areas. Perfect location-right in town close to shopping and restaurants and just a short walk down the hill to the beautiful beach. Great staff and lovely breakfast included. Would highly recommend.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location.

Posted Jul 20, 2017 on Hotels
Nice hotel with great location in Carmel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san diego

Best location in Carmel!

Posted Jul 18, 2017
The hotel was charming. Of course, any property that is 130 years old has its quirks. That said, it is charming and in the heart of Carmel on Ocean Ave. we'd stay there again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Carmel Hotels Great LIST

Posted Jul 16, 2017 on Hotels
Second time we have stayed there. We love it. Very historical. Everyone we had contact with in services were wonderful. My husband and I highly recommend it.