Ratings based on 128 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from philadelphia

Perfect location

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Altogether pleasant. A plus is the hotels'sbar and restaurant Al Fornaio. Staff very friendly. Would stay again on future visit. Handy off street parking too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Laguna Beach, CA

WE HAD A WONDERFUL STAY

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: See above.
Cons: We liked it the way it is.
Location: Perfect location; near restaurants, shopping, the beach.
The location is perfect, right in the middle of town. Check-in and check-out was efficient. There is free parking. The rooms are clean and nice. Great place to stay. We'll be back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Lovely accommodations convenient to beach and town

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Tasteful and classic decor in the room and common areas. Perfect location-right in town close to shopping and restaurants and just a short walk down the hill to the beautiful beach. Great staff and lovely breakfast included. Would highly recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san diego

Best location in Carmel!

Posted Jul 18, 2017
The hotel was charming. Of course, any property that is 130 years old has its quirks. That said, it is charming and in the heart of Carmel on Ocean Ave. we'd stay there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ny

Nice location, limited room amenities

Posted Jun 28, 2017
We booked the room for the free parking and breakfast and location. Parking is free but limited to first come, first served. Breakfast is free Monday to Friday only and there is no coffee service and none in the room. The location is perfect: we found all day public parking half a mile north and the beach is half a mile south.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not what we hoped for Anniversary.

Posted May 23, 2017
Room was small & warm but clean. Most of staff friendly. A lot of stairs for older people, depending what room you have. Not much parking. Close to beach. Not worth the money.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I just can't with this place.

Posted May 3, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Customer service. And, honestly, the decor (it's dated and dreadful).
Location: You can easily walk anywhere from the inn.
Cute inn - small and historic so no renovations or upgrades (no elevator, rooms are woefully small - no room for suitcases, no water pressure, etc.); as long as your expectations are in line with that, you won't be disappointed. The decor is tragic and garish - not at all representative of a small, sleepy beach town - but if you're into red, you'll dig it. My only real frustration and disappointment are with a few of the staff; those encounters were bad enough that I'd not only never recommend Pine Inn, but I'd certainly never stay there again, either. Check out is 12:00 - if you aren't out by 12:00 on the nose, be prepared to be treated as though you've committed a felony. The cleaning staff came into my room (in spite of the Do Not Disturb sign) while I was showering at 10 minutes past noon. That was. Then came the angry call from the front desk demanding to know if we were planning to book another night - that was at 12:25. More fun. I didn't realize the time as I'd gotten quite ill that morning and was just doing my best to get out - which I tried explaining to the enchanting creature who phoned, but she opted to disconnect the call rather than hear me out. I was out by 12:50. We travel a lot - all over the world - and enjoy coming to Carmel once a year, but there's no way I'd ever stay at the Pine Inn again. I'm sure that there are some fine folks who work there (Marco!), but there are a few who missed class on Hospitality and Customer Service Day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose,Ca

Older nice hotel

Posted Apr 29, 2017
Pros: Close to beach & shops. Private hotel parking lot a plus! Great hot breakfast buffet at iL Fornai included weekdays. Friendly staff.
Cons: In room coffee/tea
Location: Plenty of shops and restaurant choices. Beach close. Monterey Aquarium, kayaking, hiking, several golf courses.
Older Victorian decor, but comfortable. Relaxing experience.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Eastvale CA

Just okay.

Posted Apr 26, 2017
I have a disability and was put in a room on the 4th floor. They don't have elevators. I was not informed of this when I booked. The 4th floor was extremely hot. The room and bathroom were extremely small. The two of us were bumping into each other. The staff was friendly and the complementary breakfast was good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Character hotel in great location

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Pros: Location, historical feel and cafe
Cons: Considering the age of the hotel, and the price very little is of concern.
My wife and I have stayed at the Pine Inn on two previous occasions and all visits have been very enjoyable. This is an older hotel that is a bit quirky but very well looked after and comfortable. Great public spaces, the best coffee shop in town and the adjacent restaurant never disappoints.