Ratings based on 522 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Great trip! Really enjoyed. .........................
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from pasadena ca

Quiet

Posted Sep 7, 2017
Quiet, relaxing and great location. Close enough to central Carmel but far enough away to avoid the noise
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

First time staying there...

Posted Sep 1, 2017
We just loved it! The staff and grounds were wonderful! We'll be back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel !

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Amazing hotels minutes always from center ... rooms comfy and very big !! Actually a great place
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Overall a nice stay, friendly staff, clean & comfy

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Hotel is a great location in the valley - not too far away from Carmel beach & main downtown area. There are several cute & quaint little shopping areas close by. Rooms are clean & modern - spacious with lovely patio sitting areas. The ambiance of tranquility is a bit lost with the hotel being located on and within the golf course. My biggest issue with this location is that there is an extremely limited menu at the only restaurant on the property which doesn't open until 5pm each day. Early afternoon drinks and appetizers were out unless we walked or drove down the road. No dessert menu either. Too bad because they have a great patio area overlooking a large pond with heaters and sofas, etc. to sink into after a long day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Relaxing hotel outside of Carmel.

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Location: Fun restaurant right next door.
The bigger suites have no one above them. Some noise from the road behind fairway 14, but it died down later in the night. Range Rover training center is here as well for those interested. They had 3 tennis courts that we also used. This is a remodeled hotel/motel, and they did a great job. Liked the restaurant, but its at the golf course lodge. The hotel will drive you over in their shuttle.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Pleasant hotel

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Their restaurant is not up to par, food service sub par.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Westminster

Nice golf course

Posted Aug 22, 2017
We did not get to enjoy most of the hotel due to an event. Most of the hotel was closed for private parties. Major car show. We where only allowed to play the back 9 holes of the course but it was beautiful. I felt like we were intruding and not a guest. I think the hotel websites should disclose an event that will over take the hotels. This hotel is not cheap by any means and i felt we did not get value for my dollar.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Montreal, Canada

Fabulous Resort

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: More accessible ice machine
Location: golf
Unfortunately we arrived a little after 6 with the sea fog very present. We still enjoyed the nicely heated pool & took in the beautiful grounds. Our room was facing a pond with a fountain. The room itself was very spacious, very modern & clean. The bed was extremely comfortable & had a lot of pillows. Nice table & chairs on our patio which we didn't enjoy because of the cool weather but how wonderful it must be when the sun & a little heat is present. The restaurant closes early (9pm), so by the time we were ready, we opted for the hotel bar where we were greeted by Rebecca. We sat next to the fireplace & she made fantastic food suggestions. Just an awesome meal & great wine!! Thumbs up to Rebecca as she was a great "host". Yes, you might think this place is pricey but what a great place to stay. We had originally booked an Inn in Carmel & made this last minute change & we definitely did not regret. It is worth every penny. If your budget can allow a little more for your stay in the Carmel area, I would not hesitate a minute to say go for it, you will not regret it. Ask for a cottage room...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely location and convenient to everything

Posted Jul 31, 2017
Pros: Location in the Monterey Peninsula
Cons: The beds could be upgraded
Quail Lodge is an older facility that has been redone. It is wonderfully located and tends to be (for purposes of summer stays) right at the fog line, which is to say that it is usually outside the fog belt. It is hugely convenient to almost anything on the Monterey Peninsula, and easily accessible to downtown Carmel without all of Carmel's congestion.Also, quiet at night. The rooms have been updated, but I would not consider them in the luxury category. Our room, upstairs overlooking the lake, was very spacious and the view was lovely. The bed was satisfactory, not great. Bathroom had a tub and separate shower. I did not see any elevator, so for those with mobility issues, an upstairs room might not be the best. Generally, you have to transport your own luggage. All in all, compared to the pricier choices of Carmel Valley Ranch and Bernardus, Quail offers a more reasonably priced alternative. The "continental" breakfast is ok, but pricey for what it is. Much better alternative - go to the Wagon Wheel, an authentic spot within walking distance where you can get a huge and really excellent breakfast for $12.95.