Ratings based on 547 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location Location Location

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Great location..walking distance to downtown and the beach
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Berkeley, CA

Nice dog-friendly hotel!

Posted Jul 1, 2017
Location: About two downhill blocks to Ocean Avenue, the main drag of Carmel. Nice, walkable area.
The double+regular bed room worked well for the three of us (two adults, a big 15-year-old, and a small dog). Morning breakfast (delivered!) was a pouch with cereal, scones, fruit - a great start.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Great hotel.... Great Hospitality!

Posted Jun 6, 2017
Pros: There was everything to like about this hotel. The coziness and cleanliness of the rooms to the wonderful garden type setting in the heart of Carmel.
Cons: Our experience was special due to the caring staff and wonderful place to stay. No improvements needed.
Location: The location is right near the downtown Carmel shopping district. The Hog's Breath Inn Restaurant is one block away. Very good location.
The hospitality at the hotel was top notch! When we mentioned it was our anniversary celebration, the man at the front desk said that he was going to bring us some wine on ice. He did, plus even lit the fireplace in our room.... The room was beautiful and our stay wonderful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Delray Beach, Florida

Posted Jun 5, 2017
I had a wonderful stay with my son and daughter at the hotel. It is a little gem within a short walking distance to the downtown of Carmel. We had a fireplace in our room which we used every evening. Loved the ambiance so cozy. We also had a kitchen where we ate the complimentary breakfast that they had neatly packed in a cooler outside our door every morning. The staff was very accommodating providing extra water bottles. Cookies in the lobby provided were delicious and a pleasant perk.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Californai

Wonderful experience at a lovely friendly hotel.

Posted Jun 3, 2017
Pros: Breakfast, room, grounds, hotel staff.
Cons: Maybe a computer for guests?
Location: You can walk to Hogs Breath Inn a local favorite for a place to eat or just have a drink.
From check in to check out friendly and helpful. Able to walk to a lot of places. No computer but they gladly printed out my boarding pass. Breakfast served to room a real delight. Have already told friends about this hotel and said they need to stay here when in Carmel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Great place to stay

Posted May 27, 2017
Friendly staff, Good size room with period feel. Facilities adequate. Quiet area with easy access to town centre. Would recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Beautiful, quiet and quaint

Posted May 25, 2017
Location: Absolutely worth it to hike Point Lobos park! We saw deer, seals, sea lions, birds, squirrels, bunnies and the most beautiful scenery.
This is a beautiful inn with a quiet lovely garden. Perfect for those who like to stroll the shops and restaurants. It is a fair walk from the ocean so bring comfy shoes. Breakfast was continental and coffee was not available until 8am which is something we believe they should reconsider however the Carmel Roasting Coffee House was awesome downtown! Overall a lovely place. For pet owners, do not have any hesitation in bringing your pet---there is amazing facilities for pets both at this hotel and in their entire town!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

No frills, but great place to stay

Posted May 22, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Excellent staff, comfortable room
Cons: They could use a second nightstand, so there is one on either side of the bed, and outlets near the nightstands.
Location: Great location! In the heart of Carmel. It's a very quick walk to the beach, and stores and restaurants are just a minute or two away.
My girlfriend and I stayed here one night. We didn't spend much time at the hotel, but the room was fairly standard. It was small, but that didn't matter much to us, since we didn't spend a lot of time in the hotel. The staff was extremely pleasant, and very helpful when we checked in. They offered us a map, and had even baked cookies. The bed was comfy, but they could have used a second night stand, or an outlet near the beds for our phones to charge.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Columbus, Ohio

Within blocks of shops, restaurants and beach.

Posted May 20, 2017
This quaint inn is within a few blocks of everything Carmel has to offer. A warm fireplace in the lobby, heated outdoor pool, and a continental breakfast and newspaper delivered to your room each morning.
3 out of 5
by Donna

Posted May 13, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is in a great location. The staff was wonderful. The hotel room is tired.