Ratings based on 627 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Ramon ca

Posted Feb 9, 2018
Great location, you can walk to Ocean Ave and great near by restaurants. The room was clean, had a nice fireplace. The continental breakfast delivered to your door was just what we needed to start our day. The only thing I’d change was the bed was too firm.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Nice Hotel within walking distance of everything

Posted Dec 27, 2017
Pros: Nice amenities, close to everything.
Cons: Cant think of anything
Location: Close to Ocean ave. Clint Eastwood's Hogsbreath Inn about two blocks away. Great Bar and Restaurant directly across the street.
Suite was roomy and updated nicely. Staff were friendly and helpful. Will definitely book with this hotel again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orange County, CA

Disappointing due to noisey guests

Posted Dec 24, 2017
The staff and cleanliness of the room were perfect. Unfortunately, our second night was not very pleasing at all but it was only due to the people that were staying on the top floor from us (we were in room 12). They had their kids running up and down the upstairs hallway and what sounded like jumping from bed to bed in their room. We heard everything from our room and this noise and loud banging happened all till past 1am. We could not sleep well at all. I tried going to the front office but it closes after ten. I did try calling the after hours office manager but it did not get the call through for some reason. It was so annoying and it was frustrating to think we paid to stay and relax but that did not happen. I do like that there is a good sized patch of grass that dogs are able to use. I'm sorry but after that experience, I will not book here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NJ

The hotel is under renovation

Posted Nov 26, 2017
The hotel is under renovation and it is not good to stay now.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lebanon

Everything worked really well but..

Posted Nov 25, 2017
The hotel is nice for the excellent location, sweetest staff (especially Ricky who is awesomely warm and kind), nice lobby with fireplace, room amenities and general broom cleanliness. There was a nice heated outdoor pool too. We didn’t use it because of the cold weather but if it was summer it would have been really nice. The only thing that really bothered me was a particular “smell” in the room that was strong. It was all around the room and it kind of annoyed me. The breakfast was OK. The nice thing is that they deliver it to your room in special lunch boxes, but we got fewer items on the second day than the first day.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This hotel needs an update

Posted Nov 24, 2017
The suite we occupied was clean, but it wasn’t really a suite - just a room & bathroom with one sink & spa tub plus an alcove with a large spa tub. The breakfast was delivered to our room as promised but was minimal: a piece of fresh fruit, sweetened yogurt & a sweet roll or muffin. They offered robes but they were in poor condition. Etc. Etc.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Orleans

Close to downtown.

Posted Nov 15, 2017
Comfortable, complimentary in-room breakfast. Coffee machine broken,,,,,reported twice in 3 day stay. Not replaced. Day front desk very friendly. Night desk seemed upset to have to help. Also knew nothing about area.
5 out of 5
by Marina

Pleasantly surprised

Posted Nov 14, 2017 on Hotels
I loved staying at Svendsgaard’s Inn. It has a very cozy feel. There is a little pool and a beautiful grassy quiet courtyard with some outside tables where one can relax. Room was comfortable. The mattress was a little too firm for my taste, but I slept well. There was a mini fridge in my room. It would have been nice to have a microwave, too, but the office is close by and they probably have a microwave there. It’s close to Carmel beach (a few blocks away) and within walking distance. I’ll stay there again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, walking distance to ocean st.

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Friendly staff and helpful. Shower area had black mold???? very sad.
4 out of 5
by Debra

Happy

Posted Nov 12, 2017 on Hotels
I highly recommend it. It is older but very clean. Nice touch with the breakfast bag. Nice pool. Nice to have coffee and cookies in the lobby. Right in town.