Ratings based on 356 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Average

Posted Nov 24, 2017
This is a clean comfortable place to stay in Carmel valley. Nice setting and convenient though overall an average motel type experience. Beds are comfortable and some nice decor touches. Heated pool was not heated and spa was out of service. No in room coffee maker and no breakfast included. Small fridge and microwave Thin walls so a bit noisy at night. Dogs are allowed for a fee. No dog bowl or bags so plan accordingly
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dusty and unkempt

Posted Nov 7, 2017
We have fond memories of this place. Used to have breakfast in the morning, wine in the afternoon, location great relaxing quiet. But we had to check out as it is very dirty and dusty. So sad such a cute place.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Pros: location: dated but spacious room
Cons: a general upgrade of materials ,rug etc.
Location: pretty canyon area. We went to Carmel for meals, activities.
Nice location. Somewhat dated..ie curtains Manager on duty could be more enthusiastic.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from alamo, ca

Good hotel closed to our event at Bernardes

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Clean room, but do not have A/C, only heater. Good breakfast, nice parking
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SF Bay Area

Hotel was mostly ok.

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Pros: The bed was comfortable and the grounds were ok.
Cons: Having staff available. Went to check in after 8 pm and the office was closed. Our key was in a box outside the door.
Location: It was 13 miles out of town and didn't find a lot to do after a late check in. You can walk around the grounds or swim after 8am.
The hotel was ok, but a ways out from town. Was very unhappy when got up in the morning ready to take a shower and the water was cold and never even got warm at all after running it for a long time. When reported the problem all I got was, "sorry about that." There was supposed to be a continental breakfast from 8 to 9:30 but when we went to the lobby the lights weren't even on until about 8:15 . Plus not not all the foods they mentioned in the guestbook were available. It was typically Costco food and some of it was stale.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Only as a very last resort

Posted Sep 15, 2017
I will keep this as short as I can. Staff were detached and unfriendly to the point of rudeness, "welcome" beer and wine in the lobby at 5pm daily did not happen, breakfast baked goods were spotted with mould, no hot water in the morning, grounds and foliage very overgrown and in need of serious cutting back to make some walkways accessible. We stayed in room 9 and had to seal the top of the door with a towel (which wasn't that clean to begin with!)
3 out of 5
by Joe

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 8, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Tamiko

Posted Sep 6, 2017 on Hotels
Location is great. you will drive Carmel valley Dr. where you can see green mountains for 10 minutes or so. It has country side cottage feeling. We enjoyed the stay.
5 out of 5
by ANNA

Hidden gem

Posted Sep 4, 2017 on Hotels
We had room 8 which is a king bed rm. The room was big, clean and really comfortable. Huge bed which looked more like a California king and a beautiful stone fireplace. The weather was uncharacteristically hot this labor day weekend so it was a bit warmer than we'd like with no ac but there were tw9 fans provided in the room-1 tower fan and one box fan. One of the front Windows open for ventilation as well as a small window in the bathroom. The grounds are a bit dry at the moment but so is the entire area it's not just this property. It's just because of the summer time heat.Check in was a breeze and everyone on the staff was friendly and knowledgable We are Looking forward to coming back during the wetter months to see how beautiful this place must be. Will def be back :)
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from scottsdale

overpriced and disappointing

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Pros: Nothing really. Carmel valley is beautiful. Not this place
First room was rather disgusting with plaster in bathroom falling off and what looked like mold. All furnishings in both rooms were very dated and needed refurbishing. Cleanliness was marginal. Overall a big disappointment for the price...