Ratings based on 90 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Gorgeous pastoral views from room

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Pros: Beds were super comfy
Cons: Very limited restaurant area
Excellent overall. Great looking pool but too cool to use in March.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Beautiful Pastoral Setting

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Pros: Location, location, location! Gardens are lovely.
Cons: Friendliness of the bar/tapa staff.
Location: There is a restaurant located outside the gates but we didn't discover it until the next morning.
We arrived around 5:00 after a busy 'walking tour' in Sevilla. The Parador is an old fortress, located on a hilltop overlooking a beautiful valley. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable. We were serenaded by horses, lambs and dogs from the far pastures. We loved this! The sunrise over the countryside was amazing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Londoon

Outstanding and unique

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Pros: Outstanding quality in every respect. There is a swimming pool, leisure areas, parking and there are beautiful views over the plains
Cons: Wi-fi can be poor, but this is not an important matter. The hotel and area offer so much else wi-fi or lack of it is a mere detail.
Location: In the historic centre of Carmona so there are numerous interesting and historic places to visit. It is also about 20 minutes drive to Seville
This is an architectural jewel, containing a Moorish style internal patio and lovely public rooms to relax in, as well as very comfortable, well appointed rooms. A fascinating touch is the fact that the Paradores group include books by famous Spanish writers in your room. Wifi was a bit patchy, but that is scarcely important.
3 out of 5
by Sean

Posted Jan 10, 2017 on Hotels
This was our first stay at a parador, so we didn't know what to expect, except that it would be located in a significant historical structure and seek to maintain a level of accommodation and service that would represent the parador system. The Parador de Carmona is in an extraordinary, beautiful structure and striking location in a very historical town - roots back to the Carthaginians! However, as a hotel and restaurant, the model seems to be showing its age. The renovations seem to be about 30+ years old - immaculately clean but still peeling and faded (tiles, furnishings, wall/ceiling surfaces). The bathroom facility is what you'd expect in a 3 star European hotel. We were also shocked by the "pensione" charges for breakfast and dinner. The breakfast buffet at 45 euros pp (we learned on check out) was very nice but not to that level of pricing.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Average

Posted Sep 14, 2016 on Hotels
In very quick summary, it's not worth the travel. The castle is ok, was not blown away. Service at dinner was lacking servers, poor guy was working like crazy. Best part of establishment was the pool. Cleanliness was also average.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Good to relax by the pool

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Pros: Pool. Architecture.
Cons: Room facilities are, perhaps inevitably, not as good as modern hotels.
Location: on the edge of Carmona, so everything is a short walk.
We stayed for 4 nights specifically to relax by the pool after a city break in Seville. Very hot time of year, but the Parador was ideal.
5 out of 5
by Catherine from Los Angeles

Historically significant

Posted Apr 19, 2016 on Hotels
Amazing opportunity and experience to stay in such a historically significant structure. It's not often that one can say you've lodged in a 14th century castle!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable and Scenic

Posted Mar 27, 2016 on Hotels
This is a large, gracious establishment at the top of a walled fortification. It is a romantic place, but isolated. Tour groups stop here, because it can be used halfway between two important locations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

A beautiful hotel, with amazing views

Posted Nov 3, 2015
Pros: Comfortable rooms, with beautiful public areas--restaurant, lobby, sitting rooms are all spectacular
Cons: The food seemed to cater more to tourists. I would have enjoyed more typical Spanish food, especially the coffee, which was disappointing.
Location: Amazing views; about a ten minute walk to the roman ruins, nice cafes. The town looked very interesting, but we didn't have time to explore it.
We had one afternoon, evening and breakfast at the hotel. Enjoyed the public areas, especially the terrace. Did not have much time to explore the nearby town.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rural treat in Carmona

Posted Sep 29, 2015 on Hotels
Wonderful hotel in spectacular location. View from room balcony on 4th floor is most memorable. Food in restaurant was good, but not special.