Ratings based on 363 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler


Posted Oct 20, 2016
Location: great for golf break
excellent clean spacious room great food helpful staff
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from north carolina


Posted Oct 13, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: The area is a residental living place with no shopping. Unless, you want golfing attire in the pro shop.
Very comfortable room and a great shower. The bed was the best yet. The dinner was great and the service suburb
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Weekend dreak

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Had been a guest previously and enjoyed our stay.we returned for a weekend break.it is a lovely hotel and the staff are a credit to the hotel.we shall return next year.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from edinburgh

4*???? Really

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Slightly disappointed if honest, our room was tired in its decor with the sea view including portacabin type things and drivable lawnmower. The dinner service was clearly unmanaged with a team trying to do their best with no one steering the ship. Breakfast was a shambles of confused looking staff flurrying around not knowing who ordered what. This hotel clearly has 4* due to its pool area as room and restraunt didn't match premier inn standards which is disappointing. Service needs looked at as the hotel was quiet and there was no structure to our service with 6 different people serving us one meal and food of a pub grub level. Gutted and wishing I'd booked elsewhere as didn't feel like we were anything but a number!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good hotel

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Pros: Room with a view, refurbished. Lovely views. Leisure facilities
Good hotel - well worth upgrading your room to one with a view. Newly refurbished rooms with brand new bathrooms, decor etc. Didn't use the restaurant so cant comment.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from East Kilbride

Lovely hotel with all expectations met and more.

Posted Aug 31, 2016
Really enjoyed our stay in this hotel. Facilities, staff and service was excellent. We had read many reviews prior to taking our trip and what was stated repeatedly was the lack of variety in the hotel menu. This is unfortunately the only negative issue we had to agree with, as long as you liked fish there was plenty of options, as I am not a fish lover it caused a major problem to me. I must clarify the caliber, quantity and quality of the food was excellent unfortunately the choice majorly let it down. We stayed for 4 nights and were really struggling at the end of our stay. Also 3 out of the 4 nights the soup was 3 different descriptions of pea soup. Holidaying in Scotland I naively expected lentil or scotch broth. I sincerely hope this is taken as a positive critcism as we are extremely keen to return to this hotel again in the near future and would recommend it to anyone.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from australia


Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: The greens
Cons: Update the rooms if you are going to charge so much
Location: Great pub and meal and friendly staff at the New Caledonia Golf Club next door
Magnificent greens but disappointed with expensive price for old unfurnished room. Bathroom in particular very outdated and bad repairs. Would recommend if you could get one of the refurbished rooms but not worth the money for an old room
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 13, 2016
When we arrived we went to the pool where my 9 year old and his 8 year old cousin were told don't jump in the pool by the attendant.. That's what kids do, we then went for dinner which was fine. My mum took the kids back to the room. I waited at the bar for 15mins to get us a drink to take up only for the barman to serve someone else who had walked up behind me first!! Not happy, they seemed to be having some issue with the till but not once did anyone apologies for keeping me waiting.. The rooms are very tired and dated and a bit dirty. I would not say that this is a 4star hotel..
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Marshallville, Ohio, USA

Good golf, lovely beach

Posted Aug 4, 2016
Pros: Location by the sea with a great golf course.and the friendly and caring staff
Cons: The quality of the food on the lunch and dinner menus. It was just "ok" considering the price.
Location: We came for the golf. Enjoyed the beach. There are interesting sites if you have a car. Not much to do in the town.
We found the hotel facilities to be quite good. We were fortunate to have a sunny and dry day so my husband golfed while I enjoyed the beach. I was happy that I read a review before we made our reservations, and chose a room facing the golf course rather than the sea. Our room was very large, with a lovely view. The bed was quite comfortable. The breakfast, which was included in the price of the room, was fine. However, the Belgian waffles (as described in the menu) were really toaster waffles, and both of us thought that was amusing. We ate dinners there, and found the food in the restaurant to be over-priced for the quality.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from bolton

Fabulous stay

Posted Aug 4, 2016
Pros: Everything was lovely
Cons: Just the bed was a bit squashy felt like I was sinking in the middle.
Location: Golf, golf and more golf, if you are not into golf still a lovely place to stay and explore. Very relaxing.
Lovely place to stay, we arrived late as we needed a place to stay on our way to Montose. So really didn't use any of the hotel amenities. The room was lovely (my bed was a bit squashy, which is the only reason I didn't give it 5). Breakfast was also lovely and you can order freshly cooked eggs bacon kippers etc, no sitting on a hot plate getting cold. All cold usual buffet breakfast things available as well. Obviously lots of golfers about and my husband was like a kid in a sweet shop. Staff also lovely. Definitely wished we had more time to stay longer but we will go back.