Ratings based on 553 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Budget hotel near beach

Posted Sep 23, 2017
Hotel was a bargain price on weekday after labor day, and just a place for us to sleep. It was a bit nicer than we expected. Queen bed very comfortable. Room a bit small, bit we didnt care about that. No view - just a parking lot. But quiet. Room smelled a bit off. The nice surprise was we were able to open the window for real fresh air. Breakfast had good variety and decent quality. Staff was nice and everything clean.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Raleigh, NC

Great Location and Staff

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Pros: Location, pool, friendly staff
Cons: Musty smell in the room
Location: Lazy Pirate Restaurant, close to Carolina Beach boardwalk
This is a great hotel for the price. Located very close to the beach and walking distance to restaurants. The staff is very helpful and friendly. My kids also loved the pool and the game room.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NC

OK place to stay

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Pros: Front desk staff was friendly. The hotel was reasonably quiet.
Cons: The main issue was humidity in the room and the results of that. Perhaps the AC unit could be sized better.
Location: Carolina Beach State Park was close and the boardwalk was as well. Fort Fisher was not a far drive and the ferry to Southport was nice.
The front desk staff was pleasant and friendly. The bed appeared clean and was reasonably comfortable. The floor looked clean, but walking across it with bare feet would reveal that it is sandy. The corner of the counter in the bathroom was dirty. The biggest issue was that the room was very humid and had a smell. The tile bathroom floor stayed damp and the room never felt really cool because of the humidity level. Compared to the price of other hotels in the area, we got what we paid for. The hotel was not on the beach, but was conveniently located.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from north carolina

Close to beach

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Enjoyable. Clean rooms. Friendly staff. Pleasant atmosphere. Close proximity to all activities.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointed

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Pros: The staff was nice.
The room was overpriced. It was probably expensive because it was close to the beach but you couldn't see the ocean. Desk staff was friendly but the upstairs hallway smelled moldy. Breakfast was ok for continental. The location was good.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Bathroom was disgusting. Everything in it was dirty, toilet being the worst with fecal stains in it
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Illinois

2 weeks in Carolina Beach @ MicroTel

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: Manager's attempt to meet our requests with a smile.
Cons: Hotel continental breakfast. Restaurants in the area were not that good. McD & Waffle House were near top of list. But that isn't hotel specific.
Location: 15 min walk from beach & boardwalk. 30 min drive or less to a lot of activities in the area as well as shopping (Walmart, Walgreens, grocery stores)
Hotel was a 15 min walk from the beach and 1/2 the price of a hotel on the beach. Using AARP, our rate was nicely discounted so was lower yet. Staff was friendly and accommodating. Management was attentive to our needs. Room was clean and in good shape. If we go back someday, we'll consider staying there again. The only things that would make this a higher rating would have raised the daily rate had they existed. For the money, and at the beach, this hotel is a fair deal.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NC

Great staff, room really needs renovation

Posted Aug 18, 2017
We checked in on a Friday night for a two day stay. We were really disappointed that we paid so much money for a hotel that was so out of date and dirty. I'm not saying that the cleaning staff are not doing their job because I understand they don't have time to clean things like the carpet, walls and A/C. These were the main things that really bothered us. So, we have a small child and anyone knows that trying to keep a small child's shoes on is impossible, well after about 20 mins of me yelling for him to put his shoes back on the carpet had turned the bottom of his feet black. YUCK!!! Needless to say he didn't come out of his shoes the remainder of the trip!! Please MicroInn, hire some professional Carpet Cleaners, A/C repairmen and painters.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from burlington, nc

Needs improvement

Posted Aug 17, 2017
The carpet constantly felt wet and dirty and the room were very loud, it was very hard to enjoy when you could hear EVERYthing going on in the room next door!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to boardwalk and beach.

Posted Aug 15, 2017
Room was smaller that I thought. Our key cards stopped working several times and had to keep going to desk to get reset.