Ratings based on 486 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
50% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 19, 2017
Hotel needs an upgrade. Not enough lighting, old fixtures and furnishing. Does not provide enough electrical outlets for today's travelers. No curtins ragged blinds on Windows. Dingy bathroom fixtures.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pinehurst, NC

Needs Work

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Pros: Expedia pricing was affordable.
Cons: Lamps, table, towel racks, get rid of the mildew smell.
Location: Location is great, backs up to the north entrance to the boardwalk.
The smell of mildew was overwhelming in the room, to the point that I realized I could smell it when walking up to the building when the air was still. There are only 2 lights in the room - the bathroom light, and the ceiling fan light; no lamp, really? Only one nightstand, no tables or other surfaces for setting food, eating, playing cards, etc. No towel racks of any kind in the bathroom, linens are stacked on the back of the toilet. This location owns 3 buildings total - we've stayed in the middle building before (no poolside or beachfront rooms), and it was fine.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 18, 2017 by Barry Eagle, Owner, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I'm glad that you enjoyed our location and appreciate seeing you back with us again after your first visit. I'm deeply disappointed to hear that this visit did not meet your expectations. I have reported the lack of room amenities to the manager so that they can look into some more surfaces and lamps. I want to apologize for the smell of mildew. One of our buildings had a leak and we are in the last stages of repairing it. Unfortunately, even with that building shut down, it is nearly impossible to get rid of the overall smell at this time. I apologize for the inconvenience and want you to know that we are taking very active steps to get this fixed as soon as possible. Thank you for understanding and we hope that you will visit us again in the future as we improve.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from whitman ma

dont stay here

Posted Oct 12, 2017
Pros: the ocean views and proximity to shops and restaurants were great attached balcony facing the beach was nice but the screen mouldnt close
Cons: this entire place needs to be updated the only good thing about this place is the location
Location: the beach port fisher civil war museum and battlefield shops restaurants downtown wilmington are all nearby
this lodge was so dated and dirty that even though our stay was prepaid we left after one night and went down the street to the hampton inn at the surfside there are no utensils cookware ect.even though you have a stove and fridge.the toilet barely flushed ,the shower was merely a trickle and very old the wi fi didnt work at all the screen door to the balcony would not close the extra expense of going to the hampton inn was money well spent.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 14, 2017 by Barry Eagle, Owner, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I'm glad that you were able to enjoy our great location to town and the beach, as well as the balcony in your room. However, I am disappointed to hear that our amenities drove you away to another hotel. We understand that some of our rooms are outdated and I appreciate you giving us this feedback as it will help us move forward. If you would like to discuss your stay further, do not hesitate to reach out to our front desk staff and manager. We would be happy to help.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from raleigh, nc

Great location

Posted Oct 6, 2017
About 8:30 maintenance workers were on a lift outside our balcony replacing lights on the building. Very loud and no privacy
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 6, 2017 by Barry Eagle, Owner, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I'm very sorry for the noise you experienced one morning and that you felt uncomfortable with their proximity. I understand why this would be an inconvenience and will be reminding the management team of the appropriate times to conduct maintenance, as we are a hotel. In general, I hope that we were able to help create a positive experience for you during your stay in Carolina Beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 5, 2017
Awesome location and friendly staff, was given an upgrade to the ocean view room and was nice having kitchen to cook ourselves instead of spending money going out every night. I will say the only negative was dirty room
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 6, 2017 by Barry Eagle, Owner, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We're so pleased to hear that we could accommodate you well with our great location and kind staff members. It's nice to hear that you were able to make use of the kitchenette provided in our rooms. If the cleanliness of your room is not at your standard, never hesitate to ask the housekeeping staff to come through again. They would be more than happy to help create a better experience for you. We hope to see you again in the future!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 28, 2017
The room was dirty, the smell was terrible.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 3, 2017 by Barry Eagle, Owner, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I am very sorry to hear that your experience at Surfside was poor and you were not comfortable in your room. I have informed the manager and it will be addressed as we take cleanliness very seriously. Again, I apologize for this inconvenience and hope that you still enjoyed some of your stay at Carolina Beach.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Danville, VA

Not what I expected.

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Pros: Bed was comfortable, room was close to the beach.
Cons: Door needs to be fixed so there is no gap around it. Needs new blinds. Needs plates, pots and pans.
Location: Was close to the beach and boardwalk.
I reserved a room with a view of the ocean. I got a room where you had to look at the window sideways to see the ocean and then couldn't see it very well because the window was filthy. A full size frig in the room didn't work so there was a small dorm frig instead. Had cabinets and stove, but no good if there is no plates, silverware or pots or pans in the room. You could see a gap around the room door and the blinds on the window were made where you could still see in the room. We had to hang a blanket over the window so no one could see in. Will not stay there again. Price was too high for what we got. Also, there was a bar across the street so they kept us up at night with the loud music.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 3, 2017 by Barry Eagle, Owner, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I'm pleased that you enjoyed our comfortable beds and proximity to the beach. I want to apologize, however, about the issues you encountered during your stay. I will be contacting the manager immediately concerning the gap in the door. I appreciate you bringing this to my attention as it is unacceptable and we understand and value the purpose of privacy in a hotel room. We will also be looking into purchasing new blinds for that room. I am sorry for this inconvenience and the effect it had on your stay with us. I hope that you were still able to enjoy some of the beauty Carolina Beach has to offer.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Jamestown, NC

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Pros: The convenience to the boardwalk
Cons: The whole thing needs to renovated
Location: The boardwalk, restaurants, and Britt's donuts were handy
It was advertised as having a kitchenette but there were absolutely no utensils in the kitchen. The refrigerator did not even have ice trays much less an ice maker. The kitchen faucet the was partially broken. The carpet was old and had a couple of holes in it. The maid service consisted of changing the towels. They did not even straighten the beds nor vacuum at all.the
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 13, 2017 by Barry Eagle, Owner, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. I'm happy to hear that our location made your beach trip convenient and fun during your stay with us. However, I apologize that you had some issues with your room. We are currently in the process of making some upgrades. I hope they did not inconvenience you too much. I am having the manager talk to the housekeeping crew to make sure that they are doing their job thoroughly. Thank you for bringing this to my attention, as it is how we get the feedback we need to improve.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wyoming

On the Beach

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: The view of the ocean.
Cons: Maintenance needs to be more proactive and fix things. Maid service needs improvement.
Location: The beach, NC Aquarium, Fort Fisher.
This is an older hotel. The towel rod came off the wall, my husband told the desk clerk about it and no one came to fix it. The bathtub was draining slowly because of a huge wad of hair that we took out of the drain. We stayed for 3 nights and only had maid service the first day. After that we had to ask for new towels, etc. The best thing about this hotel was location, location, location. We had an ocean view room, and it was wonderful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2017 by Barry Eagle, Owner, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We're so happy that our location and oceanfront views made for a spectacular beach vacation. I have taken into consideration your comments regarding the cleaning services as well as maintenance and will be speaking to the manager about the issue. I appreciate your feedback as it is what helps us improve! Hopefully you will still consider staying with us again in the future as we are proactive with these reviews and improving.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NC

Convenient place to sleep and shower at best

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Convenient!
Cons: Update and maintain MUCH more often or lower your rates so that people don't get their hopes up.
Location: Starbucks at the Marriot Tiki bar and grill Taco restaurant and bar Boardwalk, Carnival rides, Britt's Donuts Many other restaurants
Surfside Lodge is within walking distance of several restaurants and attractions and the in room fridge, microwave and coffee maker were handy. But, for nearly $200 a night, they can afford to replace the carpet a little more often, replace the missing blinds in front of the glass door that is in full view of the public boardwalk, and update the bathrooms. The original 60's tile in the bathroom we had in our room is a novel feature, but again for $200 a night, I want a countertop to put my toothbrush on, not the edge of a sink. The shower head is too low for anyone over 5'7". Hot water was lukewarm. The pool was nice for a while. The water got cloudy since they don't clean it every evening. The last day we were there it was closed all day for cleaning and we had to walk down the street to one of their other pools. Either update and maintain more often or lower your rates.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2017 by Barry Eagle, Owner, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We're happy to hear that the location of your hotel was convenient and made for an enjoyable beach vacation. However, I am disappointed to hear that your experience with the rooms did not meet your expectations. I have already taken all of your comments about the room and pool and contacted the manager so that the issues are taken care of immediately. Again, I apologize and do appreciate your feedback as we are always trying to proactively improve.