Ratings based on 168 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from perth, australia

Quaint Inn in quiet village

Posted Jun 11, 2016
Pros: Quaintness, staff, cleanliness, quietness
Cons: Nothing.....
Location: Packhorse Bridge down the street....worth seeing. Not too far north of here is Cardhu Distillary.....worth a visit and a tour
From the moment I stepped in through the bar area to reception and rung the bell, I liked the vibe of this hotel inn. The staff were efficient, friendly and and provided relevant information to do with meal times and any other query. Pillows were great and single room I had was very comfortable and clean, as was the bathroom just outside the door. Had own basin in room and tea/coffee making facilities in room. Wifi was efficient and tv in the room (not that I bothered to watch). Dinner meal was tasty and again service was great. Full breakfast incl in price of room, so I think I bagged a bargain. Loved it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from bucks

Friendly staff

Posted Jun 8, 2016
Food was excellent , house keeping needs attention. Staff friendly . Position excellent . It does look like it is being refurbished !!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St Andrews

Lovely Staff, very relaxing

Posted May 27, 2016
Pros: The staff, quality of food, location and the locals - all very welcoming.
I was only at the Cairn for a one night stay and more's the pity, it's a lovely hotel in a beautiful village and the staff are second to none. A warm welcome by all and the food was gorgeous. Don't underestimate the small village atmosphere, the restaurant offers a wide variety of dishes that is a fine dining experience indeed, beautifully presented dishes and cooked to perfection. I can highly recommend the pate if you have an hour to eat it (there is no skimping on the amount they serve!). Breakfast was also superb, poached eggs were cooked to perfection! Thank you to all the lovely staff for making me feel comfortable.
3 out of 5
by Joan from Clydebank

Basic friendly hotel

Posted May 25, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed for 2 nights , the room was at the back of the hotel , very dark decor plus an attic type room , which made it difficult not to bump your head when getting out of bed or putting on the kettle. Tiny bathroom you had to walk sideways to get to the toilet . Breakfast was really good , local sourced food . Friendly staff .
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 25, 2016 on Hotels
I stayed at the hotel for one night with my husband and 3 kids. The staff were very friendly and they catered for our needs.
5 out of 5
by Paul from Durham

Spot On

Posted May 13, 2016 on Hotels
last minute booking for a business trip - cannot fault it for the price. I just wish I worked up there a bit more so that I could stay again
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Came here for the skiing. Incredibly good price to

Posted May 7, 2016
Great value for money. TV didn't have reception, assume that's the location. Nice breakfast and friendly staff. Would definitely recommend.
4 out of 5
by Heather from Peterhead

Wonderful warm welcome, great value.

Posted May 5, 2016 on Hotels
I had booked single room with shared bathroom but on arival the owner offered me a double ensuite room at no extra cost. Lovely surprise. The room had lovely decor and was spotlessly clean. TV and tea and coffee. Small shower room but spotless with nice toiletries. I ate dinner in the hotel which was lovely and used lots of local produce and generous portions. Staff were polite and attentive. Breakfast was delicious with full Scottish options. Very good value and welcoming owner. I look forward to staying in again when in the area.
5 out of 5
by jim from lovely highland village

perfect for an overnight en route to inverness

Posted Apr 15, 2016 on Hotels
excellent fantastic traditional breakfast.great value
3 out of 5
by alain from Bordeaux

3 / 5

Posted Apr 4, 2016 on Hotels
! pas de salle de bain pour la chambre simple. Côté sympa et pratique, il y a le pub à côté pour manger et boire un coup. Une petite rénovation ne ferait pas de mal à cet hotel. A part cela, en rapport qualité / prix, c'est correct pour une nuit de passage, pas plus.