Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 7, 2018
Had a nice stay. Would term it a b&b rather than a hotel as they don't serve meals. Nice room but nowhere to hang robe or store toiletries in bathroom. Met some very nice people.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from forth

Posted Apr 20, 2018
Very nice setting and value for money kgfggh:'pkgfffhgg
4 out of 5
by Andrew

Posted Sep 21, 2017 on Hotels
Fantastically friendly and lots of homely touches like welcome drink and home baking
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent.

Posted Sep 9, 2013
Very well situated. Breakfast excellent. Rooms lovely.
5 out of 5
by Garry from Ayr

A wonderful hotel with the personal touch!

Posted Aug 27, 2013 on Hotels
I really enjoyed my two days at the Fairwinds Hotel. I was given a warm welcome by both the lady owners on my arrival and was allowed to store my motorbike in an outbuilding. My room was very clean with all the necessary facilities to make my stay comfortable. The breakfasts were excellent, freshly prepared and cooked to perfection. A nice touch was to have a sample of fresh baking brought to my room each day. Well done to the proprietors. I shall certainly stay here again.
5 out of 5
by Leetonozzie from New South Wales

Beautifullocation - fantastic service

Posted Aug 22, 2013 on Hotels
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Fairwinds in the heart of the Cairngorm national park and highly recommend it to anyone. The room was very large and well appointed. It was super clean, with comfortable beds and good bathroom with easy to use shower-bath. We particiularly liked the two comfy armchairs in the room. The cooking for our breakfasts was lovely in a delightful and sunny dining room with great views. The location was wonderful and proved a great spot for exploring the Scottish highlands. The hosts are helpful and consideration itsefl. I could not say enough about Alison and Lindsay's kindness and thoughtfulness! I would love to be able to return one day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

I would like to go back!

Posted Aug 5, 2013
Pros: Everything was good.
Location: Far from the city center, make sure you have all the things you'll need.
For those that need to relax is just perfect! I was alone and did long walks in the wood, in the village. The Ladies that running the hotel are very nice and the breakfest is just fine.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from lanark

a hidden gem

Posted Jul 29, 2013 on Hotels
First time staying at Fairwinds and the owners couldn't have been more helpful. Great service and the breakfast was first class. I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again if I was in the area. Much better than the 'plastic' hotels one normally stays in.
5 out of 5
by Ravi

Perfect

Posted Sep 6, 2012 on Hotels
Very rarely, in life, do we experience phases when things cannot get any better. Having stayed in cramped B & B's over the earlier part of our holiday, we arrived at Fairwinds, expecting the same. As it turned out, the rooms here were enormous (within the main hotel) with a fire place, a small kitchen and a large bathroom and a super comfortable bed. Add all this to a superb breakfast, served by friendly hosts and a quiet, close to nature location (red squirrel, Scottish Crossbills (!) can be seen in the feeder), you would get an idea of what the fuss is all about. Or maybe not, until you actually stay there!
5 out of 5
by J. Wilson

Great food

Posted Sep 3, 2012 on Hotels
The food at this small hotel is outstanding. The breakfast is out of this world, both in quality and variety of dishes to choose from. Definitely somewhere to stay if you appreciate homebaking. Very relaxing environment.