Ratings based on 142 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Amazing Hotel

Posted Jul 22, 2016 on Orbitz
The view was great and the hotel room was beautiful, spacious, and clean. It also had plenty of shelves and was very practical. The staff was helpful and nice. We highly recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Costa Rica

Like it!

Posted Jul 9, 2016
•Great service •Bad parking lots at the rooms •Rooms are big enough •Shared balcony •Good Breakfast •Friendly staff •BEST VIEW EVER
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful View

Posted May 2, 2016
Location: Swim on Carillo Beach and eat on the beach and listen to music in Samara.
Love staying here. Has gorgeous views and the rooms are spacious. Nice pool too and wonderful view from the bar. I recommend the White Sangria.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Anchorage, AK

Sunsets from here are out of this world

Posted Mar 11, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Sunsets from dining area were out of this world. Pool area was very accommodating.
Cons: Some work just needs to be done on the decks to get the full effect of the beautiful sunsets, rails need some work and platforms need some stain
Location: Prepare for hills and steps, Playa Carrillo is a great beach. Samara isn't far. PoPo's has kayak adventures very nice people. Delfinos great food
The Hotel Guanamar was an excellent stay, views and the sunsets were great. Food was a little higher then the restaurants in the area, The hotel staff was good, very friendly, slightly lacking, we asked for a wake up call that never came, but we were already up so no big deal there. This place is just starting to show its age a little, they were installing new outside lights when we were there and remodel of a few of the rooms so work was being done. Hand rails at deck were loose and on the hill would have been bad had they failed. Some of the decking and stairs could be upgraded or restained. Be prepared for stairs. All in all this was a great stay for the price.
1 out of 5
by Sebastian from Chicago

Do not stay at this hotel !

Posted Mar 9, 2016 on Hotels
Do not stay at this hotel ! We were charged $25 because there was a hole in one of the towels. Also, there were only 2 small towels in our room, and no big towels for taking a shower. The Wi-Fi didn't work. The front desk woman had a terrible attitude. $155 per night for this piece of garbage? No thank you. Never again. Do NOT stay at this hotel !
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 2, 2016
Pros: Nice pool, and view of ocean
Cons: Rooms could be improved
Location: Not much to do nearby without a car.
Fair accommodations. Access to beach is difficult without a car.
4 out of 5
by Pierre from Montréal

Pour la vue

Posted Jan 18, 2016 on Hotels
Chambres impeccables et très gandes. Zen et épurées. Salle de bain correctes. Le plus de cet hôtel est la vue des chambres et de la piscine, une vue sur la baie, et sur les couchers de soleil, absolument fantastique. Restaurant correct sans plus.
3 out of 5
by Jens

Bra och enkelt

Posted Jan 7, 2016 on Hotels
Bra och vänlig service. Nära stranden. Väldigt stora rum som nästa upplevs lite ödsliga. Restaurangen perfekt för lunch. Tips är att gå till den argentinsk restaurangen, som ligger 4 minuters promenad bort, om kvällarna.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary alberta

View is not worth staying here

Posted Jan 5, 2016
view is incredible but it would be better to stay somewhere else and just visit for lunch or a sunset snack because the rooms are terrible and you will get eaten alive by mosquitoes. we were also visited by crabs, roaches, ants and lizards in our room. if you insist on staying 1 night is plenty trust me!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 22, 2016 by Melissa B., Hotel Management
Hi We regret that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, however the hotel is doing renovations on their premises. We hope that if you come back again the stay will be more enjoyable. Do not hesitate to contact us.
2 out of 5
by Celso Damián from Costa Rica...

La accesibilidad en las instalaciones es fatal...

Posted Jan 4, 2016 on Hotels
La accesibilidad del Hotel es terrible... Hay que subir y bajar escaleras para todo y resulta agotador... Para personas con alguna discapacidad es simplemente fatal...