Ratings based on 44 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Great view

Posted Feb 11, 2017
Pros: View
Cons: Updating
Location: Good restaurants, beach, macaw refuge, turtle beaches in season.
Staff was helpful and professional. Overall, the hotel needs some updating. Our room was very large. There was a king bed as well as a single. There was no bed skirt on the single which would help appearance. Also, could use hair dryers in the room. One day at the pool, six scarlet macaws landed in the trees nearby, feeding. Fun to watch. In the late afternoon, they flew off of the macaw sanctuary.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Great view of the ocean

Posted Jan 19, 2017
The hotel room had a great view of the ocean but seems to lack maintenance. Although the room was large and clean the smell of humidity made it uninviting.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Costa Rica

Like it!

Posted Jul 9, 2016
•Great service •Bad parking lots at the rooms •Rooms are big enough •Shared balcony •Good Breakfast •Friendly staff •BEST VIEW EVER
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful View

Posted May 2, 2016
Location: Swim on Carillo Beach and eat on the beach and listen to music in Samara.
Love staying here. Has gorgeous views and the rooms are spacious. Nice pool too and wonderful view from the bar. I recommend the White Sangria.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 2, 2016
Pros: Nice pool, and view of ocean
Cons: Rooms could be improved
Location: Not much to do nearby without a car.
Fair accommodations. Access to beach is difficult without a car.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary alberta

View is not worth staying here

Posted Jan 5, 2016
view is incredible but it would be better to stay somewhere else and just visit for lunch or a sunset snack because the rooms are terrible and you will get eaten alive by mosquitoes. we were also visited by crabs, roaches, ants and lizards in our room. if you insist on staying 1 night is plenty trust me!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 22, 2016 by Melissa B., Hotel Management
Hi We regret that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, however the hotel is doing renovations on their premises. We hope that if you come back again the stay will be more enjoyable. Do not hesitate to contact us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great view!

Posted Nov 27, 2015
We loved the hotel, our room was huge and very clean. We would come back again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Good location

Posted Nov 24, 2015
Room was spacious and clean. No luxury but it did have 2 beds in case you need it. Nice balcony with an ocean view. Playa Carrillo is about a 3 minute drive. Other very nice beaches within 5-10 minutes drive.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami Fl.

OK nothing special

Posted Nov 11, 2015
Ok nothing special a lot of ants in the vanity no hair dryer view very nice but area is not well maitained.Expedia should not only ask for reviews but should for themselves instead of depending on the hotel to advertise at their discretion and then you run into suprises. Sincerely yours F.Iglesias
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place

Posted Aug 26, 2015
Location: snorkeling, beach, whale watching, hiking
This was our last hotel of our trip, but we wish it had been our first. The view out of the windows is amazing, particularly at sunset...can see all of carillo bay plus mountains and forests. The concierge service is great and the food at the nearby restaraunt is very good. This is a must hotel if you're staying in Carillo or Samara.