Ratings based on 151 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Great view

Posted Feb 11, 2017
Pros: View
Cons: Updating
Location: Good restaurants, beach, macaw refuge, turtle beaches in season.
Staff was helpful and professional. Overall, the hotel needs some updating. Our room was very large. There was a king bed as well as a single. There was no bed skirt on the single which would help appearance. Also, could use hair dryers in the room. One day at the pool, six scarlet macaws landed in the trees nearby, feeding. Fun to watch. In the late afternoon, they flew off of the macaw sanctuary.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Great view of the ocean

Posted Jan 19, 2017
The hotel room had a great view of the ocean but seems to lack maintenance. Although the room was large and clean the smell of humidity made it uninviting.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Peaceful hotel with a great view

Posted Sep 8, 2016 on Orbitz
My husband is Costa Rican and we have traveled all over the country. We can't say more positive things about the hotel and this small beach town of P. Carrillo. We'll be returning for sure. The hotel room was big, great TV, balcony, view of the ocean and sunset, great shower, had a fridge. The pool area is perfect - right temperature, great view, showers nearby. The breakfast was good. We ate dinner here one night - was delicious though a bit pricey. We easily walked to nearby restaurants for the rest of our trip. The walk to the beach is 5-10 min (note there aren't any hotels directly on this beach so for the walk, this wasn't bad). Definitely recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing Hotel

Posted Jul 22, 2016 on Orbitz
The view was great and the hotel room was beautiful, spacious, and clean. It also had plenty of shelves and was very practical. The staff was helpful and nice. We highly recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Costa Rica

Like it!

Posted Jul 9, 2016
•Great service •Bad parking lots at the rooms •Rooms are big enough •Shared balcony •Good Breakfast •Friendly staff •BEST VIEW EVER
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful View

Posted May 2, 2016
Location: Swim on Carillo Beach and eat on the beach and listen to music in Samara.
Love staying here. Has gorgeous views and the rooms are spacious. Nice pool too and wonderful view from the bar. I recommend the White Sangria.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Anchorage, AK

Sunsets from here are out of this world

Posted Mar 11, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Sunsets from dining area were out of this world. Pool area was very accommodating.
Cons: Some work just needs to be done on the decks to get the full effect of the beautiful sunsets, rails need some work and platforms need some stain
Location: Prepare for hills and steps, Playa Carrillo is a great beach. Samara isn't far. PoPo's has kayak adventures very nice people. Delfinos great food
The Hotel Guanamar was an excellent stay, views and the sunsets were great. Food was a little higher then the restaurants in the area, The hotel staff was good, very friendly, slightly lacking, we asked for a wake up call that never came, but we were already up so no big deal there. This place is just starting to show its age a little, they were installing new outside lights when we were there and remodel of a few of the rooms so work was being done. Hand rails at deck were loose and on the hill would have been bad had they failed. Some of the decking and stairs could be upgraded or restained. Be prepared for stairs. All in all this was a great stay for the price.
1 out of 5
by Sebastian from Chicago

Do not stay at this hotel !

Posted Mar 9, 2016 on Hotels
Do not stay at this hotel ! We were charged $25 because there was a hole in one of the towels. Also, there were only 2 small towels in our room, and no big towels for taking a shower. The Wi-Fi didn't work. The front desk woman had a terrible attitude. $155 per night for this piece of garbage? No thank you. Never again. Do NOT stay at this hotel !
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 2, 2016
Pros: Nice pool, and view of ocean
Cons: Rooms could be improved
Location: Not much to do nearby without a car.
Fair accommodations. Access to beach is difficult without a car.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary alberta

View is not worth staying here

Posted Jan 5, 2016
view is incredible but it would be better to stay somewhere else and just visit for lunch or a sunset snack because the rooms are terrible and you will get eaten alive by mosquitoes. we were also visited by crabs, roaches, ants and lizards in our room. if you insist on staying 1 night is plenty trust me!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 22, 2016 by Melissa B., Hotel Management
Hi We regret that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, however the hotel is doing renovations on their premises. We hope that if you come back again the stay will be more enjoyable. Do not hesitate to contact us.