Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Charming country hotel

Posted Oct 15, 2016 on Hotels
We enjoyed the location and had a very good dinner based on local cuisine in the hotel restaurant.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 26, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by xavier from Washington

Magical estate in Perigord Noir

Posted Aug 7, 2016 on Hotels
I spent 2 nights at the Villa with my 2 children. We enjoyed this beautiful country side estate in the magnificent Dordogne/Perigord Nord. The owners did a fabulous job at turning this old stone estate into a comfortable hotel without damaging its authenticity.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Stay here if you can

Posted Oct 9, 2014
Simply, very nice. Clean room, quiet, romantic.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Suffolk, UK

Deceived by pictures and words on a website

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: We hate to say this, but everything could be improved, except the cleanliness (fine).
Location: Fine, other than the comments above. Easy to reach Sarlat, Domme, all the other villages nearby.
As regular travellers and hotel industry "insiders", we perhaps look at hotels with a bit more scepticism than others. The simple truth is that our stay was disappointing as the pictures and website details hid some fundamentals from us - we should have known! We have sympathy for anyone trying to run a hotel as it is a 24/7 business, but we arrived to find that a) there is a large, sprawling care home just behind the hotel, b) that there is a large new local government-sponsored building going up 100m away, c) the plot the hotel sits in is small and hardly reflects that of a roman villa d) there are no real views, e) the grounds, swimming pool, rooms and buildings looked a bit "tired"( we would guess a late 80's build / early 90's?), f) our room was dark and dated, with no real view (window off to the corner of the room)...OK, the giveaway signs were that the hotel is happy to accept "classic car groups".....and for this sort of trade the hotel is fine. At the prices being demanded, there are much nicer places to stay in the area - we can testify to this. We ended up leaving a day early, feeling somewhat dejected. Other reviews point towards a lack of warmth from the management / ownership team. This is immediately obvious. We could not help but feel that the management team we met wanted "out".
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel and restaurant

Posted Jul 27, 2013
Pros: Pool
Location: Lovely quiet location
Fantastic friendly service, room fantastic and well maintsined and 1st class restaurant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Anne from UK

Beautiful, quiet hotel with lovely food.

Posted Jun 24, 2013
Pros: Elegant and comfortable.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Quiet, off the beaten track but not far from Sarlat.
A beautiful hotel in a quiet location - in a small town not far from Sarlat. Looks like a Roman villa (hence the name!). Has a lovely outdoor swimming pool. Attractive dining room - walls covered with modern art. Our bedroom was very spacious with a huge bed (7' wide). A good continental breakfast which was served to you (nice change from the usual buffet). We had dinner at the hotel one evening and the quality of the food was excellent. They only do a set menu at 38 Euros but when we said that was more than we wanted to eat, they were happy for us to have a couple of courses. There was a choice. It was lovely.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Loved it!

Posted Aug 13, 2010
Unfortunately, we stayed only one night while traveling around the south of France. But we plan to go back for a longer stay. We loved the hotel setting, it is located in the middle of the countryside and it's an ideal place for a quite and peaceful vacation. The rooms are very large and very comfortable. The hotel is relatively new, so everything is in good condition. We had dinner on the terrace in a warm summer night and it was great! I highly recommend it if you are looking for a place to relax and enjoy your vacation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Barcelona

Excelentes instalaciones y trato especial.

Posted Nov 5, 2016
Pros: La atención del personal, el diseño de las habitaciones, la comida, los criterios de la rehabilitación del conjunto en general.
Cons: Por el momento no se me ocurre nada especialmente negativo, aunque si hay que tener especial cuidado con las reservas para cenar, porqué si no avisas con antelación puedes quedarte sin reserva.
Location: El emplazamiento ofrece muchas opciones para poder elegir entre personas de gusto diferente.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

schöne Oase in schöner Umgebung

Posted Aug 13, 2016 on Hotels
Schöne Anlage gut gelegen, nicht billig, Essen im eigenen restaurant etwas enge Auswahl, auch recht teuer. Pool sehr schön in sehr schöner sommerlicher Umgebung