Ratings based on 356 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Henderson, Nv

Excellent value

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Aside from waiting too long for the desk clerk to show up to check me in, this hotel was excellent. It was a spacious comfortable room in a convenient location. No breakfast was served, but the price point made up for it. I would stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Pros: The staff and rooms
Cons: A smidgen more training for new desk staff
Location: We went to the movies because Yosemite had smoke from a fire
The staff was nice. This review is making me crazy. Let me finish!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Hotel is centrally located on Carson Street

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Pros: I liked coffee in the morning in the lobby. The carpet seemed very new.
Cons: I would like to see a complimentary breakfast served. But I don't believe they have the space for that.
Location: Centrally located on Carson Street. A short drive to Reno, Virginia City and Lake Tahoe.
I've stayed at this hotel before. It appears it's under new management. The room was clean. The beds were comfortable. I'm someone that doesn't usually sleep well on a strange bed but I slept well on this bed. The hotel is centrally located on Carson Street, a short drive to anywhere you might want to go: Reno, Virginia City, and Lake Tahoe. Lake Tahoe is spectacular! Yes, I would stay here again on my next trip.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 16, 2017
the tub in my room was plugged very badly. I had to shower within a minute and the water was backed up higher than the ankles.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Good place to stay in Carson City

Posted Jul 15, 2017
We were very pleased with our stay at the Carson Tahoe Hotel. The two things we wish were different were 1) that there was only one small wastebasket (in the bathroom) and there needs to be one in the main room; and 2) that there was no comfortable chair to sit in to watch TV or read. There was a small straight chair that was very uncomfortable, and another straight chair at the desk which was only slightly better. However, we were pleased with the rates, the proximity to downtown historic Carson City and (even though we were on the ground floor and on the main street) the quietness of the room.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

You Will Not Get What You Pay For

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Cons: Hotel staff needs far more training to handle maintenance and managerial issues, especially when a manager is not present.
Location: Carson Tahoe Hotel is within a 25-minute drive of Lake Tahoe.
Sadly, our four-night stay at Carson Tahoe Hotel was disappointing, at best. On our first night, we discovered that our shower would not drain. At 10 p.m., the hotel said they would pour in some Drain-O, but that we would need to leave the room for two hours. That wasn't going to happen, so we agreed that someone from maintenance would fix the problem the next day. Upon returning on night 2, the shower was still plugged and unable to drain, so we contacted the front desk, who sent up a maintenance guy to pour in some more Drain-O. Clearly, the Drain-O did not (and would not) work -- the drain needed to be snaked -- but the maintenance guy did not have the tools to complete the job. On night 3, we returned to find that our shower drain was still plugged, and our beds had not been made. We contacted the front desk a third time, and the receptionist said she received other complaints that people had not received towels, their beds had not been made, and various other issues. By that night, we resolved that our shower drain would not be functional and dealt with it, as it was Fourth of July weekend and the hotel was completely booked. Upon checkout, we asked to speak with a manager before the hotel charged us, but the manager was off that day, and the hotel charged us anyway. We paid for -- but did not receive -- a fully functional room, which is the LEAST any customer should expect when booking a hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from China

Poor customer service and cheat

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: None.
Cons: Credit. This hotel has no credit.
1. When I checked in on Jun 29, the staff arrange me a king bed room as I booked but when I entered the room. I found it is totally uncleaned!! I returned back to the front desk and she arranged me another room but it is two-bed room, not as I booked. 2. The most upsetting thing is when I checked out, the staff charged me again for another $68. I immediatetly told her that I have prepaid via Expedia and she promised to refund to me the overcharged fees. And she give me a business card and promised if any problems, I can email or call them according to the email and phone number on the business card. But till now, I have not received any cent even after I wrote two emails and made one phone call. This is really make me angry. This hotel is not trustable and just want to try to make money. I will insist to get my money back and will send the relative information to the local tourism authorities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Value for money

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Rooms are very clean and hotel staff is courteous.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

V good

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Just right hotel for what we paid. Would recommend
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Pros: it was clean
Location: location was in the older downtown area which was ok.
old and dated. needed painting in the halls and rooms.