Featured Image

Reviews of Gold Dust West Carson City

3 out of 5
Gold Dust West Carson City
2171 E. William Street, Carson City, NV

Overall score and ratings

4.0

Very Good

Rating 5 - Excellent. 361 out of 956 reviews
5 - Excellent 38%
Rating 4 - Good. 375 out of 956 reviews
4 - Good 39%
Rating 3 - Okay. 127 out of 956 reviews
3 - Okay 13%
Rating 2 - Poor. 64 out of 956 reviews
2 - Poor 7%
Rating 1 - Terrible. 29 out of 956 reviews
1 - Terrible 3%

4.2/5

Cleanliness

4.3/5

Staff & service

4.0/5

Amenities

4.0/5

Property conditions & facilities

3/5 Okay

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
The room was very nice. The bed was a bit stiff. My only issue was on the 2nd floor the cigarette smoke pulled right into my room from the casino. I had to leave.
Stayed 1 night in Oct 2021
Response from Vala on Oct 19, 2021
Good Morning and thank you for taking the time to review your Stay, we are very sorry your stay was not as pleasant as you has anticipated. Have a Good Day

1/5 Terrible

Traveled with family
Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Horrible stay!! .... Smoky and filthy. Front desk staff was also not the best!! Couldn’t wait to wake up and get out of there!!
Stayed 1 night in Oct 2021
Response from Vala on Oct 11, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay, we are very sorry you were so dissatisfied with your room and the Customer Service, Have a Good Day

1/5 Terrible

Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Alarm aent off at 4am 8n the room that i didnt set there was ants all over the bathroom sink in the morning. And even though it was a smoke free room it smelled terrible in there
Stayed 1 night in Oct 2021
Response from Vala on Oct 11, 2021
Good Morning and thank you for your comments regarding your stay, we apologize your stay was not as pleasant as you had anticipated. Have a Good Day

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Breakfast provided in casino restaurant was excellent. Plenty of shampoo, conditioner and soap. Nice room, comfortable bed.
Stayed 3 nights in Oct 2021
Response from Vala on Oct 10, 2021
Thank you for your review. Have a Good Day

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Clean hotel, tasty meals for a reasonable price at the casino restaurant, fun casino
Stayed 2 nights in Oct 2021
Response from Vala on Oct 10, 2021
Good Afternoon and thank you for feedback regarding your recent stay and the high score. Have a Good Day

1/5 Terrible

Traveled with family
Disliked: Staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Everything smelled of cigarettes and smoke, even the towels, and we had a NO smoking room
Stayed 4 nights in Oct 2021
Response from Vala on Oct 10, 2021
We are sorry your stay was not as good as you had anticipated , we appreciate your feedback. Have a Good Day

4/5 Good

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Friendly
Stayed 2 nights in Sep 2021
Response from Vala on Oct 10, 2021
Hello and thank you for your review, we appreciate your comments and the high score. Have a Pleasant Day.

4/5 Good

Traveled with family
Liked: Staff & service, property conditions & facilities
I like how nice the staff are to us. The rooms are clean and food is very good. The only thing i don’t like is the smell of smoke all over the entire hotel. Our room is towards the very back of the hotel (far from the casino) but the smell of smoke is still very overpowering.
Stayed 2 nights in Sep 2021
Response from Vala on Oct 3, 2021
Good Afternoon and thank you for your Review we appreciate your Feedback. Have a Good Day

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Very comfortable and quiet
Stayed 1 night in Sep 2021
Response from Vala on Oct 3, 2021
Good Morning and thank you for your review and the high score. Have a Pleasant Day

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
We stayed there because it is close to our relatives.
Stayed 2 nights in Sep 2021
Response from Lynda on Oct 2, 2021
Thank you for your nice review. We hope to see you again.

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with group
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Friendly staff.
Stayed 1 night in Sep 2021
Response from Lynda on Oct 1, 2021
Thank you for your nice review

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
The staff was friendly and helpful.
Stayed 1 night in Sep 2021
Response from Vala on Sep 26, 2021
Good Morning and thank you for your review, we appreciate your feedback and the High Score. Have a Good Day

4/5 Good

Traveled with partner
Liked: Staff & service, property conditions & facilities
The front desk person with the English accent was amazing! She should get a raise! The other one not so much. Our room was not clean and the one lady was amazing and did everything she could to make it right! The other one was grumpy from the start! The room was quiet and fairly nice. The bed fairly comfortable and nice that breakfast was included. I think it was an okay place to stay
Stayed 3 nights in Sep 2021
Response from Vala on Sep 23, 2021
Good Morning and thank you for taking the time to review your stay, we appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again. Have a Good Day

3/5 Okay

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities
The hotel looked nice, but the smell of cigarette smoke in the rooms was choking. The staff were friendly, the service was good, but maybe a positive air pressure system to keep the casino smell away from the rooms would help. When you're in a non-smoking room but it smells like a room with a smoker actually in it, it really takes away from the other good aspects.
Stayed 1 night in Sep 2021
Response from Vala on Sep 20, 2021
Good Morning and thank you for your review, we appreciate your feedback as it enables us to make changes as and where needed such as the Smoke Issues. Have a Good Day.

2/5 Poor

Business traveler, Traveled with partner
Disliked: Amenities, property conditions & facilities
This non smoking room, and entire building) reeked of cigarette smoke. Not the wildfire, I know the difference… The television did not work. The lamp on one side of the bed and it’s outlet did not work. The mini fridge was so loud it had to be unplugged. The AC was loud and unpredictable, not responsive to programming.
Stayed 2 nights in Sep 2021
Response from Lynda on Sep 16, 2021
I'm sorry your stay was not what you expected. Since we are a smoking casino, unfortunately the cigarette smoke does linger into the hotel. As for the items in your room that were not working. Did you notify the front desk? We would have our facilities fix the issues or moved you to another room, if possible.

4/5 Good

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Convenient place to stay to take V&T train.
Stayed 1 night in Sep 2021
Response from Vala on Sep 14, 2021
Good Morning and thank you for your review, we appreciate your feedback. Have a Good Day

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Room was very spacious and clean
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2021
Response from Vala on Sep 6, 2021
Good Morning and Thank you for your review, we appreciate your feedback and the High Score. Have a Lovely Day.

4/5 Good

Business traveler, Traveled with family
Liked: Staff & service
There was really nothing noteworthy about this property. It was your basic casino/hotel with limited dining and somewhat outdated facilities.
Stayed 1 night in Sep 2021
Response from Lynda on Sep 4, 2021
Thank you for your input.

2/5 Poor

Traveled with family
Disliked: Staff & service
Reserved two rooms two months in advance with a request that they be next to each other. Repeated request when i confirmed a week before our arrival. However, my roo m.j was at one end of a long hall and my two sons were at the far end of the hall. While checking in, only one person was at the desk and after waiting 10 minutes while she fulfilled some type of room shuffle for another guest, she continued to work on paper/computer stuff for another 10 minutes before finally greeting me andgetting me checked in. Did not expect the $50 per room credit hold for cleaning/damages which is to be returned within 72 hours if the room isnt wrecked. This also used to be a smoking hotel/ casino ( as did most of them) and still had a noticeable cigarette smell ( not caused by the nearby wildfires)
Stayed 1 night in Sep 2021
Response from Lynda on Sep 4, 2021
Thank you for your review. We do the best we can with requests. Sometimes things happen to where we can not accommodate every request. We are and have been a smoking casino since we opened. The $50.00 deposit is standard practice.

3/5 Okay

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Disliked: Amenities
My family and I are
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2021
Response from Lynda on Sep 17, 2021
Thank you for your review

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
.
Stayed 3 nights in Aug 2021
Response from Vala on Aug 23, 2021
Good Morning and thank you for your comments, we appreciate your feedback and the High Score. Have a Super Day

2/5 Poor

Traveled with family
Liked: Staff & service
Disliked: Property conditions & facilities
Despite the fact that this is non smoking property, the whole building smells full of cigarettes. Also, this hotel has poor sound proof.
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2021
Response from Lynda on Aug 21, 2021
Sorry your stay wasn't what you expected. However, we are not a non smoking property. We have a few smoking rooms plus in our casino you are able to smoke.

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Family in the area so we have a nice place to stay,
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2021
Response from LYnda on Aug 20, 2021
Thank you for your nice review. Hope to see you again soon.

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Close to relatives so we could visit.
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2021
Response from Lynda on Aug 20, 2021
Thank you for your nice review. Hope to see you soon.

4/5 Good

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Nice clean room. Restaurant on property was very good. And breakfast was included.
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2021
Response from Lynda on Aug 18, 2021
Thank you for your nice review. Hope to see you again soon

3/5 Okay

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Pros: Staff was super friendly and helpful. Nice outdoor pool and hot tub. Fun bowling center and arcade. Fridge, coffee, and microwave. The Grill had decent food. Free breakfast, but we didn't partake, as we had to leave early a.m. Cons: The whole place reeks of smoke. Paper thin walls/ceilings, sheets felt like paper, HDTV sucked, towels were super cheap and had that sticky feel. Overall, would stay there again for a night, but not an extended time.
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2021

4/5 Good

Traveled with family and small children, Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities
The staff was very nice and welcoming. The room was pretty clean. The restaurant was good. The problems were smells. The halls smelled strongly of cigarettes and the arcade and bowling alley smelled of sulfur.
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2021
Response from Lynda on Aug 18, 2021
I'm sorry the smoke smell was over powering. However, we a re a smoking casino and the smoke smell does linger.

4/5 Good

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, property conditions & facilities
Disliked: Staff & service
I was met at the registration desk by two badly train, and miss informed security personnel that was attempting to belittle me into wearing a mask. After they were properly put in their place and the operation manager got involved it did not go any better. The next morning and a conversation with the casino President it was worked out.
Stayed 2 nights in Aug 2021
Response from Lynda on Aug 15, 2021
Sorry for the way you were treated. Unfortunately, our governor has mandated the mask wearing again.

4/5 Good

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities
We stayed one night, two adults and a teenager. We had a two-queen room, which was very roomy and comfortable. Room and bathroom were very clean. I was told at the front desk this was a recently upgraded room. The room had a separate living room area with its own couch and TV, in addition to the two beds and TV in the living room area (not sure if this was considered a suite, this is not what I reserved and paid for). The staff was very friendly and helpful. Ice machine on every floor, plenty of free parking, fast and free wifi. We were given coupons for free breakfast at the onsite restaurant, which we did not use (see below). There is a casino with a bar in the hotel, and a bowling alley across the parking lot. Only issue we had was the condition of the rest of the hotel and the hallways: this is an older hotel which is in need of refreshing and maintenance; there is a STRONG smell of cigarette smoke throughout the lobby, hallways and casino. This is probably expected in Nevada, but the smell is strong and unpleasant. Our room was non-smoking and there was no smell in the room. Coming from California, where cigarette is banned in public places, this was a shock. As mentioned above: we were given coupons for free breakfast at the onsite restaurant, but we found out the restaurant is inside the casino, with that very strong cigarette smell, and we were unable to eat there. We simply left and ate breakfast at another restaurant.
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2021
Response from Vala on Aug 12, 2021
Good Afternoon and thank you for taking the time to review your stay , we appreciate your feedback and the High Score, as it enables us to make changes as and where needed. Have a Pleasant Day

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Clean with very friendly staff. We felt safe during these covid times.
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2021
Response from Vala on Aug 12, 2021
Good Afternoon and thank you for your review and the comments, we appreciate your feedback, we look forward to seeing you again next time you visit Carson City. Have a Good Day

4/5 Good

Liked: Staff & service, property conditions & facilities
I liked Hotel being right off the Freeway. So you can get to where your going fairly quick. The free breakfast was great. It's and actual breakfast inside there Casino and it runs from 6 am to 2 pm so you don't have to hurry up and run down before they shut it down. Probably the only thing we didn't care for was there shower. It has one of those shower heads with a fine stream of water coming out at high speed and feels like a bunch of needles going thru your skin.
Stayed 4 nights in Aug 2021
Response from Vala on Aug 11, 2021
Good Morning and thank you for your comments we appreciate your feedback as it enables us to make changes such as the Shower Head. Have a Good Day

4/5 Good

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Close to our ⛳ and included breakfast.
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2021
Response from Vala on Aug 11, 2021
Good Morning and thank you for your comments, enjoy your golf and have a Spectacular Day.

2/5 Poor

Disliked: Cleanliness
The non-smoking room still smelled like smoke and the walls were so thin, I heard every thing that the father next door yelled at his screaming children.
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2021
Response from Lynda on Aug 8, 2021
Since we are a smoking casino, the smoke smell does linger. If we had gotten a noise complaint about the person yelling, we would have taken care of the situation

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Most of the staff was very friendly!! Food was great, room was good has a small fridge and microwave. Would saty again.
Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2021
Response from Lynda on Aug 8, 2021
Thank you for your nice review! We hope to see you again soon!

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
We were pleasantly surprised with the friendliness of the staff throughout the hotel, Casino and restaurant. The room was clean and spacious. For the price, this was definitely a better hotel. We would certainly stay there again.
Stayed 2 nights in Aug 2021
Response from Lynda on Aug 8, 2021
Thank you for your nice review! We hope to see you again soon!

3/5 Okay

Business traveler, Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
The hotel is part of a casino. We had a non-smoking room but it was near the casino floor and people were smoking outside near the window of our room. Should not be considered a non-smoking room. Would recommend asking for 3rd floor room if you are bothered by smoking. Other than that it was a great room and service was good.
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2021
Response from Lynda on Aug 6, 2021
We apologize for the smoke smell. However, like you said we are part of a smoking casino.

2/5 Poor

Traveled with family
Disliked: Amenities, property conditions & facilities
Every space smelled like smoke. So bad it permeates clothing. Non smoking rooms...smoke. Check in smoke. Hallways...smoke.
Stayed 1 night in Jul 2021
Response from Vala on Aug 5, 2021
Thank you for your review, we are very sorry your stay was not as you had expected. Have a Good Day.

1/5 Terrible

Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
no good
Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2021
Response from Vala on Aug 4, 2021
Thank you for your review, we appreciate your feed back and apologize your stay was not as pleasant as you had anticipated. Have a Good Day

2/5 Poor

Traveled with group
Disliked: Property conditions & facilities
Room was clean but carpeting in hall way look worn and not appearing clean. When we got to the bld where our room was the outside door would not open and when we got in the hallway smelled grouse. They blocked the outside door open with a rock so we could get in. A superviser opened thedoor and said they knew the door had a problem.
Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2021
Response from Lynda on Sep 8, 2021
Thank you for your review. We are working on getting new carpet and fixing the door's. Since we are a smoking casino, the smoke smell lingers into the hotel hallways.

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Everyone at the hotel is nice and helpful. It was convenient to have a hotel with a restaurant so anyone can grab something to eat if unsure where to eat. The food tastes great and fast and friendly staff.
Stayed 5 nights in Jul 2021
Response from Lynda on Aug 1, 2021
Thank you for your nice review. We hope to see you again soon.

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Nice rooms with great air conditioner, but the refrigerator in the room was not working.
Stayed 1 night in Jul 2021
Response from Lynda on Jul 30, 2021
Thank you for your nice review. If we had known about the fridge we could have sent our facilities to fix the problem.

2/5 Poor

Traveled with family
Liked: Amenities
Disliked: Cleanliness
Found our pillows on the floor after room was cleaned. As usual smoke smell. Guess what do you expect from a Casino in Nevada. Food at the grill was average at best. You have to request to make up your room each day.
Stayed 6 nights in Jul 2021
Response from Lynda on Jul 30, 2021
I apologize for the pillows being left on the floor. We will address this with our housekeeping staff. The housekeeping service request is due to Covid 19 guidelines.

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family and small children
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
The staff was friendly. Easy check in and clean rooms
Stayed 1 night in Jul 2021
Response from Lynda on Jul 29, 2021
Thank you for your nice review!

4/5 Good

Traveled with partner
Liked: Staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
The staff was so super friendly! Bathroom floor had hair and dirt on it, but the rest of the place was wonderful. Close to stores and restaurants. Overall a good stay!
Stayed 1 night in Jul 2021
Response from Vala on Jul 28, 2021
thank you for your review, we appreciate your feedback. Have a Good Day

2/5 Poor

Traveled with group
Disliked: Cleanliness, amenities, property conditions & facilities
This property reeks of cigarette smoke. The room was adequately clean but the hallways were filthy. The carpet was old and in bad shape. There was a dangerous appearing man pacing the parking lot when we arrived, forcing us to stay in the car for an extra 20 minutes. Would not recommend this property.
Stayed 1 night in Jul 2021
Response from Vala on Jul 27, 2021
Thank you for your review, we are very sorry your stay was not as you had expected. Have a Good Day

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Was a great and easy checkin and the staff was wonderful to us.
Stayed 3 nights in Jul 2021
Response from Vala on Jul 27, 2021
Good Morning and thank you for your review and the high score, we appreciate your feedback. Have a Good Day

2/5 Poor

Traveled with family and small children
Liked: Staff & service
Disliked: Cleanliness, amenities, property conditions & facilities
If you don't mind smoke smell and thin walls this place is fine. Not kid friendly or people with Asthma. Will never stay here again.
Stayed 1 night in Jul 2021
Response from Vala on Jul 26, 2021
Good Morning and thank you for your comments, we are very sorry your stay was not as you had expected. Have a Good Day

4/5 Good

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Good free breakfast-easy parking- quiet- good location near freeway for event that we came for-nice pool-friendly staff- good price for our family.
Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2021
Response from Vala on Jul 25, 2021
Hello, and thank you for your review and the high score we are very Happy you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again.

4/5 Good

Stayed 1 night in Jul 2021

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Nice for the price
Stayed 1 night in Jul 2021
Response from Lynda on Jul 24, 2021
Thank you for your nice comment. We hope to see you back again.