Ratings based on 546 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient location in downtown area

Posted Nov 7, 2017
Pros: Large rooms, located downtown, convenient.
Cons: Better breakfast and staff who are familiar with Carson City events, directions etc. They scored bad in this area.
Location: Located right down town, walking distance to capitol buildings and some local businesses.
This was our first stay at Hardman House, did not know what to expect. Older facility but clean and comfortable. The furnishings, décor etc. are not updated but it can be a part of its charm. We were very happy with the room size, parking was doable, walking distance to downtown, continental breakfast was just that, a thumbs down on this, no hot food and just the basics to get you going, hot coffee available. We would not hesitate to stay here again, good for the price, but if you are looking for updated, modern appeal, this would not be it. Ourselves and a couple other guests asked questions of the staff, but none of the front desk staff were knowledgeable about the area, events or directions.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from carson city

Very dissapointing

Posted Oct 23, 2017
At check in I was hit with an unexpected $300 deposit because i was a local. Sink was full of rust. Room was 75 degrees, when I turned on the air conditioner it went up to 80. Wouldn't go any lower even with the window open. I was asked to move my car from the parking garage because they were loosing tiles off their roof.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boise, ID

A Pleasant Surprise

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Pros: This is an older building but charming. Our room was spacious and lovely. We had a desk, an easy chair and a separate table and chairs.
Cons: We could hear folks walking around from the floor above us but that is to be expected with an older building
Location: It's on the main street of Carson City. There are casinos and restaurants very close by. We took a train ride which was a lot of fun.
The staff was friendly and helpful. The continental breakfast included fresh fruit of bananas, apples and mandarin oranges and yogurt as well as breads, oatmeal and boiled eggs. There is underground parking as well as a surface lot. A nice table and chairs under a tree outside. Coffee was available all day long and fresh baked cookies set out in the evening.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fullerton, CA

Nice not Fancy

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Pros: Breakfast
Cons: Sofa or overstuffed chair in room Updated A/C
Location: Just passing through. State capital is not far from hotel.
Rooms appeared to be older with some updated decor. A/C unit was old and a little noisy. Rooms are larger than normal. Could use an overstuffed chair in the room. Continental breakfast was better than I expected. No hot prepared food, but had a nice assortment of breads, fruit and cereal.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Good Choice

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Pros: Location and price
Cons: Mattress was horrible.
Location: Close to downtown, Children's museum, History museum, Nugget casino/restaurant.
The hotel was clean and neat. The price was a good value. However, the mattress is our room needed to be upgraded/changed. We had 2 terrible nights sleep.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Nice and quiet, rooms are clean. They provided breakfast, friendly staff
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lincoln, Nebraska

Nice hotel within walking distance of attractions

Posted Sep 11, 2017
This is a nice, older hotel in the heart of Carson City. Staff is excellent, friendly and helpful. Free wine and snacks are provided each evening. Rooms are larger than you would expect. It is an older hotel and solidly built, so the rooms are quiet. Several restaurants and attractions within walking distance. Seemed like a safe area to me. There are high def TVs in the rooms, but they don't have high def programming on the cable box and the quality is low. The hotel should think about upgrading the basic cable to high def since most cable companies do it for free or cheap now. The underground garage is nice but it is too dark and the lighting should be improved.
4 out of 5
by Joseph

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 4, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Hide

Posted Sep 4, 2017 on Hotels
I saw dust of hair dryer and air duct. We reserved queen bed, but it was smaller and was not good spring.
4 out of 5
by Jean

Posted Sep 4, 2017 on Hotels
Loved the option of wine in the afternoon, although we did not partake.