Ratings based on 168 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Staff went above and beyond, excellent hotel!

Posted May 22, 2017
Cons: Note that Google search for the address shows the wrong location (the location as shown on Expedia and on the Ananda hotel website are accurate
Location: Centrally located in historic Cartagena city walls - but far enough away from the crowds and noise seen on other streets.
One of our favorite hotel stays in another country. Fantastic location, beautiful property, comfortable rooms, and delicious breakfast. The distinguishing factor was service of the staff. When my fiance had a medical incident, the staff sprung into action to help resolve the issue and make sure we were safe and comfortable (not to worry, she's totally ok now!)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Lovely boutique hotel: fantastic staff

Posted May 16, 2017
We spent 4 nights at the Ananda. The hotel is an oasis and escape from the heat and tourism of Cartagena. The breakfast is amazing - plated selections from a set menu plus juice, fruit and a basket of fresh pastries. My Spanish is incredibly limited but the entire staff spoke English and were happy to engage with me and answer my questions about the city, dinner reservations, directions, and on-site food options in English. We spent mornings out wandering and every afternoon by the rooftop pool which was always stocked with fresh towels and a basket of sunscreen - and has a call button for bar service. The rooms were generously sized, even though we had the most basic, and impeccably clean. We spent an extra night out on the islands and they held onto our luggage so that we didn't have to bring all of it with us. Could not recommend this hotel enough.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from florida

Great location in walled city

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Pros: Great location, all attractions in walled city within walking distance. Lovely breakfasts. Beautiful outdoor seating arrangements
Cons: The water in shower only tepid, never hot. Bathroom not air conditioned, it tended to become hot and humid.
Location: Perfect location for walking to Santo Domingo Plaza, reLly could walk to any restaurant or local attractions in walled city. Cabs always available if.
Stunning lobby and lobby level pool area beautifully modern amenities within a very old structure. Large comfortable room. Excellent bartenders. Rooftop spa with living room like lounge chairs. All of the staff friendly, courteous and went out of their way to make us comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely boutique hotel

Posted Apr 6, 2017
This hotel SMELLS lovely! (Too bad they don't sell the scent, it was custom-made for the hotel :|) Beautiful property in the middle of the old city. The staff goes above and beyond, they even created a playlist for us (of the background music that plays all day) to take home. The view from the rooftop is amazing - it's a great place to wind down and soak in the hot tub after a day of exploring the city. Lots of breakfast options to choose from- they serve a full spread of Colombian and North American dishes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Miami

A "Gem" inside a "Gem City"

Posted Mar 9, 2017
Pros: Location, Service, Staff.
Location: Cartagena is more than a beautiful city, and Andaná Hotel is one of the best in the city. Great restaurants, you are going to enjoy the Walled City.
This was a 3 days vacations in beautiful Cartagena. Andaná Hotel was the best of the 3 days.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from a

Perfect boutique hotel to stay

Posted Mar 1, 2017
Location fantastic Building and rooms gorgeous Staff warm, respectful, accomodating, awesome I understand this was the house of the builder of the walls of Cartagena. It is a gorgeous place, terrace overlooking Cartagena, all the amenities are luxurious, the bedrooms are ample, the design all through is functional and amazing. We loved it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Excellent hotel - highly recommended

Posted Feb 26, 2017
The Ananda is a lovely hotel. If you want the big hotel chain experience don't come here, but if you want a beautiful 23 room, classy and unique experience, this is the place. It's beautifully designed, rooms are a good size, well maintained and clean. We were in a more basic one (which was excellent) but I understand there are suites available too. There is a pool on the ground floor, plus a rooftop terrace and pool with great city and ocean views and a small spa room. The staff are excellent; professional, helpful and friendly. The breakfast every morning is delicious. Finally, the location Is perfect; in the heart of the old city.
5 out of 5
by Jessica

Excellent boutique hotel

Posted Feb 22, 2017 on Hotels
Was very special place with wonderful people
4 out of 5
by Edgardo

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 18, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Abraham

Beautiful peaceful, service-oriented hotel

Posted Dec 26, 2016 on Hotels
Wonderful, memorable experience. Felt like we were treated as guests in their home as as opposed to a hotel. The hotel itself is gorgeous and very peaceful