Ratings based on 60 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Posted Jan 9, 2016
Great boutique hotel with great location close to everything, but just far enough out of the hectic ooddle of the old city as to be pleasantly quiet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New york, NY

Charming hotel with great design and stagf

Posted Jun 21, 2015
Just spent three nights enjoying ourselves at the charming bovedas de Santa clara in Cartagena. We stayed in room 405, a duplex suite with a king bed upstairs, queen downstairs and a sofa bed downstairs as well, along with a kitchenette (no stove and minibar fridge only) and 2 bathrooms. We had the choice of a slightly smaller room that would have a balcony and room 405 which did not and we chose space over a balcony because of our family (2 bathrooms were more important to us). The pluses: the excellent and friendly staff welcomes everyone and makes you feel at home, especially Eduardo. The beds are incredible, from the support to the pillows and bedding. The air conditioning works well. You have access to the sofitel's amenities which are without parallel in the old city. The air conditioning is strong and needed. The tour the hotel offers to the Rosario islands was excellent (hotel San pedro de majagua) and defied all expectations based on the negative reviews I read out there, though it is definitely pricey for the number of hours. The negatives: we wished the kitchenette had a real fridge and some more accoutrements to be usable. Thigh not the hotel's fault, it does overlook the ocean and walls and you can hear locals blasting their music starting at 10pm, both of weekdays and weekends. It did not bother us because of he hum of the ac. Lastly, the bathrooms are very tiny.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great stay with a few areas of improvement

Posted Jun 3, 2015 on Hotels
I had a wonderful time with my husband and my family here. The hotel has an elegant, relaxing and private atmosphere. The breakfast was good (not superb), the rooms are extremely clean, the colors are very soothing, and the service was excellent, except for a large, bald man at the reception desk who checked us out the last night. He had an arrogant attitude, the printer broke and didn't seem to know what to do, kept slowly walking back and forth and attending other matters, and the check out took a very long time. The other thing that needs improvement is the call responsiveness at the front desk. It is extremely hard to get your phone calls picked up by reception. Before my trip started I called several times from overseas to ask for an early check in, and once in the hotel, when we called, nobody picked up. In any case, and besides these two minor points, we had a fantastic stay. There was a gentleman at the reception with black hair whose demeanor was absolutely wonderful, professional and went beyond his call of duty to help us make dinner reservations, call cabs and alike.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Frankfurt

DO NOT go to this Hotel, team is Not reliable

Posted Mar 22, 2015
We arrived at 3:30 pm then they told us at check in desk that we have to wait some minutes half an hour later they told us that they are very busy that day and it will take some more time... One hour later they told us that they have a problem with Expedia booking and that they do have a room for us !!! ( so from the beginning they did NOT SAY THE TRUTH) It took an other hour to move us to an other Hotel and at 7:00 pm we had a room and our luggage !!! We moved to BASTION LUXURY HOTEL an we can highly recommend this Hotel. Best Service we EVER had very nice room and fantastic breakfast , nice rooftop pool at the top. Hotel is superclean and supersafe as well,they have a nice concierge and they take always care about your Safety. ( that is important in Columbia ) So if you visit Cartagena book Bastion Hotel an you will be satisfied
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Gonzalo

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 21, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Liliana from Bogota

MUY RECOMENDABLE

Posted Oct 18, 2014 on Hotels
Reserve una Suite y nos dieron otra que no era, sin embargo muy amables nos cambiaron la habitaciòn la noche siguiente y nos atendieron muy bien!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from MEDELLIN

Puente en Cartagena

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: The location, the bed is great
Cons: The size of the bathroom, way to small for a self called luxury hotel. Also, the elevator looks old.
It was great to and the possibility to use all of the facilities in the hotel Santa Clara is good
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 4, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Ricardo Rezende from Londrina Paraná

Hotel fantástico

Posted Jul 30, 2014 on Hotels
Me impressionei com a elegância e conforto do hotel, é sofisticado e acolhedor!! A cama é muito boa, o chuveiro é excelente, e a limpeza é impecável!! E fica numa localização ótima!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Buenas habitaciones pero sin zonas sociales cercas

Posted Jul 1, 2014 on Hotels
El hotel es muy agradable, pero sus áreas sociales son bastante básicas/pobres. Sin embargo, se compensan por la posibilidad de disfrutarlas con las del hotel Santa Clara (se debe caminar una cuadra). Si no fuera por eso, se volvería un hotel muy costoso.