Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Medellin

Great location....for "cartagening"

Posted Sep 22, 2016
I highly recommend the hotel for couples..it is located near to a Cartagena's new Night life area with lots of restaurants and pubs in it's sourroundings. The breakfast is fantastic, Cartagena's típical dishes made in front of you. The house is in good conditions. Just one thing to improve...we went for Two nights and the hotel staff did not clean up the Room the last night, despite of this the staff is really nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Good area, safe and restful

Posted Jun 3, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Internet
Cons: Advertised correctly airbnb
Location: Location is perfect.
The hostel, not hotel as advertised on different websites, kts more like an Airbnb. There are only two rooms rented from a private house. The twin room with private ensuite was very comfortable, with very comfortable bedding, and quiet. If you require a comfortable restful place to stay, then this is perfect. The location is fantastic, in a cool part of town, beautiful historical and safe area. The owners are very lovely. Has a homey feel and would recommend. The pool is tiny, so don't book for this reason. Very nice and would stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Home away from home not far from the Old Town

Posted Dec 13, 2015
Pros: Tradtonal casa experience if you want a homely alternative to a hotel, but don't want to stay in a hostel. Friendly hosts and personalised breakfast.
Cons: Keep doing what you're doing!
Location: 1 minute walk from a selection of restaurants and bars. Famous bars like Havanna Club only 5 mins away. Area feels safe with police station nearby.
We stayed for three nights at Casa Marta and it was the perfect choice for us - quiet, cosy, safe and not far from the action in Getsemani. Marta, Ana (Marta's niece who speaks excellent English) and Miguel looked after us very well and were attentive to our every need - whether it be advice, directions, bookings for onward travel and making us feel welcome in their home. We had some hilarious conversations with Marta via Google Translate and we always got there in the end - part of the fun! The room was clean and comfortable and about 15 mins walk to El Centro in Cartagena's old town. Breakfast was good and varied each day and there was the much needed A/C in the room and small pool to dip in to keep cool in the heat. Would definitely stay there again if back in Cartagena!
2 out of 5
by John from Sydney

Casa Marta, Cartagena

Posted Dec 12, 2015 on Hotels
Good news and bad news. The good news. Casa Marta is honourable. After we left, extremely disappointed, after one night of a three night booking, it did not seek to charge more than the one night. The other good news is that it is right in the centre of the Centro Historico, with two windows, so you do not hear the noise. The bad news. The place is a dump. It charges what nearby 2.5 - 3 star places charge, but it is no more that 1 star. The air conditioner in our room was the slowest in Colombia and took an hour to cool the room. There was no hot water and the towels were certainly not the fluffy ones in the pictures. (The towels provided were serviceable, but we resented being misled.) The swimming pools is miniscule. The main breakfast dish was some inedible deep fried egg dish. It had a crust on it that the military would be interested in. The management does not speak English, but communicates sort of OK using a phone app. In short, it presents on the website as an upmarket, boutique home stay. That is definitely not the opinion we formed.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice friendly place

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: The genuineness and sincerity of the owner. Treats you like a family member when you are there
Location: Good location a few minutes away from the old city as well as a few minutes from the Castillo San Felipe.
A nice friendly place located close to the historic center as well as next to the major plaza in Getsemani. The owner is really sweet and helpful and the staff is eager to please. The house is a bit old and overall the setup is not so professional but that might be part of its charm
5 out of 5
by Carlos from Philadelphia

Beatiful guest house, in a so-so area (getsemani)

Posted Aug 24, 2014 on Hotels
We stayed one night at this B&B house. We had first arrived to Cartagena and then travelled to Barranquilla. We returned just to catch our flight the next day. When we arrived to this house, we were asked to show our reservation before they even opened the door; apparently they did not know guest will be arriving that day. The house is well kept and seems to have been upgraded over the years. We were assigned one of the two rooms available. It was beautifully decorated, and charming. The room had AC&fan, TV, small fridge, no security vault. We were pleased with the overall comfort. After accommodating, the owner came out, Marta, to greet us and help with the check in. The house counts with a small patio, surrounded by chairs, fans, TV, music, and a tinny swimming pool. The house is located in, Getsemani, a so-so area located 20 mins walk from Cartagena center. About 100ft from the house there is a church&plaza where people convene to drink and chat. In the morning, we were greeted with the news water had been cut out in the area. We were provided with a bucket of water to shower and clean ourselves. We only washed the body, since the water did not look clear, had some yellowish color. We were also provided with a delicious breakfast consisting of arepas, milk, coffee, water, and bread. The dining table was set beautifully. Our only complaint about our room was the bathroom. The shower had various spots with mold. Despite loving the house, we might not stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 19, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by non spanish speaker from U S A

close to walled city and great neighborhood

Posted Apr 18, 2014 on Hotels
my stay was excellent. We were next to Trinidad Square and lots going on in the plaza. Kids playing soccer, lots of carts selling great food and drinks, crowds of Colombians, international tourists, and neighbors all hanging out steps away from your hotel. But no noise level if you prefer to rest. Rooms clean, good breakfast, very friendly host Marta, great cook Miguel, and knowledgeable neice Anna Christine. wonderful "soaking tub" in communal area. Get a primer on air conditioner to make your stay complete.
4 out of 5
by texybert from oregon

Decent value, interesting neighborhood

Posted Feb 28, 2014 on Hotels
12 minute walk into the old city. On a dreary seeming street across from a police station. Small plaza 100 feet away looked bleak when we arrive but turned into a delightful area at 5:00 when the closed buildings turned into restaurants and the plaza filled with kids, locals and backpacker types (lots of hostels in the area).Our room was very large with two older but comfortable beds. great shower but tough to shave in the mirror. room was on the street but was very quite. You are staying in Marta's home and it is a nice experience but unless an English speaking relative is there you really need some Spanish to take advantage of her local knowledge. Very friendly and helpful. Small "pool" for sitting in and cooling off.
5 out of 5
by Jenifer from Teaneck, NJ

Absolutely lovely!!!!

Posted Feb 22, 2014 on Hotels
Staying at Casa Marta is like being at home. Everyone was lovely. It was like having a true experience of living in a Colombian home. They were extremely helpful and wonderful to our children.