Ratings based on 56 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very Nice Stay and very well situated

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Hello! Room and breakfast were amazing! The hotel has a great location and very kind and friendly service. What I did not like is that when we arrived at check in they did not want to honor the fact that we had breakfast included, they said that none of the reservations that are done through any of the travel sites including expedia have such benefit. I had it in writing in my print out front he expedia confirmation and it was still an issue. I feel that if the hotels do not wish to work with travel sites then don't, but once they are a part of it, all of the administrative and front desk staff should know the promotions and deals that are doing on. At the end the manager came, saw our print out and even though he was also not convinced, he honored it. Other than this the stay was very pleasant and we will most likely repeat it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Halfmoon, NY

Very nice hotel and close to Historic sites

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Very nice hotel and close to many restaurants, historic sites and the Ocean. The Sunsets were magnificent. The Hotel Staff were very friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami, Fl

Excelent service, warm and frendly staff.

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Beautiful place, so far the people were amazing, friendly and informative. The Food was delicious. The maintaince of the place was preset good. Nothing bad to say
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bogota

Excelent hotel and services!

Posted Dec 18, 2016
Great hotel, the staff and facilities are excelent. The perfect place to go in Cartagena since in my opinion the best plan is to go to the old town and spend your time eating, chilling in a bar and have a drink. You have to try Harrys Bar, which is inside the hotel's facilities, you would love the food and drinks of the place
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Classy and central location

Posted Nov 5, 2016
Pros: Friendly professional staff, classy hotel. The front desk staff was the best. The bicycles were weirdly dangerous
Cons: Room was a bit smaller than expected but very clean. The daily breakfast was acceptable, nothing special .
Location: Walk the city walls, eat at all the best restaurants
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Puerto Rico

Be careful with your personal belongings

Posted Oct 4, 2016
I left my wedding ring in the bathroom next to the lavatory and 2 hours after I check-out at 7am the hotel staff says it was not found. I know it is my fault that I took off the ring to take a shower before rushing out of the hotel to the airport but it is very disappointing that it was not returned. Do not stay at this hotel, Stay at Santa Clara instead.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Medellin

Great Hotel

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: Location and class
Cons: Expedia doesn't offer all available rooms in this hotel (Ex: presidential suite or some suites with very nice view), I always receive poor suites.
Nice hotel with very good location, some VIP services.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Wonderful but...........

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Pros: The building, the rooms, the subtlety.
Cons: Staff attitude to ALL guests, not just the few. Such a disappointment. Not being a killjoy, but being kept up past 02.00 two nights in 5* is not on.
Location: In the old city. Everything is on the doorstep.
The hotel was wonderful. Marvellous conversion of a convent, high ceilings, cloisters, lovely & discreet seating. The room was spotless with lovely touches, such as flowers, and was nicely decorated in keeping with the building. The seating areas in the cloisters were comfy & quiet. The pool was also great with huge sunbeds, great views and very attentive staff. Couldn't ask for a nicer place. Now the but. Maintenance was ongoing near the pool during the day. When somebody appeared, they stopped. Why not discreetly, before 07.00 or after pool closing? The huge security guard from G4S blocked the door all day. I mean you had to squeeze past him. Every time. Why? We lost our camera in the hotel on the last night. This was our fault and not the hotel's. However when we asked if it had been handed in in the morning, the hotel staff were totally indifferent. Two subsequent emails on this have not even warranted a response. 'Sorry, no it hasn't' would have been more than enough for me. The main concern, however, was noise at night within the hotel. We were on the first floor. On the ground floor in the open area below cloisters, guests were talking loudly until past 02.00hrs. We reported this the following morning as a concern. We were kept awake, so could somebody keep a watch on this. The following night was worse, and we complained at 02.30. Noise went on until 04.30. The hotel did nothing. So if a wedding is on, don't expect any consideration!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami, FL

Don´t be fooled, this is NOT a 5-star hotel

Posted Aug 3, 2016
Pros: Just the location, but read my comment about that above.
This is a run down property, with below average staff, very small rooms with low ceilings, and below average service. Yes, the location is good, but any location inside the walled city of Cartagena is a good location, so don´t worry about that... There are plenty of better options, like the many excellent boutique hotels around Cartagena. I can strongly recommend the Ananda Hotel, or the Casa de San Agustin or Bastion Hotel... any of those properties will give you a far better experience that the overrated Charleston Santa Teresa. We were so disappointed that we checked out early, leaving 3 paid nights on the table. The Expedia plus Gold team tried very hard to negotiate with the hotel management, and finally got a refund for 1 out of the 3 nights. On top of that, when we checked out, the front desk staff tried to collect Colombian taxes for the three nights we did not use!! After some arguing, they agreed to deduct those charges from the bill. A truly unpleasant experience at this property that should be rated as 3 stars at best...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san jose CR

Nice hotel inside the walled city

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Nice room Great staff Nice view Food a little bit expensive not much a variety Charge for things and dont explain much Nice colonial hotel