Ratings based on 112 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Long Island New York

wonderful small historic hotel within old city.

Posted Jan 31, 2017
Pros: custom personal service. Historic building with courtyard. Has pool too.
Location: great place to stay within old city. every major place to see within walking distance. many restaurants and shops all around it.
Great weather. Very safe city. Great value of your money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great location!!

Posted Jan 22, 2017
hotel was located in a great spot, walking distance from everything you need to see in Cartagena. it is very expensive but it is very worth it!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel but!!!!!

Posted Dec 23, 2016
Doesn't deserve 4 stars. Very nice boutique hotel, but very poor services, not enough personal, need big refreshment in the rooms. Expensive for what you get.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice in the outside, but....

Posted Nov 28, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel looks great and is excellently located. The problem is with the staff. They are not knowledgeable in the local area and have very little empathy for travelers. A few examples: 1) when asked about local restaurants, location of open ATM machines, transfers to other areas, or even where boats leave for the islands the staff had no idea. In some cases they pointed us to a destination that was flat out wrong - multiple times. 2) they wouldn't help us in any way when there were two weddings bumping loud music till 2am on either side of our room. They told us that that's what happens at this hotel. We didn't ask for a discount or anything, just empathy. Blank stares. 3) after returning from the Rosario Islands, we returned to the hotel to leave our bags for 30 minutes while we bought supplies for a long bus ride to Tayrona. They wouldn't let us leave our bags, and it didn't register at all that we'd spent over $2M pesos at their hotel just two days before. Incredible. Astrid and Laura were our concierges during this time and all around lousy hosts. Never to return here again, and neither should you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Great hotel in the center of the walled town

Posted Nov 23, 2016
Pros: The central location, staff and atmosphere.
Cons: Nothing particular comes to mind
Location: Shopping, sightseeing, excellent restaurants.
We choose Hotel Marques because of it's central location and it's great reputation and were not disappointed. The location is next to Plaza Santo Domingo, kind of the center and heart of the walled city. Casa Marques is a small Boutique hotel with nine rooms in an old colonial building. It has a swimming pool and a restaurant which belongs to the best in town. Breakfast is included. The staff is very friendly and helpful, the rooms spacious, clean and comfortable. The AC works fine and the inner glass doors and windows shield you from any noise in the courtyard. Plaza Santo Domingo is the only Plaza where you can sit all day and have drinks and food. Unfortunately it is also a favorite place for countless vendors.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel in the walled city

Posted Sep 30, 2016
Pros: Location & Rooms
Location: Everything is near this lovely place, good restaurants.
Good Hotel very nice rooms, wonderfull location, very good food, the service is slow and no very pleasant, is not a service problem is an acctitude thing.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful boutique hotel

Posted Sep 18, 2016 on Hotels
Small boutique hotel, which I love, but more employees than guests !
3 out of 5
by Adrian

Wrong hotel boutique

Posted Aug 17, 2016 on Hotels
After 6:00pm they don't serve beverage at the pool witch a think is ridiculous since at that time the sun is almost gone Also the room is not comfortable at all No closet , small for that price and need repair we have stay before at " Casablanca B&B " hotel boutique for the same price and the hotel is oustanding I understand that the boutique hotels are old but el Marques need to upgrade ASAP
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 17, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by CLAUDIA from tampa,fl

Posted Jul 20, 2016 on Hotels
WONDERFUL MINI VACATION WITH MY HUSBAND. THE LOCATION WAS SUPERB. WE DID NOT WANT TO LEAVE! WE WILL BE REMINISCING OF THIS LITTLE ADVENTURE FOR YEARS TO COME.