Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
29% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

OK for a few nights in a great location

Posted Feb 25, 2016 on Hotels
Breakfast a bit dull, room small. But the location is fantastic and the staff worked hard.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

close to the walled city

Posted Feb 15, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: The should hire employees who enjoy interact with travelers.
Location: All the attractions are near by.
I like the hotel and location. However, you get what you pay for. The staff was very unfriendly and not willing to guide or provide information; even though I speak Spanish. On my way out while they had already called the taxi the front desk lady said she needed to collect payment from me. I thought I had paid expedia when I booked so I told her why you did not ask me when I requested the taxi so I he wouldn't be waiting for me and have the meter running? Breakfast was good.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Good location & staff, but do not accept room 111

Posted Dec 20, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff.
Cons: Room 111.
Location: It is in Getsemani which is the Barrio next to the old town. It is more real life than the old town, where real Cartagenan people live and work.
Very helpful check in as our flight got in quite late. We were shown to our hostel style ensuite room with 2 basins which could sleep 7. There were lots of mosquitos but the room itself was clean and the a/c worked well. In the morning we realised there was no window. However, as the staff were kind and helpful and we really were not paying much and we felt we would be out most of the day anyway, we decided to stay another night. The breakfast was served on the roof in a fairly rustic set up. They cooked the meal (eggs and toast) freshly for us and we enjoyed it. The subsequent night, the guests in the neighbouring rooms were terribly noisy, opening and shutting their doors at all hours, damp patches were gradually appearing on the walls (they had clearly been painted over), on closer inspection the bathroom was unacceptably dirty with grime all round the edges and the last straw was the ceiling began to drip water due to some faulty plumbing from the bathroom above. Still no window. If you don't have to stay in room 111, you may well have a lovely stay. We didn't. We asked to change rooms but they had nothing available to fit. We left that morning.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 8, 2015
THe hotel is not prepares to receive family, mainly kids. The rooms are very poor and the place where it is is not what I expected.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great place at a great price!

Posted Feb 9, 2015 on Hotels
I stayed at Hostal La Casona De Getsemani for 3 nights while visiting Cartagena. The hotel has a lovely open courtyard area on the first floor as well as a nice dining area and kitchen on the 3rd floor. The rooms had their own air conditioners and the staff was very nice. Location of the hotel was great with the park being around the block and several food and drink options nearby.
2 out of 5
by tom from san francisco

Can't get sleep/ Breakfast minimal/ wifi marginal

Posted Apr 20, 2014
Pros: Air conditioning worked. Great location for Getsemani on Tripita y Media. Walking distance to walled city.
Cons: Internet, stop the night time noise, improve the breakfast, improve the staff attitude towards clients
Location: Lots of small restaurants nearby, very affordable, 10 minutes to the walled city, a tourist's haven.
Small room with small bathroom. Air conditioner works fine. Internet minimally functional. At night there's noise in the lobby. We heard about this problem too late. It was true. People talked to all hours of the morning quite loudly just outside our door. By report it's primarily the result of the front staff socializing with friends.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 10, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Val from New York, NY

Good deal for the location

Posted Jan 6, 2014 on Hotels
The hostel was well situated. Very close walk to Old Town and even closer to the main strip with all of the bars (Cafe Havana, for example) and other hostels without being right on top of them. Great, cheap Colombian lunches at the restaurant right down the street. The area felt safe and the hostel has a nice vibe. Lively but not too crazy. Raumir, the main host while we were there, was really lovely. Though if you ask for help getting a boat directly to Playa Blanca, DO NOT let anyone book you through Liza Mar. The hotel staff made it explicitly clear to the company that we wanted a direct ticket. When we got to the docks at 8am, the sales woman, who spoke fluent English and could absolutely understand us, straight-up LIED and put us on an 8:30am boat that went to several other locations before going to Playa Blanca. She neglected to mention that the direct boats supposedly leave at 10am. Total BS and a really sad waste of our day since it was our only full day in Cartagena.
4 out of 5
by Alex from USA

Great location in the old city.

Posted Oct 27, 2013 on Hotels
Good value for a hostel in Cartagena. Walking distance to many attractions. If you are looking for a place to sleep for a decent rate you won't be disappointed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by saiid

pleasant surprises

Posted Jul 16, 2013 on Orbitz
very nice reception area and lobby...room was adequate but bath lacked shower curtain. breakfast buffet of fruit and coffee was a nice surprise. Allowed to stay extra 4 hours till 5 pm on day of ck out for only 12 US dollars....