Ratings based on 102 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Very good location and nice rooms

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Pros: The hotel was clean, the staff was nice and friendly and it had a good location.
Cons: The door to get outside had a big lock and someone had to let you in and out. In the event of fire this is a big draw back because one cannot get out.
Location: La Mulata de Cartagena is a great place to eat a nice meal at very reasonable prices.
Location was excellent. Staff very helpful and friendly. My room even had a nice little terrace to seat outside. I did not care for their breakfast. The door to get outside had a big lock and someone had to let you in and out. In the event of fire this is a big draw back because one cannot get out quickly. I would not stay there again for this reason. The WiFi is slow and not consistent. The owner should spend some money in improving this even if the guest has to pay for it. When traveling connectivity is a must have.
4 out of 5
by Lori

Posted Apr 23, 2017 on Hotels
Very pleased with hotel and staff. Centrally located to walk around walled city. Only there 2 nights, but pleasant experience.
5 out of 5
by Ben

Breath taking hotel, location and great service

Posted Mar 25, 2017 on Hotels
Beautiful hotel in a fantastic location. I would highly recommend this hotel to everyone and return when visiting Cartagena again. The staff were fantastic and the hotel was beautiful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norfolk UK

Well-used hotel on edge of historic centre.

Posted Nov 25, 2016
Pros: Very helpful staff.
Cons: Quite a bit.
Location: As with all hotels in the historic centre, all attractions are within easy walking distance.
We stayed for one night en route for Mompos. The hotel is popular with tour groups. Our superior room with balcony seemed fairly ordinary to me, with a very cramped shower/bathroom. I was glad we were at the top of the building; it seemed fairly airless further down. There was no water supply in our room when we arrived, but staff soon fixed this. Staff were very helpful, assisting me with a Spanish voicemail message and keeping us up to date with messages from our transport provider. Breakfast was substantial and the wi-fi was OK. The hotel in general seemed like an old war-horse, willing and competent but a bit tired.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Niagara Falls, ON

Charming hotel, well maintained.

Posted Nov 23, 2016
Pros: Staff was very friendly, courteous and helpful. Spoke English well although with a heavy accent. This hotel was well maintained and clean.
Cons: Coffee was sometimes burnt. I would suggest more shelving in some rooms.
Location: Location was wonderful. Very centrally located. Many restaurants, shops, pubs, night clubs, grocery stores, town squares, churches in walking distance
This hotel was very pretty, quaint and charming. Built in the 1700's, there are no elevators but there are some rooms on the ground floor. I didn't mind the 3 storey climb to the top floor. Breakfast every morning was tasty, prompt and satisfying, but not a lot of variety. Three sitting areas on the ground floor served well as a congregation area. Security was top notch as the doors were locked at all times. You had to ring a bell every time you were coming or going to have very attentative and friendly staff members open up for you. The city itself felt very safe while walking around on the streets so the tight security, at the very least, kept out the riff raft. A couple of times, we ran out of water and had to wait about 60 minutes for it to return. Closet space and drawer space was limited.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quaint, unless you want to sleep

Posted Oct 1, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is older as can be seen in the pictures. The staff was excellent, very helpful and tried to communicate in English. Breakfast was also quite good. location is great for exploring the old city. Where a problem arose is that the rooms open into a center courtyard and people coming in late and a little inebriated where very loud until quite late and the sound reverberated in the space and keep us awake. he staff did not try quieting the situation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Nice location and very nice breakfast and hotel workers. I would stay here again without hesitation I really enjoyed Cartagena and it's varied restaurants and clubs. I also enjoyed the Free Walking Tour and knowing the City's history.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 13, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by David

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 2, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 23, 2016 on Hotels