Ratings based on 36 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norfolk UK

Well-used hotel on edge of historic centre.

Posted Nov 25, 2016
Pros: Very helpful staff.
Cons: Quite a bit.
Location: As with all hotels in the historic centre, all attractions are within easy walking distance.
We stayed for one night en route for Mompos. The hotel is popular with tour groups. Our superior room with balcony seemed fairly ordinary to me, with a very cramped shower/bathroom. I was glad we were at the top of the building; it seemed fairly airless further down. There was no water supply in our room when we arrived, but staff soon fixed this. Staff were very helpful, assisting me with a Spanish voicemail message and keeping us up to date with messages from our transport provider. Breakfast was substantial and the wi-fi was OK. The hotel in general seemed like an old war-horse, willing and competent but a bit tired.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Niagara Falls, ON

Charming hotel, well maintained.

Posted Nov 23, 2016
Pros: Staff was very friendly, courteous and helpful. Spoke English well although with a heavy accent. This hotel was well maintained and clean.
Cons: Coffee was sometimes burnt. I would suggest more shelving in some rooms.
Location: Location was wonderful. Very centrally located. Many restaurants, shops, pubs, night clubs, grocery stores, town squares, churches in walking distance
This hotel was very pretty, quaint and charming. Built in the 1700's, there are no elevators but there are some rooms on the ground floor. I didn't mind the 3 storey climb to the top floor. Breakfast every morning was tasty, prompt and satisfying, but not a lot of variety. Three sitting areas on the ground floor served well as a congregation area. Security was top notch as the doors were locked at all times. You had to ring a bell every time you were coming or going to have very attentative and friendly staff members open up for you. The city itself felt very safe while walking around on the streets so the tight security, at the very least, kept out the riff raft. A couple of times, we ran out of water and had to wait about 60 minutes for it to return. Closet space and drawer space was limited.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Nice location and very nice breakfast and hotel workers. I would stay here again without hesitation I really enjoyed Cartagena and it's varied restaurants and clubs. I also enjoyed the Free Walking Tour and knowing the City's history.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Posted Apr 29, 2016
Great area, safe and convenient. The staff is super friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Good Area

Posted Mar 16, 2016
Lovely hotel in a great location inside Walled City. Staff was helpful. Breakfast is a la cart which I personally prefer. The hotel is secured 24 hours. I'd recommend for the price, location and overall. We stayed one night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Lovely Botique Hotel

Posted Mar 15, 2016
Pros: Size
Cons: Not sure if we would of like being in one of the rooms on the lower floors as they seemed to be dark, but our rooms with the balconies were wonderful.
Location: Great location for visiting the old wlled city
Very lovely boutique hotel right in the middle of the old walled city. Great personal attention. Nice rooms with a marvelous balcony overlooking the courtyard. Very quite and comfortable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, glitch-laden stay

Posted Dec 31, 2015
Pros: Inexpensive and quick laundry service. Great breakfast and friendly breakfast staff. Location was great. Decor was suitable for old town Cartagena.
Cons: I think this place is popular with travelers, and so, perhaps, there isn't a strong sense that individual's concerns need to be fully addressed.
Location: Just walk out the door and start walking, but be sure to leave a trail of breadcrumbs to find your way back. Loved sunset on the wall.
It had been suggested we try to get a room on the upper levels and had written three times requesting this. First two unanswered, but our third attempt was answered with a promise for a second floor room. When we arrived we were given a room on the first floor in the back near the stairs, which was a very small, dark room. We requested a different room (in order to get some natural light) and were given a promise that the next day we could be moved. However, after repeatedly being put off and told later, later, we gave up, having other things to do. We let them know twice that our sink was leaking underneath and water was covering our floor, but that was never fixed while we were there although we were told it would be. The staff was friendly, but didn't' follow through on promises. The internet was spotty. The place smelled strongly of cleaning fluids. We needed to ask to be let out of the hotel everytime we wanted to leave, and of course, again to get back in. The rooftop terrace was not a comfortable place to hang out, high enough walls to block views from the chairs, and chairs crowded together.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from T

4 night stopover in Cartagena

Posted Nov 28, 2015
Hotel was in one of the most attractive streets in Cartagena, close to a lovely square with good but inexpensive restaurants. We ate in several and could not fault any. 3 Banderas is in an ideal spot. It had heaps of character and the staff were sooo helpful!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Long Island, NY

Nice Charming Hotel

Posted Nov 25, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff, charm.
Cons: There are no rooftops, so when it rains the hallways get wet. But they lent us umbrellas and we used them around the city all day.
Location: Close to restaurants, shopping, and street entertainment by the square up the block.
Hotel was very nice and located in the middle of it all. Close to many restaurants and shopping. Very charming inside and outside, keeping the charming decor of the local streets. All the staff was so nice and friendly, we felt like the only people there. I think the small size makes it more personal.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 23, 2015
Nice place, good price for the quality, and extremely helpful and pleasant staff.