Ratings based on 80 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from C

Great location! Across the street from the beach

Posted Jan 4, 2017
It was overall a good experience but the biggest draw back is when we first arrived to the room there was a window with a gun shot that hadn't been fixed... as you can imagine that's not a nice first impression but after being there for almost a week I can saw the experience was overall pleasant. The hotel staff is extremely friendly. I loved the location across and walking distance to lots of shops and restaurants. Very convenient location and feels safe to walk late at night.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Not the best location.

Posted Jan 1, 2017
The staff is not very accommodating perhas due to upper management direction. If someone is not in the reservation they are not allowed up to your room unless you pay a guest fee of 170,000 cop. The rooms are clean and comfortable and overall is a good place but personally would not return if in the area.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

AC don't work high floors no water pressure

Posted Dec 3, 2016
Never again, bad service old rooms, AC don't work high floors no water pressure
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Nice high rise beachfront hotel

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Pros: Beachfront hotel, modern installations, well kept, clean rooms and bathrooms. Friendly staff, especially the customer relations staff
Cons: Speed of the check-in process.
For those who are willing to experience Cartagena as a beach destination as well as a historical place, the hotel is just a 5-10min, $2 (yes, two US dollars) cab ride away from the Walled City. This way you can spend as much or as little as you want either enjoying the sun/walks on the beach, right out of the hotel or wandering the Walled City. The beach sand at Boca Grande is not the best but it's nice enough for a lazy day in the sun or walks. It's much easier than the other way around (staying inside the Walled City and taking a cab to the beach).
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Sorry but I will not return to this hotel

Posted Nov 16, 2016
Pros: Lunch buffet was pretty decent. Most of the staff were friendly and accommodating. Unfortunately they're dealing with a hotel that needs major work.
Cons: Shut down the entire hotel or part of it so that major renovations can be down.
Checked in to room 800 and the AC was cooling BUT the fan was barely blowing enough air to circulate and cool the room. Moved to room 1700 and while the AC was a little better it was still very weak. Woke up on day 2 (Nov 14th) and there was NO cold water at all. I've experienced a situation where there is no hot water but never lack of cold water. Engineer came to room and while he was able to fix it by running all the faucets for approx 15 minutes, it was a major inconvenience to wake up and not be able to shower or even be able to flush the toilet because there was no cold water. Day 2 lobby bathroom - during breakfast I went to use the lobby restroom and found that there was no toilet paper nor paper towels available. While sitting on the toilet I was greeted by a live cockroach that was on the floor in front of me. Day 3 (Nov 15th) - woke up to the relaxing sound of what sounded like a waterfall; however, it was gushing rain that was coming in through the window, We had to use at least 6 towels just to slow down the flood that was being creasted in the room. We called front desk and they said they were already aware of the problem. After 20 minutes no one came. We called again and finally someone came. By this time the wind/rain storm had stopped so the water stopped coming into the room. Not much any maintenance person can do about this as it is apparent that the hotel is way overdue for a serious renovation including resealing of exterior.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oakland, California USA

Centrally located.

Posted Sep 12, 2016
I liked everything about my trip. I wished that I could have watched some American football in my room however.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, Ma

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Good hotel for the price. Great location. Beautiful view of the beach. Lina Guerra from the housekeeping staff was a sweetheart. They should vary the breakfast food, we were there for a week and they had the same food everyday.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Aug 3, 2016
Pros: Location, service, food, facilities.
Cons: Rooms should be more beautiful, according to the other facilities of the hotel.
Location: Good location, we can find supermarket, drugstores, shopping centre, bars, restaurants, stores and the beach is in front.
I have been visiting this hotel for several years but this time it was a gift for my parents. They loved the hotel, they had a good experience. My mother had a little accident (not in the hotel) and she had a good service to help her to move from one place to another, like a wheelchair and special service in the restaurant. The hotel facilities were clean, good service and food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel near to beach and nice expirience

Posted May 10, 2016
Excellent services and good staff the food was great and the beach are near to hotel. The room with beach view are spectacular and so big. The pool is comfortable but has only one size for adult and one size for children. The room for activities and bar are nice. The people in the lobby are super friendly and there were welcome all the time especially going to dinner room warm especially family expirience
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Anaheim, Ca

Could be a 5 star hotel

Posted Apr 21, 2016
Pros: Staff at the restaurant and from desk.
Cons: Pool hours and guest policies.
Location: Perfectly located and within easy walking distance to many stores, restaurants and beaches.
I stayed here 4/15/16 to 4/20/16. This hotel is located perfectly in Cartagena if you want to be close to most of the action. It's only 10 to 15 min away from Castillo San Felipe and from the Walled City, which you need to visit if you plan on coming to Cartagena. You're walking distance from lots of stores and good restaurants. The beach is across the street. What I didn't like was the pool, which is only on the 5th floor, closes at 8pm. They have no jacuzzi! They have a sauna in the workout facility. They have a Solarium on the 15th floor which will give you a great view of the ocean and the Cartagena skyline. However it closes at 2pm! Also if you plan on having a guest come to your room you better make sure your room is considered a 2 person room. I have a friend that lives in Cartagena and they would not let her in my room my first night. The next day I had to add her to my room after them giving me a hard time about it. They then said if she doesn't say all 5 nights then that would be a problem.Why? I don't know. Maybe they don't want women coming and going to guests rooms. The staff security is very active! From the second you walk in the hotel they are everywhere. They have a guy stationed right in from of the elevators making sure no un wanted person goes in there. The restaurant has a great attentive staff. The breakfast is actually good, the one included in the free breakfast, however again they have hawk eyes making sure you don't get too much food.