Ratings based on 99 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to the beach, hotel zone, lot of restaurant.

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Very nice, perfect for tourism travel. Close to old city and the beach. Staff was very kindly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Small Central Hotel in Bocagrande

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Pros: Had a mini fridge. Breakfast buffet was good and varied each day. A/C worked very well.
Cons: Update rooms with more outlets.
Location: The location is close to everything in walking distance or a few dollar cab ride.
Small central hotel in Bocagrande. 2 blocks to beach and 1 block to Ave San Martin where there are all kinds of restaurants, shops and casinos. Very safe area during day and night next door to 24 hrs supermarket and 1 block from another 24 hrs supermarket. The hotel is in the middle of renovation which was not an issue. Breakfast was good with different options every day. The room I had was small however good for a solo traveler. The bathroom was also small not enough room for toiletries, shower was nice and had hot water. Everything was very clean. This is a clean, basic and central hotel and with renovation I believe it will be even better. Staff does not speak enough English however they try very hard to help in any way.
4 out of 5
by Jermaine McDougald from Bogota, Colombia

Great place to stay for Business

Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent service, everyone was attentive, clean, well organized and great location. A great place to stay in you are in Cartagena for Business.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The Bocagrande Experience

Posted Apr 19, 2017 on Hotels
The location was in the heart of the Bocagrande area right where the locals and tourists interact for anyone to get a very lasting and memorable experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel close to restaurants and beach

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Pros: Close to everything. Beach, restaurants, Walled City
Cons: Mattresses too hard
Location: Unesco Walled City of Cartagena (you need to see it at night also!) Old Castle / Fort Beach
Nice small hotel downtown Cartagena. On the corner of the supermarket Olimpica where you can eat on the 2nd floor for just 3.50$!!! If not you can eat whatever you want on the street. Close to KFC, Mc Donald's etc. Close to Casino NAO and Cinema Theatre where some of the films are in English (in the mall). Close to the beach (3 corners - 5 mins walk) Taxis to Walled City = 6,000 COP (3$) Nice small pool area with music. Very calm Rooms are small but ok. Mattresses are very hard though. Ask for any room NOT in front of the street since it is noisy. Breakfast very good with fruits, cheese, toasts, cereals, coffee. If you are not from the Country, do NOT drink the juice since it is mixed with local water. Better to cross the street and buy your own Orange juice at the Supermarket OLIMPICA and keep it in your fridge in the room. Overall very good and I will go again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from florida

mattress not good

Posted Dec 9, 2016 on Hotels
was ok
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean, safe, friendly, convenient hotel

Posted Nov 2, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel staff was extremely friendly. English was very limited, so I highly recommend this if you speak Spanish. I stayed with my 2 kids and we were able to have a room with 3 twin beds
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel in Cartagena

Posted Oct 12, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is very nice at a good price, just take in consideration Colombian taxes if you are a Colombian.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 15, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest; Thank you very much for providing feedback. We are pleased to hear that your experience with us met your expectations. Sincerely, Belinda Cueto Sarmiento General Manager
4 out of 5
by Simone from Dania Beach, FL

Good location, decent spot and generally ok value.

Posted Aug 22, 2016 on Hotels
The staff at hotel Barlovento were very helpful, warm and friendly. However, there is very little,of any English spoken. No worry though, just bring along your trusty iTranslate app. The hotel happily includes a decent breakfast. However, sadly the breakfast is generally cool if not cold. Alas, the coffee and hot chocolate on offer are generally cooler rather than hot. Luckily, again the staff comes through and are happy to warm things up for you.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Siomne; Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback! Your suggestions allow us to evaluate ways to improve our guest satisfaction. We hope that you will visit us again the next time you are in Cartagena! Sincerely, Belinda Cueto S. General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good Location great value

Posted Jul 15, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: good value
Cons: I wish the TV had more English channels but most guest are Spanish so I guess it ok
Location: Beach is nearby
clean room nice staff good location, I would return