Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Orlando, Florida

Charming boutique hotel for couples

Posted Jan 24, 2016
Pros: Very clean, good service, centrally located, breakfast was tasty. We felt very safe. It was generally very quiet.
Cons: There is no bar or cafe at the hotel.
Location: Plaza de los Coches is close with places to eat & drink. Also, Plaza Bolivar is about 2 minutes walk and they have live entertainment most evenings.
This hotel is a great choice if you are travelling as a couple for a romantic time in the old city. Our suite on the second floor had a king sized bed. The a/c worked fine, there were several English channels on the satellite TV. Wi-Fi worked fine in the room. Centrally located, only half a block from Plaza de los Coches. The included breakfast was tasty and included eggs, fruit, and cereal. We felt very safe, they locked the main entrance in the late afternoon and we had to ring the doorbell to be let in, only after a visual check. We recommend Juan Valdez café for coffee and the mirador in Plaza de los Coches for drinks. There is no bar at the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 23, 2016
Fantastic location , in the heart of the old city. Very nice boutique hotel . The staff was extremely helpful especially Eduardo. my girlfriend was sick and they did everything to help us out . They got a doctor to come for a consultation at the hotel and gave us a late check out for free . The breakfast is great. Overall fantastic experience and the price is unbeatable for what you get in the area . Would recommend to anyone .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location!

Posted Jul 24, 2015
Great hotel with comfy beds, however the bathroom was rather small but bearable. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was simple and good
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Can't be beat in Cartagena

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Beautiful facilities. Eduardo, the reception/concierge was terrifically helpful, responded to our every need, including immediately suggesting a room change after our first night was too noisy. Everything about our stay here was near perfection. The breakfast, the rooftop lounge with cool breezes at night, the proximity to all things in the Old Town. Eduardo's suggestions for dinner were exactly right for us. Couldn't be happier with our stay in Cateagena!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 15, 2015
Would you recommend this hotel if staying you would like to stay in the city center/Centro.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great boutique hotel

Posted Jun 14, 2015
The hotel is situated in a great location in the old walls of the city and is close to lots of great restaurants. The hotel itself was ideal for us, the room was comfy and clean with a nice balcony to watch the street below. The highlight however was the rooftop pool, we spent most afternoons in the pool enjoying the sunshine without getting hot and bothered! Staff were also always helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Excellent boutique hotel

Posted Jun 1, 2015
This hotel is an excellent deal. It is in the heart of the walled city and is convenient to everything you want to be close to in Cartegena. Awesome staff in a beautiful hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Wonderful stay for our anniversary!

Posted May 31, 2015
We had a wonderful time at Las Carretas. The staff was phenomenal - Adriana, Diana, Eduardo and others. They helped us plan and schedule our tours. The breakfast was great! Fresh fruit and juice, coffee, tea, bread, cereal and omelets prepared to you liking. The location is great because you can walk to any location in and out of the walled city. The staff even surprised for our anniversary. When we returned from dinner and a carriage ride there were red and white rose petals and candles waiting for us. It was a pleasant surprise.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 5, 2015
The hotel is very conveniently located next to Plaza de los Coches (the main bell tower in the wall city). While the city was really safe, the hotel is even safer with a 24 hour staff keeping eye on the front door. Apart from being very conveniently located, the staff are bilingual and very polite and friendly - very willing to help out. The hotel is very comfortable, pool is very convenient and breakfast was delicious and simple (fruit, cold meats, bread, cereal, tea/coffee, eggs and other Colombian delicates). I highly recommend this hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ft Lauderdale

Great hotel in Old City

Posted Jan 6, 2015
Pros: The staff was very friendly and accommodated any requests we may had. The hotel was beautiful, the food was very good.
Cons: The internet didn't really work inside the room, only at the lobby. Also, our bed was a bit uneven on one side, it felt like you were falling over
Location: It's a great location, very close to the clock tower and the Plaza de la Aduana.
We stayed three nights at Las Carretas hotel and we had an amazing experience. Every morning the breakfast was delicious, we got eggs made to order and a special dish with food of the region which changed every morning. We were going to celebrate our 1 year wedding anniversary and they decorated the room with rose petals and let two roses for us on the bed. The room was very nice and we had an awesome balcony with a a small table. We had breakfast out there a couple of times. We had a great time in Cartagena and we will definitely be back.