Ratings based on 687 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

An Oasis in the City!

Posted Mar 19, 2017
We enjoyed everything about this hotel, which is truly an oasis in the middle of Cartagena. When you are sitting by the pool area, it is as though you are tucked into the countryside. The service was excellent, rooms were clean, and breakfast by the pool was a favourite! It is in a convenient location, where you have the benefit of city, and beach, and taxis to the Old City were easy, and cheap.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami

Nice hotel, excellent service,close to everithing

Posted Mar 18, 2017
The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful. Excellent facilities, great food, beautiful pool area. The hotel is close to old town, 5 minutes by taxi and taxi is only $2.50 each way
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Economical Choice

Posted Mar 10, 2017
Good location. Nice staff. Comfortable room. Lots of stairs everywhere - definitely not ADA compliant. No iron/ironing board or coffee in room. In fact, no coffee in building or lobby -- only in restaurant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S

Nice hotel, great stuff, very good location

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Great location, excellent stuff, hotel a bit outdated.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Charming hotel with character

Posted Feb 9, 2017
The hotel 2nd oldest hotel in Cartagena built in the 40's. Beautiful garden with wildlife around you. The kitchen staff was friendly and know how to handle food properly (gloves/face mask). The pool is well kept not an ambulance of chlorine and perfect water temperature. Highly recommend.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No response to problems. Or very slow response.

Posted Feb 7, 2017
The place is nice and so is view, The beach sucks. Far from charming old town. Problems not fixed.Room is comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dover, Delaware

Magnificent classic hotel; tropical paradise!

Posted Jan 29, 2017
Pros: The pool area and surrounding gardens provided the most relaxing atmosphere I have even experienced. All staff were the absolute best. Breakfast-YES!!
Cons: Would not change a thing. I read all the reviews before choosing the Caribe and some of the knit-picky complaints were just not valid. It's perfect.
Location: Oscillated between staying on Bocagrande (beach) and in the historic center. I'm glad I chose the beach. Easy and cheap to get to the historic center.
The best hotel experience ever (and I've been to over 20 countries). Pool area and gardens were filled with free roaming parrots, deer, toucan, sloth, and many wild birds. The animals weren't caged but roamed freely. Absolute relaxation! Pool was very large and never crowded. Breakfast was delicious and had a wide variety of foods. Rooms were spacious, clean, and comfortable. An army of workers kept the whole area spotless, and the century old trees and shrubs were watered and manicured daily. All staff were absolutely incredible--very polite and helpful in every way. They always smiled and really seemed to enjoy their work. Gift shop was better priced (unusual for a hotel) than other shops in the area and they had a wide selection of items. Taxis were always available and the drivers were wonderful (unusual for taxis). The price to go to the historic area was always 7000 pesos (about $2. 33). Taxi to airport was 18000 pesos (about $6.00). ATM at hotel worked well. Many restaurants, markets, and shops in the area. Hotel had a private beach area well back from the sea but we didn't have any problem with the venders in the non-private area. There are venders who are actively trying to earn a living but they are not overly pushy--just say "no gracias" and they move on. Beach was very nice--sandy bottom and clean. I actually felt sorry for those who chose to stay at a modern high-rise hotel with the sterile, postage stamp pool on the roof while I was in a tropical paradise.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 25, 2017
the bathroom was disappointing, and the wifi was non existent. i found bone chip in my hamburger from the restaurant, the view of the beach was the only good point of this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 13, 2017
Good hotel in general but talking about customer service interns of other residents disturbing peace and tranquility, this hotel doesn't offer any help.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SF

Hotel that needs more care

Posted Jan 4, 2017
Pros: Nice pool, friendly staff, location was good if you like to go to the beach.
Cons: Check-in was ultra slow and quite complicated; hotel should stock a quantity of lower denominated bills.
Location: Nothing near by except the beach. $3 cab ride to the old city.
After asking for a quiet room, we were placed next to the elevator; so we changed rooms from the new section to the original building. Beautiful but noisy; wall were thin and the outside corridor echoed sounds. Many times the hot water was lukewarm and the windows with a seaview were dirty and the seal had broken on 2 of the panes. Chair movement caused loud noises (needed pads under the legs. The New Year party was an enjoyable experience but the meal was so-so and the half glass of champagne wasn't overly generous.