Ratings based on 667 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tampa

2016 Winter Vacation in Cartagena !

Posted Nov 30, 2016
Pros: Food, architecture, staff. Taxi service was nothing short of excellent.
Cons: The massage & relaxation service. The hotel needs to invest into a quality relaxation spa service along with a building to house it.
Location: Just outside the hotel there are hundreds of shops and restaurants to go see. Also within 10 mins the walled city is accessible trough Taxi Service.
The Hotel was an excellent stay. The rooms where clean and the staff was very friendly. For guest who only speak English they might struggle a bit, but with some basic Spanish they will be able to get around just fine. The only thing that I think this hotel could improve on is their Massage & Relaxation Service.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Total rip off!!! Stay away!

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Pros: The pool is nice.
Cons: Renovate!
Location: It's a bit far from the center of town. You end up taking 4 cab rides a day. It's still pretty cheap (like $2, each way), but kinda a pain.
The place has seen better days. From the first time you walk in, you realize something is amiss. Paint is crumbling, and the place reads not quite like the photos online. By the time you get to your room, you realize that you've made a huge mistake. The reception staff is the worst. Truly incompetent. And while I get that things function on island time here, having lines of guests waiting for 30 minutes at a time to check in, or out, is unacceptable. Restaurant staff is a mixed bag. Some are good. Some awful. I stayed six nights. I saw the concierge once. You book everything on your own. And if you Spanish is not great, you find yourself in some bizarre situations. Cartagena is a cheap place. Best bet is to pick a hotel in the old city. For Cartagena prices, this place is truly a rip off. STAY AWAY!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Good Old Fashioned Elegance

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros: Nice pool area, helpful staff and relaxed atmosphere with few U.S. tourists staying there. Alsovery close to the beach
Cons: Breakfasts could be better but on the OK side
Location: Buy bottled water on commercial strip just across the street. Old City ten minutes by cheap cabs
Hotel very calming with lots of quite outdoor spaces to relax and 3 deer plus two each of macaws and toucans lolling about. Beach access extremely short and if you can ignore the beach vendors, not so bad although the constant jet skis can result in a gasoline smell on ocaission.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Non profesional mess

Posted Nov 26, 2016
Pros: The old building where I was staying last time
Cons: In that other building everything
The hotel has three buildings, the one where we had our room this time needs urgent repairs and is very uncomfortable. Very difficult to shower for instance without getting burnt and the defogging of the bathroom afterwrds does not work at all. This gives you an idea. Also one has to go up or down flight of stairs to get to anything from room to restaurant to reception to pool, very awkward.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Cons: Old elevator with bad mosquito pest control.
Location: Good location and access to beach and nearby shops and restaurants.
Room is OK, plenty of amenities and good service all the time.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Service not up to snuff

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Location: Hotel was not near a nice beach, so the beach was not an attraction. Next time I will stay within the city wall.
We arrived in the late afternoon and I requested help in getting the air conditioning working properly and the safe repaired. No one wanted to come until the next day. I went for dinner and nothing had changed. I then insisted on service. After attempting to repair the AC, it was determined that it was not working, so thankfully I was moved to another room, (at 1:30 AM in the morning) which was fine. Front desk was very slow, restaurant staff were also very slow, but all others were very helpful and pleasant.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tijuana, México.

Hotel agradable. Buena atención.

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Estancia de 4 dias muy agradable. Buena atencion. Solo requiere dar un mantenimiento actualizado en algunos aspectos básicos
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location & service for families

Posted Sep 3, 2016 on CheapTickets
Great location to all major areas plus semi private beach. Great service and perfect for families! We look forward to returning
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bogota

Posted Sep 3, 2016 on Hotels
Un valor muy alto para un hotel tan descuidado, las toallas viejicimas, se veian mal, el desayuno muy regular, para que sirvieran un cafe tocaba pedirles el favor varias veces y esperar a ver si depronto aparecia el cafe. Muy regular para el precio
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Elegant and peaceful hotel.

Posted Sep 2, 2016 on Orbitz
Vacations with my son and my mother. Cons cheking out was slow and thanks to that I miss my flight. I told employees that they were taking long and I was going to miss my flight that didnt seem concern. I had to pay extra for my son and I for missing flight :( not so happy about the way they handle my situation. Lunch buffet was expensive, food wasnt good and very little variety Pros This hotel has a nice spot to take a tan with own showers and bathroom plus a restaurant. its not so close to beach but the good thing is that the ppl who sale stuff cant bother( I prefer to see ppl hustling than begging for money, but oh man....it can get annoying). Breakfast was excellent. I love torta española and they make it so good. This is not a party hotel. For me that was a plus. Gay friendly. Nice pool and beds to relax. I will definitely stay here again and will recommend to my friends and family.