Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

The best service

Posted Jul 3, 2015
- rooms are very clean, comfortable and air conditioned - All of the staff are friendly and helpful - Bella, the concierge was extremely helpful. Called and made all of our reservations and gave us the best recommendations - 24/7 security and assistance - great lobby and rooftop pools - perfect area, quiet and central
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Wonderful hotel in the heart of old Cartagena!

Posted Jun 21, 2015
Pros: The amazing staff, the pool, and the included breakfast (eggs, fruit, coffee, juice, bread...)
Location: Definitely eat at La Mulata, which is just 2 blocks from Casa Gloria. Other good restaurants nearby: Agua del Mar, Cevicheria.
From our first arrival at Casa Gloria, we had an absolutely splendid time there. The staff are gracious, warm, and welcoming. The rooms are a bit small, but it's to be expected when you realize the size of the streets and houses in Old Cartagena. The location is perfect--right near tons of great restaurants and in the middle of the old walled city. The breakfast is wonderful, the pool is great, and it was just a lovely home away from home in Colombia.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Great location .

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Pros: Location and rooftop jacquzzi
Cons: Shower,linen and doors
Location: easy walking to all city sights, museums and restaurants
The photo shots and previous reviews over egg this hotel. It is a bit tired looking and fittings and furnishings are an aquired taste. Amazing shower but it lacked the necessary water pressure to operate. Towels and bedlinen were not good quality and doors were inadequate for both noise and privacy. It is however in a great location in the heart of the walled city and easy walking distance from some great restaurants. The staff were excellent though, particularly Juliette who went out of her way to help us organise trips, taxis etc.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Small hotel in the heart of the walled city

Posted Feb 10, 2015
Pros: Service oriented staff, location, functional (but small) swimming pool, quiet at night. AC worked and courtyard provided shade during heat of the day.
Cons: Better lighting in the bathrooms. Not a fan of the birds.
Location: Centrally located in the walled city. Convenient to everything there.
Pleasant hotel in the walled city. Built around half a courtyard, it has the expected architectural character and flaws. The rooms don't have windows, so they are not bright and the bathroom, while fully functional, is small. The staff are very helpful, going out of their way to make sure you have everything you need and more than make up for the slightly dated rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Superlative service and location

Posted Sep 6, 2014
Located on a really pretty street in the heart of San Diego, Casa Gloria exceeded all my expectations with service, care and consideration. The building and arrangement are beautiful with a gorgeous flowered balcony overlooking the pool. My room was perfectly air conditioned and immaculately clean. But it's the friendliness of the staff and thoughtfulness of Gloria herself that really makes this hotel. I was unsure of my onward journey from Cartagena, but Gloria thought about it and came up with a great solution and make all my immediate arrangements. Invaluable care. I loved it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rose from Atlanta

Tropical Paradise

Posted Mar 15, 2014
Pros: The staff was fantastic! Great breakfast and they catered to my every need.
Cons: I would like for more meals to be served at the hotel. I realize that this would be a lot to ask for.....but I liked the intimate breakfasts a lot.
Location: You can walk to a lot of things...supermarket, dining, and cute places with the locals for drinks.
I loved the room with kitchen facilities. The room was big and I enjoyed the access to the pool and Colombian culture outside my windows.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chris from Santa Barbara

Nice, safe location, good wifi w/ everything close

Posted Jan 19, 2014
Pros: The staff were great, the place is clean, and safe. Location is perfect as well. There is a small pool, billiards table and a jacuzzi (but why?).
Cons: The beds and pillows Stronger AC
Location: This place is next to everything. One direction an Exito, another a Plaza with excellent food, City walls and main attractions--two blocks
Poor bed, pillow and AC combo My bed was horrible, they should really improve this and the place would be so much better. The pillows were blah and the AC couldn't hold up with the heat. Even the day I spent lying around in bed due to a cold, the AC still couldn't keep up with the heat even being on for 18 hours straight maxed out w/o opening the front door. Great wifi and a few English speaking TV stations, nice shower (although no hot water, only luke warm), the cleaning lady saw me emerge out of my room an hour after breakfast was done serving and kindly asked if I wanted her to prep some coffee and cut up some fruit for me. Clean and safe, although for whatever reason they don't offer batteries for the in-room safe and offer to use the key, which is a bit inconvenient. But whatever, no biggy. My only reason for the low marking is the bed/pillow/AC. Apart from those, the place is great and worth the option of looking into.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Karen from California, USA

Terrific hotel with a great staff

Posted Dec 17, 2012
Pros: The staff was very accommodating and did everthing to ensure we had a comfortable stay.
Cons: The breakfast was a bit sparce.
Location: Terrific location. Not in the heart of the tourist area, which was nice. Only a five to ten minute walk to the old city center.
I would recommend Hotel Casa Gloria. It is a comfortable and pleasant hotel. It's in a great location, with roughly only a five to ten minute walk to the old city center. The staff was terrific. They were very attentive and did everything to ensure that we had a pleasant visit. If you choose the economy room, be prepared for a very small space -- roughly 2 feet or so on each side of the bed to walk around.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Porto Alegre, RS, Brasil

Agradável

Posted Feb 13, 2016
Pros: Gostei muito das instalações e do atendimento dos funcionários.
Location: O hotel é dentro da cidade amuralhada, logo é perfeito para quem quer aproveitar a cidade histórica, pois é perto de tudo
O hotel é muito bonito e perfeito para quem quer ficar no centro histórico de Cartagena, a equipe do hotel é excelente, todos muito prestativos.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Québec

Séjour très agréable. Décoration soignée.

Posted Feb 10, 2016
Cons: L'équipement de la cuisine est déficient. Pas de grille-pain et de micro-ondes.
Personnel souriant, chaleureux et serviable. Magnifique décor, plantes et fleurs en abondance. Très bien situé, près des services, restaurants et murailles. Piscine ouverte jusqu'à minuit. Terrasse sur le toit. Mémorable : le défilé des calèches le soir.