Ratings based on 98 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

No hot water in shower and toilet runs all night

Posted Jan 24, 2017
There was no hot water coming out of the shower and hotel made no attempt to fix it. They seem to think that's okay and normal. They're wrong. For the price of the room, I expect nice warm showers and not have to listen to a running toilet all night long. Not too much to ask for. Would not stay there again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cochranville,pa

Wonderful stay

Posted Jan 14, 2017
Hotel is at the heart of everything in the walled city. Great location. Breakfast included and is good. Staff was great. We will stay here again on our next visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Pleasant surprise with wonderful staff.

Posted Nov 9, 2016
Pros: A few years ago I heard about Cartagena.  I have to confess I knew not much about the history and the beauty it holds, but I knew it was a place I wanted to visit some day.  I started my search, I had no idea what hotel or where in Cartagena I should stay. I read some reviews, Hotel Kartaxa stood up and I booked a room for a seven night stay.  The room I booked was a standard room, a little small for what I expected, but  clean and bright it was enough and fair for what I had paid. While in the hotel I had the opportunity to see other rooms, all unique, no rooms are alike.  Each room is decorated to honor an important Colombian citizen, writers, artist, painters. White walls, with white linens, a few antique accents , each room full of charm.  The hotel also has several common areas all inviting to relax. You soon feel more in a B&B rather than a hotel. What a delight, the staff is superb, friendly, helpful and soon you feel you belong there. For no reason at all other than serendipity on our side, after 4 nights we were upgraded to the best room in the house, the Gabriel Garcia Marquez suite, The GABO room.  In the Gabo room you can feel his presence.... Many of his books are available for you to read in the room. I certainly recommend this hotel, the location is great, a block away from Plaza San Diego, a few steps to Las Bobedas where there is plenty of shopping.  You can walk from the Kartaxa to anywhere within the beautiful Walled-city of Cartagena. 
Cons: Minor maintenance issues. Issues that in a way are as a result of remodeling a private home that is over one hundred years old.
Location: See my review. The hotel website has wonderful accurate information and videos about the hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good hotel but not equipped for business travels

Posted Sep 23, 2016 on Hotels
Good hotel but not equipped for business travels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful, romantic hotel

Posted Sep 17, 2016 on Hotels
Wonder hotel. Beautiful. Well kept.
5 out of 5
by Saara

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 29, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Posted Aug 3, 2016
Pros: Staff courtesy
Cons: The water pressure is very weak so it's difficult to take a shower
First time in this hotel in the old walled city --pleasant for its ranking
5 out of 5
by Claudia from Weston, FL

Posted Jul 29, 2016 on Hotels
Great hotel, super location and the best service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from miami, florida

Posted Jul 28, 2016
our stay in the hotel kartaxa was perfect, every one in the hotel was very nice and ready to answer every questions we need, the plaza san diego was very close to the hotel, our travel to Cartagena de indias is the most beautiful place we see in the world, the plazas, churches, the narrow streets, the people, the food, etc., thanks a lot EXPEDIA Ileana Salazar and Ana M. Fajardo
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 11, 2016 on Hotels