Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cochranville,pa

Wonderful stay

Posted Jan 14, 2017
Hotel is at the heart of everything in the walled city. Great location. Breakfast included and is good. Staff was great. We will stay here again on our next visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Pleasant surprise with wonderful staff.

Posted Nov 9, 2016
Pros: A few years ago I heard about Cartagena.  I have to confess I knew not much about the history and the beauty it holds, but I knew it was a place I wanted to visit some day.  I started my search, I had no idea what hotel or where in Cartagena I should stay. I read some reviews, Hotel Kartaxa stood up and I booked a room for a seven night stay.  The room I booked was a standard room, a little small for what I expected, but  clean and bright it was enough and fair for what I had paid. While in the hotel I had the opportunity to see other rooms, all unique, no rooms are alike.  Each room is decorated to honor an important Colombian citizen, writers, artist, painters. White walls, with white linens, a few antique accents , each room full of charm.  The hotel also has several common areas all inviting to relax. You soon feel more in a B&B rather than a hotel. What a delight, the staff is superb, friendly, helpful and soon you feel you belong there. For no reason at all other than serendipity on our side, after 4 nights we were upgraded to the best room in the house, the Gabriel Garcia Marquez suite, The GABO room.  In the Gabo room you can feel his presence.... Many of his books are available for you to read in the room. I certainly recommend this hotel, the location is great, a block away from Plaza San Diego, a few steps to Las Bobedas where there is plenty of shopping.  You can walk from the Kartaxa to anywhere within the beautiful Walled-city of Cartagena. 
Cons: Minor maintenance issues. Issues that in a way are as a result of remodeling a private home that is over one hundred years old.
Location: See my review. The hotel website has wonderful accurate information and videos about the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Posted Aug 3, 2016
Pros: Staff courtesy
Cons: The water pressure is very weak so it's difficult to take a shower
First time in this hotel in the old walled city --pleasant for its ranking
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from miami, florida

Posted Jul 28, 2016
our stay in the hotel kartaxa was perfect, every one in the hotel was very nice and ready to answer every questions we need, the plaza san diego was very close to the hotel, our travel to Cartagena de indias is the most beautiful place we see in the world, the plazas, churches, the narrow streets, the people, the food, etc., thanks a lot EXPEDIA Ileana Salazar and Ana M. Fajardo
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bronx, NY

Great Hotel and Price

Posted Jun 29, 2016
Pros: Great staff, great location (quieter street but in walking distance to so much)
Location: Quieter street but in walking distance to San Diego area and the rest of the Old City.
We really enjoyed staying at Hotel Kartaxa. The staff was really nice and extremely helpful for offering guidance to getting where we needed to be. The breakfast was also good, more than I was expecting with fresh fruit and a menu of fresh-cooked options to choose from.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel in the quieter part of the old city

Posted Jun 13, 2016
Pros: Staff and restaurant
Cons: Bathroom window needed to be repaired. Could not keep bathroom cool with window missing glass
Location: Quite location at night, next to school so daytime noisey.
Staff was very helpfull, on site restaurnt was very good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Comfortable and Convenient to Walled City Sites

Posted Mar 19, 2016
Pros: The lounge areas are extremely nice, good spots for spending a few hours.
Cons: More information on tours. The staff have some information available, but more can easily be found on the Web.
Location: Quiet street, convenient to restaurants and shops. Easy walk to the attractions throughout the Walled City and even the castillo on the hill.
The hotel is on a quiet street between a small plaza and Las Bovedas, which makes it easy to get to at all times. Staff are friendly and helpful, although with varying degrees of spoken English skills - some basic knowledge of Spanish will help visitors. Rooms are very clean and a bit spare, but the bathrooms are very good and the bed was perfect. The air conditioning worked perfectly (a blessing in that humid city), and the hotel generator kicked in immediately when there was a sudden power blackout in the area one evening. The second floor pool is small, but the lounge area is attractive and comfortable. The rooftop lounge area provides a good view of the city and is also comfortable for lounging. The only two concerns I should mention are (1) the stairs, which are a bit steep and might be too cumbersome for some walkers, and (2) the school directly behind the hotel opens at 6:30am Monday-Friday, with lengthy loudspeaker announcements and the roar of hundreds of children playing. Kartaxa is a "lifestyle" hotel, so one should not expect all services found at much more upscale hotels in the city.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Cannot beat the location and charm!

Posted Feb 21, 2016
Pros: Location, Clean, Quiet, Charming, Hotel staff spoke good English and had good restaurant recommendations.
Cons: A better check out process and understanding of the charges. The Expedia payment wasn't reflected.
Location: Lots of great restaurants and shopping. Cartagena has delicious, fresh food and inexpensive for what was served. San Diego square is very close.
This hotel is in a wonderful location and it is easy to walk in the old walled city and to nearby Getsemani. San Diego square is just down the street and it has nice restaurants and an active night life with live music, outside seating, and fun street performers cycling through. Given that it is a very old building (like all of the historic buildings/houses in the city), they have done a nice job of converting this into an appealing little hotel. Our room was surprisingly small when we first saw it, but we got used to it and it was sparkling clean with a comfortable bed and nice linens and pillows. We did catch sight of several larger rooms. It was nice to wake up to birds chirping and it was very quiet and relaxing. There was a small room safe but did not receive instructions on how to use it. The housekeeping staff was very honest and didn't take my tips until I figured out they needed to be placed in a little envelope pre-addressed to them. The staff was pleasant, formal and spoke good English. There is a tiny, tiled pool. There was confusion at check-out over what we were supposed to pay. We booked and paid through Expedia but there was a request to pay some sort of 'insurance' that was later removed and they initially asked us to pay the room bill again but all was sorted out. It is a small boutique hotel and a lot of their paperwork seemed manual so we remained flexible. Overall it was a charming Cartagena experience and the location couldn't have been better.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

cozy

Posted Dec 12, 2015
Pros: Breakfast, cozy room, hot water, Danilo and the girl from Spain, Aeonoa
Cons: I notice the hotels dont have small wash cloths like we have, maybe they should look to acquire the correct size considered to be a wash cloth.
Location: Everything is within walking distance you would want, shopping, Juan Valdez coffee shop.
I made the mistake of trying to compare Cartagenas hotels to hotels ive stayed in like Las Vegas or Cancun where I had a suite or ocean views which is unfair. Since my first visit to Cartagena in November 2015 and a better understanding of the area I appreciated what I had. The room I had was small but that wasnt a negative. I did not know on my first visit hot water really isnt a necessity for Cartagena residents but this hotel has hot water and that was a plus. I understand that recently the city is changing to provide hot water. The AC works well, so well I would actually have to cut it off as I would get cold. I liked being able to go to the rooftop to relax in a lounge chair and there is a pool on the second floor. There is a restaurant on site and the breakfast they provide, omg! Absolutely 5-star quality. You order from the menu but first are provided a plate of fruit, coffee and or juice if you want and the taste was excellent. When I went to the restaurant late afternoon Danilo and Aeonoa (sorry if i misspelled your names) were an absolute joy to talk with and they were so helpful and kind. I introduced Danilo to my drink of choice he never made before and it came out even better the 2nd time around :) Everyone was really helpful and kind except one female at the front desk at night but I did not bother to get her name and despite that one person, I would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from r

Great location, romantic feel, helpful staff

Posted Nov 2, 2015
Breakfast that is included is good, you can have it delivered to the room. The staff was all very helpful and enthusiastic and most of them spoke great English, too! The hotel is just a half a block from the Bóvedas and the Wall, which is nice 1. So you can check them out 2. If you get turned around in the city, ask anyone which direction the bóvedas are they can help you out. I would recommend staying there!