Ratings based on 141 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Cheap hotel with pretty average accommodations.

Posted May 12, 2017
Stayed at hotel San Felipe for a week and the best part was the price! They have good rates and they are just about 2 blocks from the walled city where there are lots of restaurantsMd tourist things. However, the facilities were average. Our rooms were clean, but I thought they needed more outlets in the room and a better wifi connection. The wifi works, but while I was there there would be periods that it would cut out and they would have to fix it. They have relationships with other hotels that have pools and you can visit those hotels for the day to use their pool. That was a nice free service that I enjoyed. Also they have complimentary breakfasts which was nice. It's a good place to stay if you are looking for something close to the city that isn't super expensive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Stately Old Latin American Hotel

Posted Mar 20, 2017
I really enjoyed my stay at this old fashioned Latin American hotel. The rooms were spotlessly clean and air conditioned, and the staff were really helpful and courteous. The location was great because it was walking distance to just about everything we wanted to see. I can't say whether the staff spoke English or were helpful in English because I wasn't speaking English. However, my travelling buddy is legally blind, so we had some special needs, and the staff were really very helpful with suggestions for where to eat and places that were well lit. Surprisingly, at least on the side of the hotel I was on, our room was actually quiet--a very rare thing in Latin America. The hotel also provides a really nice buffet breakfast every day (included in the room fee) that had lovely fruit as well as just about anything else one could want for breakfast--yogourt, eggs, arepas, cereal, etc. I would definitely stay here again any time. The only thing one needs to know is that the showers do not have hot water. If that bothers you, then this hotel is not for you and you should book somewhere else. However, it is always warm in Cartagena, and the bathrooms are screened but open to the warm outside air, so it's really not a big deal if you have a cool shower (water is the temperature of the ambient air). It's refreshing. But if that bothers you--don't complain, just pick somewhere else to stay. However, you'll miss out on a fine, old-style, Colombian hotel.
5 out of 5
by Sarah

Great location and fantastic staff

Posted Mar 7, 2017 on Hotels
We stayed in the quadruple room on the top floor for 8 nights. We had a great balcony and view, lots of space, and very good wifi access. Breakfast was plentiful each morning and a good start to the day. The staff were so friendly, we especially loved marcel the night manager. The location is fantastic - you can walk everywhere. Close to the old city, street art, supermarkets, the water, etc. I highly recommend this hotel - it's basic but incredibly good value for what you pay.
3 out of 5
by leo

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 25, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Michael

Great Staff Nice Stay

Posted Feb 1, 2017 on Hotels
Nice hotel for the price, excellent service, good breakfast, excellent location, large rooms, nice ait conditioner in room. No hot water for shower but Cartagena is pretty hot and humid, the trick for us was to shower after we returned from our sightseeing and walking the city. Hotel is upgrading and the main street is under construction but not really an inconvenience.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Honduras

It feels like a dangerous zone

Posted Jan 29, 2017
Dangerous,a los of noise ,we couldn't sleep at night,a lot glass broken in the streets,people shouting ,there were some kind of fights
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Orleans

Great location, but...

Posted Jan 11, 2017
Pros: Location. cleanliness, breakfast buffet
Cons: Sound proofing of balcony doors/windows
Location: Neighborhoods of the walled city, Getsemaní, Bocagrande, the Castillo de San Felipe de Barajas, Gold Museum, Palace of the Inquisition, Island tours
There are some positives for the hotel and room, but there are some drawbacks. The staff was not aware of our reservation. Be sure to bring a printed copy of your itinerary. The room was spacious and clean with two balconies facing the street. These pretty, innocent balconies however, let in a lot of noise. Music from the surrounding bars did not stop until 4:00 am. Thus if you want to sleep well, a room with balconies facing the street will not meet your needs. Complaints will go nowhere. The staff seemed to be empathetic but could not do anything. We were given ear plugs and resorted to TV white noise to drown out the music. There was no hot water (only one water line for the sink and one for the shower); not that you will need it much as it was 97F every day in Dec./Jan. and the first thing you will want to do is cool off. The breakfast buffet was very good and the hotel is close to everything (walking distance) that you will want to see and do in Cartagena.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 4, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by HELEN

Good for the price

Posted Dec 30, 2016 on Hotels
Located next to old Cartagena and across the street from a lovely park. No hot water. Great all you can eat breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Excellent location

Posted Dec 9, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Location, cleanliness, the staff, free breakfast, ice & beach towels, help booking tours & info about getting around & restaurants. Free WiFi
Cons: This is just outside old city area & road was under construction out front ...but overall I have no suggestions for improvement
Location: 400 year old Monistary, Fort SAN Felipe, old city, new area shopping, dining, tour the islands, many beach areas. Playa Blanca, naval museum....
Hotel is old, but outside was being refurbished & painted. Our room was basic, but the sheets & towels were fresh & clean. Surprisingly they were changed everyday. The a/c was much needed and worked well in our room, lobby not air conditioned but they had big fans so it was OK. They had a bin for ice out in the dining area, that we could fill the provided jug with for our room. Free buffet breakfast, various fruits, juices, coffee, hot chocolate, toasts, fritters, scrambled eggs; all the basics. We didn't hVe lunch or dinner there but they did have if you asked. Hot water was available for showers for the asking, we didn't need it as it was so hot there, lukewarm water was fine. Easy walking distance to Old City, several restaurants, shopping. Hotel set us up with 2 tours; best one was to monastery, fort, old city, emerald museum in a big van & a big boat trip to Isla Del Rosario...both were well worth the value. Hotel staff was EXCELLENT, front desk the BEST. They even gave us towels for the beach days. We were a 10 minute taxi trip to beaches. We were able to use lobby computers as well as print boarding passes.