Ratings based on 36 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Great location and small rooms

Posted Oct 27, 2016
Pros: The bath, the location
Cons: The size of the rooms
Location: Beach, shopping center, shops
The hotel had very small rooms, but the bathroom was very clean and so was the sleeping area. The bed was large and comfortable. The bath had all the needed amenities. The hotel did not have the interior air conditioned so it was muggy inside until you got to your room. The location was excellent to walk anywhere, the beach, shopping and other touristy spots. Getting to the old town was an easy taxi ride (without being cheated), make sure you get the help of the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 28, 2016 by EVELIN NOEL TORRES, Hotel Management
Good Afternoon Dear Mr. Thanks for your comments for us. For us it is very important to know that your stay at the hotel was to your liking, there is no greater satisfaction to know that our efforts are recognized by our guests, as this we know that we are doing well and leaves us feeling of accomplishment . EVELIN NOEL TORRES Customer Service Hotel San Martín Cartagena
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Salvador, El Salvador

Great vacations!

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: Location, staff, room, breakfast
Cons: Wifi, rooms size
The hotel is very nice, its locations is perfect (I stayed for 5 days)....you have exchange store,restaurants, drug stores, mini markets, malls, all of this on a two block distance at the most, and the beach its one block away, the front deck is very nice of you just want to relax and view the city.....the staff is very nice and always willing to help, room is very clean, AC was always working perfectly, breaksfats is most of the time the same but it is OK. If you spend the most of the day outside then this is the hotel for you, rooms are a bit small and walls very thin (wifi was a bit unstable sometimes) but that´s about it with the negative stuff, the everything else its perfect! Highly recommend it, we will come back to San Martin!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hungary

Posted Mar 19, 2016
Really great and good value hotel in the Bocagrande area of Cartagena. More personal service then the usual American chain hotels which are nearby. The room was very clean, airconditioning and wi-fi worked very well. Most of the staff spoke English, which was very helpful. Breakfast excellent with fresh fruits provided. The hotel is located one block from beaches. Cartagena old town is close, 5 minutes by bus, or about 20 minutes walk. A taxi from Cartagena airport cost COP18,500 ($6), a 15 minutes ride.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Very nice hotel close to the Beach.

Posted Mar 5, 2016
If I go back to Cartagena, I will stay in this hotel. Staff very friendly, helpful. Rooms clean and comfortable!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent staff.

Posted Mar 5, 2016
Went out of their way to help. Planned lnly one day but stayed three days instead. Felt very secure. Four Star.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Well located simple hotel

Posted Aug 12, 2015
Pros: The location, the staff, the shower, the bed
Cons: The breakfast, the breakfast location, the lobby, prohibiting street vendors, and increase room size.
Location: Plenty of restaurants, shopping, vendors, airline offices, beach and an easy taxi ride to the Old Historic District of Cartagena.
I found the location the selling point of this hotel. The staff were very friendly, helpful, and cheerful. The rooms were very small, the shower was clean, new and excellent. The amenities were also very good. The bed was comfortable, the pillows were not as firm as i wanted and they didn't have any firm pillows. The lobby was not cool enough because the doors were left open. It was in the upper 90ºF in Cartagena. It was also uncomfortable having to have breakfast outside with the birds that wanted to steal the food, flies, mosquitoes and street vendors. The breakfast was alright, the fresh fruits were great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Hot shower, great location

Posted Apr 30, 2015
Great breakfast, super location, friendly staff, hot shower.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

A nice hotel conversion

Posted Apr 29, 2015
Pros: Nice staff. Good location if you want to be near the beach.
Cons: The breakfasts could be improved a bit.
This place was once a school and has nice tropical features like a couple of small interior patios. The staff is helpful and pleasant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very pleasant stay

Posted Mar 13, 2015
Pros: Buffet, tropical fruit juices, computer handy in lobby.
Cons: I don't know if the staff was bilingual because we are Spanish speaking.
Location: Everything is nearby!
This hotel was well priced and extremely well-located, well-kept and comfortable for us in every way. We stayed nine nights, and the buffet breakfast was different every morning. The tropical fruit juices were lovely and the food very satisfying. Really, after that buffet breakfast we didn't need much additional food for the rest of the day! Overall it was a lovely time. The hotel is located on a busy street, but fortunately the walls are thick and it is not noisy inside. Also, there is a lot of night life in the city, but it did not spill onto this block. We were happy about that.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Very clean hotel close to shops and the beach

Posted Mar 13, 2015
Pros: Cleanliness. location and a great free breakfast.
Cons: Everything was perfect.
Location: Near the beach and many restaurants with traditional Colombian food.
Excellent hotel was in a great Cartagena location in Bocagrande. The staff members were excellent. The room was spotless. Free breakfast was very well prepared and complete. The room was a little small.