Ratings based on 160 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Ontario

Great boutique hotel in a fabulous location!

Posted May 1, 2017
Pros: Everything!
Cons: It would be nice if the staff spoke a little more English as we did not speak Spanish. We managed to communicate though.
Location: It's literally steps from the ocean; the swimming and snorkeling is great. Don't miss the Enchanted Lagoon where the plankton glows in the dark!
We stayed two nights at this hotel in late April. It was great! The room was clean and spacious (upgrade to a Jr, Suite to get your own outdoor living area and hammock). The food was excellent, which we didn't expect being on an island so far from the mainland. The staff was very friendly and while there are no organized tours per se, they will take you on any tour you ask about. We had a guide take us to the Enchanted Lagoon to stand up paddleboard at night, which was a really fun experience. The swimming and snorkeling was great too. Very relaxing and excellent value for money. We would go back!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oxford, United Kingdom

A vermin infested room

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Pros: The food and drinks expensive. Lunch and dinner good, breakfast average. Staff attentive and eager to please. The robes in the room are great.
Cons: Vermin in rooms. Man-made beaches dirty. Strong smell of diesel fumes. Day trippers take over the hotel from 10:30 hours to 16:00 hours.
Location: Bicycle rides, walks around the island, scuba diving lessons, snorkelling trips, canoeing around the island and windsurfing is available at a price.
Stepping off the boat at the hotel’s marina is a strong stench of diesel fumes from the boats moored at the marina as well as local vendors selling cheap jewellery and At check-in we were informed that my sister in-law had no reservation, in spite of numerous long distance calls made by my wife from the UK since Feb2016 confirming the presence of her sister. The reception clerk then informed us that our junior suite was not available because we made a reservation for two people rather than three. We then asked to speak to the Manager but the reception clerk decided to ring the reservation office in Cartagena. A long conversation ensued at the end of which it was decided not to charge my sister in-law for her stay and that breakfast was included for all of us. Our room became a standard one and not a junior suite as booked. Worse was to happen that night, when my sister in-law found two cockroaches climbing up the wall next to her bed. A few more cockroaches were killed but my wife and her sister were traumatised by the experience. The next day the room was fumigated after we complained. On our second evening, the floor was littered with cockroaches and other insects. I killed a live cockroach in our bed and killed another one that fell from the ceiling. This continued for a good 20 minutes. In the morning, I complained to the cleaning lady who reported my remarks to the Manager who then moved us to a suite. We did not encounter any more cockroaches.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Your reservation was not accepted

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: No, but next time you might get it right
We ended up at Sports Baru which was very nice and we enjoyed it very much
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Nice hotel rooms (bungalow style). Essential oils used to keep the room fresh. Direct beach access (lots of pebbles) Would recommend a canoe tour of the mangroves around the island
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Posted Jan 30, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Grounds Beach Room (Junior Suite) Customer Service
Location: The location was fantastic and serene.
My experience at this hotel was marvelous! From the moment I arrived off the boat, the customer service was impeccable. The rooms were stunning. I sprung for the junior suite. You should too! The food was really fresh and every meal was really good. The beach was beautiful and peaceful. Lastly, the staff deserve all the praise. The attention to detail they have is outstanding. Special kudos to Eddie at the front desk.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

Nice hotel

Posted Sep 30, 2016
Pros: Location and rooms
Cons: Better training for the dinning room staff
Staff in the dining room not as nice as you expect for the price.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Easton ct

Posted Sep 13, 2016 on Hotels
Island getaway. Peaceful. Friendly staff. Very weak drinks!!
3 out of 5
by Daniel from Roscoe, IL

Nice Island Hotel that Needs Lots of Improvements!

Posted Aug 8, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel was great for most of our stay. The last night, the fan and air conditioner in the room did not work. We called, but since the staff of the hotel leave the area for the night, nom one was there to attend the guests. At night there is no possibility of service, repairs, etc. One maintenance person came early in the afternoon and say that the fan did not work. Really? that is why we called service! He left and never came back. Also during our stay, a medical emergency happened with another guest of the hotel, this young person was having a heart attack, no medical personnel in the island at all! He had to be stabilized by a retired Italian doctor that was a guest in the hotel. Emergency trip back to Cartagena in a private boat 45 minutes! Kudos for the hotel manager, she was on top of the situation and went to Cartagena in the boat with the guest. Fortunately the guest was fine as we found later. Also everyday at 4:00 p.m. there was no electricity. One of the generators was damaged and the only generator needed a rest from 4:00 to 6:00 p.m. everyday! Great hotel and location but much improvement is greatly needed.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Disappointed Experience

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Pros: The peacefulness of the location of the hotel.
Cons: All areas need work.
Location: You can swim, scuba dive, canoe & take bike trail ride.
Everyone be aware that the hotel only has a one time per day to and from the island (which means you are stuck getting another hotel if you miss that one time daily boat or you can take a private boat to the island that will cost you additional expenses). They are also in a renovation process which make limits the area. The people at the hotel are welcoming and tried helping make the best of the situation, especially the hotel Manager Joice; she had excellent customer service skills that made the place bearable. But I would wait for a while before venturing out there so they have time to pull themselves together.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 31, 2016 on Hotels
We were looking for a relaxing day and night on the Islas del Rosario. We enjoyed the ease of access to the restaurant and activities. We definitely appreciated the service provided by the restaurant waiters as well. Some of my concerns for future guests are the constant approaches by hotel vendors selling necklaces and other trinkets, the inability of hotel toilets to flush toilet paper, and the night time power outages.