Ratings based on 41 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, B.C, Canada

Cozy little hotel

Posted Mar 8, 2016
My experience with Hotel Karmairi was great! The staff were wonderful, the food was delicious, the cocktails were refreshing, the amenities were good, the room (premium) was perfect size for 2... the only thing I did not like was the balcony (the view was the parking lot entrance to the hotel.. it was an eye sore! My girlfirend and I enjoyed the relaxed environment, pool side and the beach. The hotel does have courtesy transportation to the city throughout the day, it was very hot (drink plenty of water).
5 out of 5
by Lauren

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 10, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Lovely small hotel on the beach

Posted Feb 7, 2016
Pros: Very Relaxing.
Cons: The entire menu as well as the spa services could be translated into English The beach could use some sprucing up.
Location: Other than the beach or the pool there was little to do nearby. Cartagena was a 30 min way. Isla Rosario and the Mud Volcano were day trips
Karmairi was a lovely hotel/spa. It had a beautiful pool area and spa. The food was excellent. There was both an English and a Spanish menu but there were many items that were only listed in the Spanish menu. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. They helped us arrange a few day trips and taxis. There was a shuttle which you could take to or from the old city of Cartagena 3 times a day It is a very small hotel with out many activities which was great if your main goal was to relax, but might be a problem if you are looking to be entertained. The beach was great to walk on and the water was warm and clean, but the sand was hard packed and grey and cars are allowed to drive on the beach. Children under 15 were not allowed at the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from boston

relaxing

Posted Jan 26, 2016
The hotel is very beautiful and relaxing. A good escape for the night.
5 out of 5
by dane from Seattle

Great retreat,

Posted Nov 28, 2015 on Hotels
It is a great alternative to staying in Cartagena, the setting and staff are amazing. You can get free rides into the old city. The food was great if a little spendy. 8 mill for bottled water The beach is nice, swiming fum but rough.The only down side: Durring the height of the sun,most every thing is in the sun, shady spaces go fast and some times are just camped out at even if the people are not aroun.
1 out of 5
by jeff from cleveland

This hotel can not be trusted

Posted Aug 10, 2015 on Hotels
I did not have a stay - I had a confirmed reservation via hotels.com but the hotel told me they had no rooms. They canceled my reservation but charged me anyway. Now they refuse to refund my money. This hotel can not be trusted.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

magnificent spa but

Posted Jul 14, 2014 on Hotels
The spa is very beautiful. The faciliteis are wonderful however. The food is not very good. The staff is amazing. Constantly trying to please. The pool is spotless and the spa facilities are wonderful. Towels should be placed by the pool for guests to take rather than having them locked up and having to have a staff member go find the key to unlock and give to the guest. There is a free shuttle to the airport for guests. A very nice touch. Once agin, we had a wonderful stay but
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 18, 2014
Was a beautiful hotel, calming and relaxing environment......
4 out of 5
by Krystal from Guatemala/NY

Relaxing!

Posted Apr 22, 2014 on Hotels
I stayed here for 2 nights. I wasn't sure of the area of Cartagena and wanted something relaxing. The hotel was great. The staff was super nice, room was comfortable and breakfast was included! I loved the ambiance it provided. It isn't close to the center and you'd have to take a cab/shuttle there to go out at night. Great place to stay and highly recommend!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

4 Nights of Bliss

Posted Jun 21, 2013 on Hotels
My girlfriend and I had a phenomenal stay at Karmairi Hotel & Spa. We enjoyed 4 nights at the hotel and took advantage of many of the wonderful services offered by the hotel like the spa, free transportation to the city and of course the beautiful beach. We arrived to the hotel and were amazed by the hotel room we were upgraded to. The room had a view of the pool and beach. My girlfriend and I thoroughly enjoyed our room. We also enjoyed the meals at Karmairi. Make sure and try their ceviche, it is incredible. Their style was also great. We both thoroughly enjoyed our stay and were sad to leave. My girlfriend even told me that this trip will be tough to beat.