Ratings based on 396 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Americans in Cartagena

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Overall very good. Can't give 5 stars but a strong 4+ Pros good food and beverages. Cons no airport shuttle. You have to make dinner reservations Fun trip
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new York

Ok

Posted Jan 21, 2017
Resort is decent about 15 min from airport food is just ok. They tend to run out on popular food items and don't seem to put out more.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from a

Not bad,

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Food was great, humidity in the room was very high. If I have to go back, the only rooms I would get would be the ones on building 2 , building 3 had a very heavy smell from humidity.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SF

Occidental not in Cartagena

Posted Nov 16, 2016
Pros: The staff was very helpful and friendly. It was very relaxing at the hotel.
Cons: Some of the cooking was not that great. I ordered a steak cooked medium and got a mire then well done steak. The beans in the rice were not cooked all the way. My girlfriend sat on a nail when seated for dinner!
Location: I didn't realize how far the location was from actual Cartagena, but after being harassed all day in Cartagena to buy things it wasn't so bad.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bogota, Colombia

You hardly get what you pay for

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Pros: Location, secluded. Free transport to city, several times a day
Cons: Staff Enterntainment Quality of food and drinks
Location: Away from anything else. Free ride to main city is a nice touch
I'm NOT picky when it comes to hotels and accommodations. But this one definitely didn't fulfill my expectations. Room is OK, bathroom is tiny, food is just OK (I expected a lot better), drinks are 100% national (no known brands), staff –except counted exceptions- is extremely rude. Beach bar only opened on weekends and it is still +200 meters away from the actual beach, restaurant reservations impossible to obtain, entertainment is lousy. Pillows and linens not confortable at all.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from COL

Good but NOT as expected

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Not as showed in pictures. To be a ESTELAR is not as good as I though.
3 out of 5
by Stuart from Fort Erie, Canada

Too Far Away From Cartagena

Posted Aug 8, 2016 on Hotels
If you want something outside the city, away from the hustle of Cartagena, then this place is for you...but if want to truly enjoy Cartagena, then this place will not interest you. The hotel and the staff were great, people were friendly, but just too far from the city. They have a free shuttle and the cabs are only $40,000 COP each way..20 min ride into town. I don't want to sound negative about my experience...it wasn't really that bad. However, when you compare it to other ALL INCLUSIVES, these guys need some major work in that area. The food was a "B" grade, entertainment was all in spanish, so we didn't take part...the one bar wasn't very lively..like I said, a great place to relax...if that is your goal.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from G

Posted Jul 16, 2016
This hotel needs a lot of improvements in every single way, I've been in severals All inclusive and they far away from others, food needs to have more variety and the restaurants a la carte the chefs needs to be evaluated, out of only one "La parrilla", the others two the taste of the food is relly bad, only one bar, no air conditioner nowhere, exept in one restaurant. The rooms they need to clean them better, specially the bathrooms. Talking about the goods, employees in general are nice, they cooperate most of the time, also the free shuttle to the center is good. I won't come back unless the get better and I won't recomended to a friend, I hope that now being part of Barcelo they will be better.
2 out of 5
by Lauren from U.S.

Posted Feb 23, 2016 on Hotels
The staff was very nice, but 2 out of the 4 of us became very ill with food poisoning from the seafood eaten there. The other 2 people got sick once we returned to the U.S. Although the staff was very nice to us and said to call if we needed anything, I could not drink/eat for 3 days while I was there. I do not know if we became ill because of the food at this resort or if it was Colombian food in general, but I would not go back there as a result of this experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 7, 2016 by Alonso Giraldo, Hotel Management
Dear Lauren, Thanks for visiting us, have the opportunity to hear comments hereby allow us to maintain a continuous improvement in each of our processes and ensure customer satisfaction at every visit. Regarding the situation manifesting the hotel may not have control of foods that are consumed outside the hotel, the investigation that led and effectively identified people group came to the city, on the other hand this type was carried out Hotel guest must measure the amount of food consumed in large quantities because some foods can cause medical complications that are not cause alerts are poisoning the food quality. There have been no similar cases which ensures that the controls and procedures applied to avoid such situations. Alonso Giraldo Gerente General Hotel ESTELAR Grand Playa Manzanillo by Hotels & Resorts
4 out of 5
by LON

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 14, 2016 on Hotels