Ratings based on 97 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Americans in Cartagena

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Overall very good. Can't give 5 stars but a strong 4+ Pros good food and beverages. Cons no airport shuttle. You have to make dinner reservations Fun trip
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new York

Ok

Posted Jan 21, 2017
Resort is decent about 15 min from airport food is just ok. They tend to run out on popular food items and don't seem to put out more.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from a

Not bad,

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Food was great, humidity in the room was very high. If I have to go back, the only rooms I would get would be the ones on building 2 , building 3 had a very heavy smell from humidity.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SF

Occidental not in Cartagena

Posted Nov 16, 2016
Pros: The staff was very helpful and friendly. It was very relaxing at the hotel.
Cons: Some of the cooking was not that great. I ordered a steak cooked medium and got a mire then well done steak. The beans in the rice were not cooked all the way. My girlfriend sat on a nail when seated for dinner!
Location: I didn't realize how far the location was from actual Cartagena, but after being harassed all day in Cartagena to buy things it wasn't so bad.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bogota, Colombia

You hardly get what you pay for

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Pros: Location, secluded. Free transport to city, several times a day
Cons: Staff Enterntainment Quality of food and drinks
Location: Away from anything else. Free ride to main city is a nice touch
I'm NOT picky when it comes to hotels and accommodations. But this one definitely didn't fulfill my expectations. Room is OK, bathroom is tiny, food is just OK (I expected a lot better), drinks are 100% national (no known brands), staff –except counted exceptions- is extremely rude. Beach bar only opened on weekends and it is still +200 meters away from the actual beach, restaurant reservations impossible to obtain, entertainment is lousy. Pillows and linens not confortable at all.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from COL

Good but NOT as expected

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Not as showed in pictures. To be a ESTELAR is not as good as I though.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from G

Posted Jul 16, 2016
This hotel needs a lot of improvements in every single way, I've been in severals All inclusive and they far away from others, food needs to have more variety and the restaurants a la carte the chefs needs to be evaluated, out of only one "La parrilla", the others two the taste of the food is relly bad, only one bar, no air conditioner nowhere, exept in one restaurant. The rooms they need to clean them better, specially the bathrooms. Talking about the goods, employees in general are nice, they cooperate most of the time, also the free shuttle to the center is good. I won't come back unless the get better and I won't recomended to a friend, I hope that now being part of Barcelo they will be better.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

The worse All inclusive that I have every stayed.

Posted Jan 26, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: Nothing nearby, must catch taxi or shuttle to city.
The staff is very rude and slow. The room is very basic and I got the Executive Suite. They do not have ocean view, it is barely a partial view of the ocean. It almost impossible to get room to your room Everyday was a hassle for me to go downstairs to get coffee to bring to my room. There are to many rules and they are not clear on all the rules. Was constantly always arguing with staff and management on little stupid things. For example, could not get a towel at the pool. We are talking about a $1.00 towel, when I paying over $300.00 a day. Give me a break. So I got angry and took the towel. Grant it is wrong, but at this point I was tired of the service at this hotel. To resolve the issue they send five guys over to my pool chair and tried to scare me. Well I don't scare to easy, so I was very angry. Want go into details on what was said, but the issue could have been resolve with one person. The management was there and he spoke english, but was no help at all. The food was terrible!!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 3, 2016 by Gerente General, Hotel Management
Dear BJM Thanks for visiting us, have the opportunity to hear your comments in this way allows us to maintain continuous improvement in each of our processes and ensure customer satisfaction at every visit, we regret that all services, food and Policies hotel have not been to his liking, even more so when communication towards our staff was not the most friendly we were always ready to have a pleasant communication and you could feel happy. The objective of certain failures are specific job and thus to correct certain flaws in for your next visit. We look forward to your early visit and demonstrate once again the hospitality service with 100% Colombian. Sincerely, Alonso Giraldo General Manager ESTELAR Grand Hotel Playa Manzanillo by Occidental Hotels & Resorts
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Disappointing All-inclusive

Posted Dec 28, 2015
As you walk into this hotel, your expectations will naturally be fairly high, especially since it appears they spent a large portion if their budget on the entryway and its large modern fountain... But, after checking in, you'll be taken to your room that will undoubtedly stink of mildew (we overlooked this in almost every other review, and thought "how bad can it be?", but it is STRONG), and see the beds that laid out on two uncomfortable concrete slabs. You'll probably then hear your neighbors talking, just talking, since their is hardly any insulation between adjoining rooms. It's loud! Then, your probably going to be hungry after your journey, so go you'll venture down to the restaurant area. If you don't make a reservation in the morning for dinner at one of their 3 restaurants (usually only 2 are open), then you'll need to get their buffet option. On day one, you will be forced into this option since you couldn't reserve in the morning :). The buffet was mostly what we ate the whole time, and it was much worse than food you'd find anywhere else in town.. Well, at least they have a pool right? And a beach? And a shuttle to downtown? These things are the pros of the hotel, but if you think harder, every hotel in Cartagena has these things and you can save your money and time by reserving a hotel near downtown. It's not worth spending the extra cash to stay at an all-inclusive when you can get very reasonably priced and MUCH better food and drinks at another hotel..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice resort

Posted Sep 10, 2015
Clean beach, clean resort, food was a little bland. Would have loved more ethnic/typical Colombian food. Also from 10am-11:30am there is no food being served anywhere on premises. Kind of disappointing
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 13, 2015 by Alain Richard, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your comments. it's great that you enjoyed your stay with us and we will work on the stimulation fo the food buds. Cordially Alain Richard General Manager Hotel Estelar Grand Playa Manzanillo By Occidental Hotels &Resorts