Ratings based on 7 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Recommended

Posted Nov 15, 2016 on Hotels
Isla Baru is an amazing area - and the thoughtful & friendly staff here made us feel at home. It's a special place. Would highly recommend the excursions on offer to Mangroves (which is really a tour of the local area of the island in general ie more than just mangroves & rosario. On Saturdays the bar/club on the other side of the bay attracts party boats, which are loud. So when we revisit we will probably avoid saturdays. mon-sundays is idylllic. We had a wonderful time. Thanks !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 4, 2016
A really cute place, with plenty of hammocks and well appointed rooms. Lounging in the shade on the dock with views of the water and islands was particularly relaxing. Only slight inconvenience was the heat and humidity, which brought a lot of mosquitos. Even with strong bug spray (provided by hotel) we still got bites.
5 out of 5
by Tyler from Denver, Co

Great place.

Posted Nov 16, 2015 on Hotels
Magical little place. Rafa and the staff were very attentive and accommodating without being intrusive and the cooking was delicious and authentic. Playa azul is a hidden gem. There is some annoying beach peddling but nothing remotely like you will experience in Cartagena or the big beaches like playa Blanca or Boca grande. I would strongly urge you to avoid anything the beach peddlers offer that is not factory sealed (we got sick from a coconut drink that we later found out was made from their local "rainwater" supply. After that incident, the owner, Fernando graciously took us into the village of Baru to get some much needed antibiotics, which was above and beyond or expectations. Highly recommended!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Orlando FL

Beauty in Baru

Posted Oct 18, 2015
Pros: food, location, Fernando
Cons: Temper your expectations and remember you are on a island
Location: the beach - awesome - just being on the boat and seeing the islands from your location is awesome. Dont bother to leave the resort out the back.
Our first time in Columbia was an amazing experience. We were guests at this resort toward the end of stay and the Owners went out of their way to personally pick us up in their boat from the secluded island we were staying at beforehand. From the moment we met Fernando, our host, we felt and a warm and friendly welcoming. He let us choose our own room and went out of his way to make sure he met our special requests for little comforts. The rooms DO have air conditioning and the bed was comfortable. The rustic feeling of the palm thatched hut provided protection from the elements while adding to the island experience. The food is chef's choice, which is different but led to some truly amazing meals. The resort is on the bay with a lovely dock but the nearby beach is less touristy and a slice of this beautiful country with awesome sunsets. Bring some peso's to experience the local flare. Snorkeling trip was very cool (and free). Drinks and anything you need here are very reasonable and they don't have the typical corporate mini bar price gouging. If you are looking for luxury you aren't going to find it here but you wont find it on baru. Its not that type of experience. Come here for a true Colombian experience with a chance to disconnect and relax. I promise you will never forget your stay at this resort and your visit to Baru. Fernando is a really great guy and even presented us with a thoughtful wonderful parting gift that we will treasure.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel and friendly host but no CC machine.

Posted Oct 8, 2015
The hotel is nice but they literally had to take my credit card to charge me. They said they have to call somewhere to charge me. I don't know why it has to work that way when they know how to use Internet and everything. Nobody likes to give out the numbers.
5 out of 5
by Jay

Relaxing hideaway spot with great food

Posted Jul 3, 2015 on Hotels
Great secluded hideaway with awesome food! Friendly owner with great service
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Buena atención, hermoso lugar, sin playa.

Posted Mar 11, 2015 on Hotels
Un lugar hermoso. Excelente atención. Comida incluída y buena. El hotel no tiene playa (tiene acceso a un muelle), pero desde él se puede llegar a una playa paradisiaca a solo 5 minutos en lancha, que se puede pedir en cualquier momento. Limpio. Se llega en lancha desde Cartagena (1 hora). Los disfrutamos muchísimo.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 24, 2015
Es grato saber que disfruto de su estadía en el hotel Playa Scondida. Agradecemos sus comentarios.