Ratings based on 70 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Gorgeous boutique hotel

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: The hotel was quiet and well staffed. My room was stunning. I was only staying one night and would have loved to have stayed longer.
Cons: NA
Location: The hotel is in a quiet street within the walls of the old town. Close to restaurants, bars etc.
The staff couldn't have been more helpful or the accommodation more beautiful. Lovely boutique hotel updated to retain its historical charm in the heart of old town Cartagena.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2017 by Pablo, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your impressions from your stay at Alfiz. We hope to see you back in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from inveterate retired Seattle travelers

Ideal location inheart of Historic Ctr

Posted Jul 20, 2017
Helpful staff but many stairs & steps between bed & bath in loft rooms. Breakfast was delicious, common rooms comfy but watch those steps! Ideal for romance & youth.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton

Beautiful Old Town Hotel

Posted May 14, 2017
Exclusive boutique hotel situated in Centro Historico close to the main plaza, clock tower and cathedral. Only 8 rooms here which means a quiet and tranquil experience. Main door is locked for security and front desk is manned by an experienced and knowledgeable team who rotate to work on all hotel responsibilities. We had a room with a balcony that overlook the cobbled street. Each evening when we are out for dinner the room is turned down and the balcony doors locked. Breakfast is a special experience with selection of eggs available with carbs and fruits. We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night stay at Alfiz following our cruise!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Antonio TX

Very nice Botique Hotel

Posted May 8, 2017
Excellent location within walled city close to museums, resturants and shopping. Staff was helpful and breakfast was enjoyable. Only seven rooms making this a quiet destination.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 20, 2016 on Hotels
Love the place very romantic
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new zealand

Top notch boutique hotel

Posted Sep 6, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed at Alfiz for 5 nights. The hotel is generally in very good condition considering it is a few hundred years old. The staff here are amazing. We couldn't find a fault anywhere with them.Their breakfast is exceptional to say the least. Our room was also very quiet. We would stay here again without a doubt if we head back there.
5 out of 5
by lezlie from South Carolina

Buen viaje

Posted Aug 29, 2016 on Hotels
This small boutique hotel in the old walled city of Cartagena de Indias is delightful. Easy to walk the city from here. The staff is the most friendly and helpful I have ever experience. There are just 8 rooms so they always have time for you and even anticipate your needs like arranging transfers to airport and cabs or restaurants that you can reach on foot. It is also so quaint and decorated with antiques from Spanish Colonial period. Because it is an old building the lighting is not the best and it is not the most modern baths but goes perfect with the atmospher and quite fine. Not a place for children.
5 out of 5
by Jennifer from NYC

Sweet spot

Posted Jul 11, 2016 on Hotels
The staff was lovely, kind and accommodating. It is a beautiful hotel in the heart of the walled city, so you're in the middle of everything. The only downside to our pretty room is that it was on the ground floor and you could hear everything that was going on in the kitchen/breakfast area. And speaking of breakfast, they served a really delicious and fresh breakfast each morning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Great historic building/nicely redone/great staff!

Posted Apr 13, 2016
Pros: Beautifully done hotel, great room, great service from staff.
Wonderful stay in a lovely hotel in a 300 year old building. Have stayed in other small hotels in the Centro, Alfiz is the best. Great location as well. It's a small historic place but extremely well done.
5 out of 5
by Cecilia from Los Angeles, California

Fantastic place

Posted Apr 10, 2016 on Hotels
it was too short to fully enjoy the pool and the hamock