Ratings based on 39 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice cute place, but not a boutique

Posted Oct 2, 2017
The hotel is cute but it is not a boutique. The best thing they have is the staff, really friendly and helpful. Breakfast is very good, fresh juices and fruits every day along coffee and your choice of eggs etc. The room has a good size, bed was comfortable and AC worked well. The bathroom is small and there was no hot water, even after the staff tried to fix it. The place has only 5 rooms but because of the quality of the doors, the room has no sound isolation, you hear everything from outside and I bet everyone outside can hear what is going on inside, so I guess it not a good place for honeymoon. The "spa" area is ok, but the service needs improvement. After rubbing me with a kind of mix of oil and sugar, the lady asked me to get into my bathrobe and go to get a shower in my room downstairs what I did not want to do as I had no hot water. The lady removed the things they had in the bathroom upstairs so that I could use it, and the water was cold too. The swimming pool is very small, unless you have kids you probably would not consider getting into it. The area is ok, everything is close in the old town. In general the place is nice, but I would try something different next time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Halfmoon NY

Not close to the beach. Very nice people.

Posted Aug 23, 2017
The only problem was hot water. Sometime it would take a long time for hot water or you would not have any at all. The hotel was very private.
5 out of 5
by Victor

Two thumbs up

Posted Jul 25, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel staff was very helpful. Small hotel, very good, well appointed and nicely decorated. Great location,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Small hotel in funky neighborhood

Posted Jul 21, 2017
The hotel is located only 100 feet from Plaza de la Trinidad which is a nightly gathering place for singers and musicians. There is music until about 10 pm each night. We had a first floor room on the street side so we heard the music.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful restored colonial home

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Courteous staff Welcome juice Roof top pool Espresso machine for personal use! Great tv channel list
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2017 by María José, Hotel Management
Thank you for your comments, we are very happy to have fulfilled all your expectations
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Perfect location, beautiful hotel, amazing staff!

Posted May 4, 2017
Great location! You're close to all the action without being overwhelmed by other tourists and vendors. Everything within the walled city is walking distance. The hotel really felt like home - so comfortable, very clean, very peaceful... great little oasis. The pool is tiny, but good enough for a quick dip to escape the heat. The staff are wonderful! They're so sweet and helpful - very attentive. I'd highly recommend this place!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia Beach

Lovely boutique hotel outside Cartagena's old wall

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Pros: I loved the comfort and decoration of the room, the bed and the hotel in general. It feels like an oasis.
Cons: It would be recommendable if the staff could speak sufficient English.
Location: About a mile walk to Castillo de San Felipe de Barajas. At streetend a lovely church square - queit during the day, vibrant during the evening - fun!
Lovely reception at Casa Santa Ana Boutique Hotel! Room and bathroom were awesome - great combination of furniture, fantastic bed, small but excellent/clean bathroom. Wonderful attention to detail in terms of interior decoration, very stylish. WiFi works well. On TV both Spanish as well as English channels. Small pool on the roof, including nice beds & chairs to relax or have a wellness treatment. Very friendly staff and a good choice of food and drinks. Very tasty breakfast! Security was well taken care of - a very safe and nice place to stay in a colourful and vibrant neighbourhood just outside of Cartagena's old city walls.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Excellent Boutique Hotel in Getsemani!

Posted Mar 24, 2017
The hotel stay made all the difference in making the Cartagena trip a pleasure. Hotel is located right next to Trinidad Plaza where every night there are local street activities like music, dance, jugglers etc, not to mention street food and restaurants. You can hang out and unwind there at the end of the day. It is also only a 5 to 10 minute walk to the town square. The hotel was very comfy, has a nice pool on the terrace and a courtyard with seating to relax during the day. A lot of attention to detail in how the place was decorated which made the ambiance very relaxing. We were in the largest room which was a split level and had plenty of room for a family of 4. And, they have a spa with nice massage if interested. They served excellent breakfast every morning and the service was personal. Maria Jose and the ladies take pride in running the place and made our stay very enjoyable. All in all, staying at Casa Santa Ana was a great experience and I highly recommend it!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

A wonderful stay

Posted Jan 29, 2017
Maria and her staff made our stay exceptionally wonderful!!! Upon entering, we were greeted with delicious welcome drinks called Coco Lemonade. Quite, possibly the best drink I've ever had! We proceeded to our room, which was initially a queen size bed, although we requested twin size beds. The staff went out of their way to separate the mattresses to make twin beds. The facility was very modern, clean and intimate. All qualities I was looking for during my Cartagena stay. Every morning, we woke up to a delicious made to order breakfast! I enjoyed the various options, guests are offered. My only criticism of the my stay, is the rooftop pool not being as clean as it should. Perhaps, the hotel should clean it more often. In terms of hotel location, it was PERFECT! It's 10 minutes walk from the walled city and surrounded by a bunch of restaurants and bars. The popular Trinidad Plaza is a few steps away, where the neighborhood gathers to converse and listen to music. Overall, I would stay at Casa Santa Ana during my next visit.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 7, 2017 by Maria José, Hotel Management
Thank you for your comments. We felt very happy to know that they liked the attention and the facilities. We hope to see you soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Charming boutique hotel in vibrant neighborhood

Posted Dec 26, 2016
Location: Walking distance to the historic center
We enjoyed our stay and we're surprised that we were the only guests given the high ratings. We enjoyed the daily breakfast--which included a number of options and fresh juice--and the tranquility of the rooftop pool and other common spaces. We didn't even mention a small drip from our room's air conditioning unit but the hotel staff noticed the damp towel and fixed it that same day. There are also two bikes available for use. The hotel is quiet, but just a few hundred feet from several restaurants and great people-watching at Plaza de Trinidad (which I would use to give a taxi directions). It is not walking distance to the beach--we took taxis--and I agree with a previous poster, it helps to have a little Spanish language for interacting with most of the friendly, accomodating staff.