Ratings based on 137 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from miami, fl

Posted Aug 8, 2017
It was nice hotel, very old and rooms smell a little. After every cleaning the made shuts off the account while we are away, but the air needs to be circulated. Location was ok, but not too close to the main area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from west palm beach

Hidden gem

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Pros: Room, roof top pools, service.
Cons: Towels readily available for the roof top pools. Some menu variety for breakfast (which is great, but the same every day).
Location: Restaurants, bars, Trinidad Square, 10 min walk to either Castillo San Felipe or the walled city (opposite directions).
Getsemani in Cartagena is hit and miss. Old, dilapidated... but also quant, quirky, cute. Casa Lola is beautifully decorated. The rooms are comfortable. The roof top splash pools are awesome, offering an escape from the heat & humidity. The staff members are friendly and helpful. Location: about 5-10 min from the old, walled city and its attractions. Lots of restaurants and bars nearby.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from berlin

AMAZING HIDDEN GEM

Posted Jun 19, 2017
Pros: the interior design, the gardens, the ponds, the pools, the architecture, the drinks, the food and all the staff, and very fast internet allover
Cons: really didnt find anything annoying
Location: the area ( getsemani ) is authentic, the bars and restaurants near the hotel very hapenning, i had never stayed in that neibourghood and loved it.
CASA LOLA is one of the best hotels i ever stayed, and definetly the best in cartagena. the building and decor are really impresive. the people working there treat you like a king. all services are great.fresh ¨a la carta¨breakfast. lovely drinks and food in the stunning pools.....everything top , and the price very good for what you get.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel

Posted Mar 25, 2017 on Hotels
Fantastic hotel. Amazing interior design with a great service. Almost everyone speaks English and are very helpful. Very beautiful place. My only complaint is that the bed that looked like a king size bed was actually 2 single beds pushed together.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 21, 2017
Dear Sir/ Madame We are pleaced to heard that you enjoyed your stay with us. Best Regards, General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MN

Creatively designed, and well executed

Posted Mar 15, 2017
The pictures on their website do not convey the unique design of the spaces in Casa Lola. I booked because the rooftop pool looked fabulous, but the blending of nature and design throughout was why I selected it when we returned to Cartagena. Our response to the second room that we were given was typical of our response to the whole hotel, - around every corner there is a new surprise.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 12, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice style. Friendly staff. WIFI is a problem!

Posted Mar 2, 2017 on Hotels
The Hotel is cute with a lot of personal touch and nice objects in the decoration. But rooms are not practical at all (ex: shower in the middle of the space with double curtains, bathroom in a closet with small sink). WIFI never worked well, which is annoying for an hotel of this price category! The staff could never get it fixed over a period of 5 days! Really annoying. Breakfast is regular and slow service (only one waiterto take care of all the tables) Access to the pool is not easy (come down from the room, go through the restaurant, climb the stairs...).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Beautiful hotel, great service and great price

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Pros: The decor is stunning and has a fabulous service!
Cons: Offer a drink when checking-in! ;-)
Location: Casa Lola is at the Getsemani neighborhood, so you can walk to the old city in 5 minutes. The Felipe's Fortress is also a near-by attraction.
We had a wonderful stay at Casa Lola! Couldn't be happier with our choice this year. We normally stay at one of the luxury hotels in town but it was not available during our travel dates, so we decided to stay at Casa Lola and had the most amazing experience. Loved the decor, food, and service. We will definitely go back next year!
4 out of 5
by A

Beautifull hotel!

Posted Jan 11, 2017 on Hotels
It´s a beuatifull hotel, a renovated colonial house just outside the walled city. Attention at front desk was really nice, breakfast in a gorgeous terrace. Only bad thing is that rooms in the first floor are in the corridor to the breakfast area, so it is really noisy in the mornings. I would recommend a second floor room for a perfect stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami, FL

Understaffed 4 star hotel with the worst manager!

Posted Jan 8, 2017
What kind of rating would you give a hotel that leaves the front desk unattended and won't open you the door for more than 25 mins when you get back on the early morning? This is a hotel that is located in an unsafe spot. That morning I saw two homeless people sleeping in that same street when I got back, and my girlfriend had a bathroom emergency. We desperately knocked the door without response and had to use the street since no bathroom was available nearby. This is simply unacceptable, given the high price of the hotel. Aside from this the staff never answered the door!! One of the other guests woke up and had to search for him for several more minutes. A few hours later I had to leave early to the airport and asked to talk to the manager. I specifically heard her saying that she was too busy and I had to wait. I checked out and on my way out I was able to finally speak to her. She didn't listen to what I had to say and made 2 FALSE accusations of what happened early in the morning. I had no other choice than to leave the hotel so I wouldn't miss the flight.