Ratings based on 98 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by Sandra

Colonial hotel with nice outdoor spaces (no pool)

Posted Jul 27, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is centrally located on a busy street just outside the old city. The room was very small but I was given a larger one when I asked. The staff were very helpful although not all spoke English, so we used my google translate app when we had complex things to chat about, otherwise you can get by with some basic Spanish. The rooms have AC but the lobby and hallways do not so it was quite warm. The breakfast area is half indoor and half outdoor, with the outdoor terrace being shaded but still hot. The breakfast was quite basic and for Colombia the coffee was disappointing. When I asked for water with breakfast I was charged for it. The room was not well maintained, for example, a lamp didn't work and when I jiggled the plug to ensure it was plugged in, the cable came out in my hand, with the plug still in the wall. The abandoned theatre next door houses twenty or more large black vultures who use the rooftop pool as a bird bath and it was quite frightening as well as super unhygienic. I really wanted to swim in the pool but it was very tiny and simply not possible to swim there because of the vultures. In the end I moved hotels. The staff were apologetic and understanding. It seemed they were as frustrated about the vultures as I was. If you want an old colonial hotel in a central location and you don't care about accessing the pool, this is a decent place. The rooftop terrace is gorgeous but the bar didn't have mojitos. Overall I found the experience disappointing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA, USA

Lovely rooftop bar and pool With fantastic view

Posted May 31, 2017
Super comfy bed and beautiful set up with their bar and rooftop pool. Great view of the clock tower and plaza and super kind and helpful staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location!

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Pros: The location.
Location: The old city is across the street with everything you need. Good restaurants very close.
A very comfortable hotel located across from the clock tower entrance. Wonderful roof top terrace and nice breakfast area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, friendly and kind staff.

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Staff help me to have a beautiful birthday for my wife.
4 out of 5
by Terrence

Great Location

Posted Jan 8, 2017 on Hotels
Very central location easy to access old city and all it's attractions.
5 out of 5
by William

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 5, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from louisiana

great hotel close to everything

Posted Dec 3, 2016 on Hotels
it was great very happy this hotel is awesome just a few steps t o the wall city.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Location, location, location!

Posted Oct 24, 2016 on Hotels
Great location and what a view from the terrace! We can't wait to go back!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 22, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel staff was EXCELLENT. The hotel was beautiful. My wife and I spent every night on the rooftop patio drinking mojitos, and watching the sunset.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Veraguas Panama

Colonial hotel, just outside the walled city.

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Pros: A small friendly hotel located in a good position for the walled city and the Getsemene area. A small swimming pool & terrace to relax. Not noisy.
Cons: More information of things to do in Cartagena, maps, pamflets etc. get rid of the smelly musty room we first had! A hairdryer would be nice.
Location: Central location for visiting the walled city and Getsemene area. Great restaurants & bars, shopping and historical sites to visit. Beach close by.
After a frustrating start to our holiday, arrival late due to not enough time for the airline connection so missed the flight. Next flight delayed. Then given the worst room in the hotel. Room smelt musty and our view was of a large wall and air con units! this picture was not on your web site! We managed to get our room changed the following day and there after throughly enjoyed our stay. All the hotel staff were friendly and helpful. We enjoyed walking around the city taking in the sights. The Museum of modern art was lovely, small but interesting exhibition of Enrique Gual's works. A big emphasis on restaurants for us as where we live there are very few, so many to choose from we will have to go back!