Ratings based on 66 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Old Town Gem

Posted Oct 28, 2017
Pros: Centrally located and didn't really need to take a taxi for anything.
Cons: I wish the rooms were bigger.
Location: Everything is within a 5 min. walk.
Very nice and small hotel located in old time. I will definitely stay here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good Location for the price and friendly staff

Posted May 5, 2017
Pros: Location and staff.
Cons: Towels, iron, sheets, pillows, air conditioner.
Location: Near almost everything you would want to see in the walled city.
This hotel has a good location in the walled city and a helpful staff, but the rest is disappointing. Towels and sheets had holes and stains. Room didn't have a closet, safe, or a working iron. The air conditioner worked, just took a long time to cool down the room and housekeeping would shut it off after cleaning the room. The staff was great and very helpful but the actual room was bad.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Our bedroom was on the front of the hotel and was so noisy at night. Good situation and beautiful place, excellent staff
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The problem was Hotel.com.

Posted Nov 19, 2016 on Hotels
The big problem was that when we arrived, they said they never received our reservation from Hotel.com. So, the problem here is Hotel.com. And it is the second time that we have a problem with our reservation with Hotel.com. The people from Hotel Portal de San Diego was very nice and helpful, and they found another hotel for us. We stayed one night there and next day we had to move to another hotel.......Not something that we had planned.....
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Simple & good low cost hotel with perfect location

Posted Jun 7, 2016
Pros: Perfect central location, hot water, air conditioner, wifi
Location: The clock tower nearby, San Diego square a few blocks away with all the amazing colored houses, great neighborhood to stroll around
I stayed here for one night. I would recommend this hotel for anyone looking for something low cost with a great central location in the old city. There were lots of great shops on the same street where you could buy gifts, food, water, etc. and all the attractions in the old city were just a short walk away. They keep the front door of the hotel locked and you have to ring the doorbell to get in, which I liked because I felt very safe traveling on my own. The hotel and location felt safe and the staff was nice. I didn't ask for much but they watched my bags for me when I got there very early and couldn't check in yet so that I walked around and did some siteseeing without having to worry about my luggage. And they helped me get a taxi back to the airport quickly when I asked. The room was small but I wasn't expecting it to be big. There was a window with a view of some rooftops, which was pretty, the shower had hot water, there was an air conditioner that worked great, and the wifi was amazing from my room. The breakfast was good too - nothing fancy but they had coffee, juice, fruit, eggs, which seems to be the typical thing at most places I stayed in Colombia (some hotels did eggs without the fruit). I had no issues and I would definitely stay here again if I was looking to stay somewhere simple and save some money with a great location and all the amenities I need without anything fancy or extravagant.
4 out of 5
by Rockower from Washington, DC

Nice, affordable hotel in the heart of Cartagena

Posted Jun 6, 2016 on Hotels
Nice, affordable hotel in the heart of Cartagena. All the modest comforts needed in a great location
3 out of 5
by ALBERTO from Montreal

Posted Mar 29, 2016 on Hotels
Relatively small room but confortable. Bkfst contained the essentials. Very clean. Well man tainted. If you go to Cartagena is to walk around and you use the hotel room to wash and sleep. It does the job. For the price I consider it a very good deal. Yes I recommend it and I would return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Great B&B in the old section of Cartagena

Posted Feb 22, 2016
Pros: Bathrooms in each room, A/C, interior courtyard, breakfast included, clean rooms
Cons: Our room was adjacent to the courtyard, so we were woken up by the sounds of breakfast being set up every morning.
This hotel was simply amazing- very secure, very easy to get to, very easy to be comfortable in. The inner courtyard was a great place for my friends and I to hang out, and a wonderful breakfast location in the mornings. The breakfast wasn't the best ever, but certainly was amazing to have included in the stay and very convenient. But my real review goes to the staff here- it seems like we ran into ever possible issue and they helped us out completely through everything! We arrived around midnight from the airport, and the desk is staffed 24/7, so there was no issue with checking in late. We ended up having one more person in our group than we thought we would when we booked the hotel, and they worked with us to accommodate the extra guest. And then we discovered we had accidentally booked only 2 nights instead of 3 (I know, we were terrible guests), but they shuffled some guests around to a sister hotel so that we could stay one more night in our same rooms. And that's on top of their usual duties, and helping to book an island tour for the day. I'm sure it isn't the best hotel in Cartagena, but it was clean and comfortable and just what my group needed for a few nights!
5 out of 5
by carrie from Saint Paul, Minnesota

Quaint room in heart of Walled City

Posted Feb 11, 2016 on Hotels
This room was the perfect size. I like a small, quaint, simple room though. There are no bells and whistles besides a free breakfast. There is a TV but who watches TV on a vacation? It is right in the walled city, but not right in middle of the noisiest nightlife part. 2 blocks away you can find cute restaurants. 10 minute $5 cab ride to airport
4 out of 5
by jessica from Boston

Posted Feb 9, 2016 on Hotels
Overall good stay. Staff was friendly and free breakfast is included. Rooms were basic, but clean. Location was close to many things, but a few blocks from some of the nicer streets. Recommend Kilo on the block for a great dinner (pricier side)!