Ratings based on 434 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The hotel is walking distance of the walled city

Posted Jan 10, 2018
The hotel is walking distance of the walled city; elevator is very small and the building looks old. The surroundings are safe and its a good place, relative cheap.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami

Posted Jan 8, 2018
The mattress was bad, the towels weren't soft, there was no hot water to shower with, the lights were too dim to see well, and the front desk man was a bit rude. The only positive to this hotel was the location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gran Canaria

Just what it said on the tin

Posted Dec 22, 2017
Basic but adequate acomodation,very clean and very freindly staff. Fantastic location within the wall of the city and the beach. Safety box in room ,no charge. Breakfast more than adequate.I would stay there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Funky or Seedy, Depending on You

Posted Dec 9, 2017
Pros: see above
Cons: see above
Location: see above
Great location, if you can get over the immediate area on all sides of the hotel. Bums and dark alleys. A single woman might demure. Ask for a room on the upper floors facing the park. The cost is economical and most of the other guests are Columbians or Latin American tourists - a plus in my opinion. In three directions you can walk to all old city attractions. The high speed bus line is a stroll away. Breakfast was bland but filling. A good selection with fruit, bread and eggs. Juice coffee. If you are looking for a more upscale experience this may not be for you.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Louis Mo.

Hotel staff very nice and helpful,

Posted Nov 25, 2017
Pros: The staff.
Cons: I only imagine how expensive would be to have telephone service install in this hotel. A cheaper addition, a table lamp.
Location: The hotel has a nice view of the ocean and the San Felipe castle, is fairly close.
The hotel itself by no means is a four star hotel, it's your typical kind of basic lodging. The beds are clean, the bathroom is also clean and small, not too many amenities, such as telephone, table lamp. The location is not necessarily in a bad area, is fairly close to the old part of the city, just a few blocks, is also fairly safe, the breakfast is included and is decent, nothing fancy. They also serve lunch and dinner for 14,000 Colombian pesos, I tried the lunch and it wasn't too bad, never tried the dinner fare. Overall for the money, I think is a good and affordable hotel. If a telephone is a must, there are cheap cellphones that can be had for less than $30.00 usd and nearby stores.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bogota

Good hotel mear historic center

Posted Oct 5, 2017
The best is the staff so kind, friendly and cooperative. Very good breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Great value and location for the money.

Posted Oct 3, 2017 on Orbitz
It is a decent hotel,great breakfast buffet for being free. Good location.Nightclubs are very close by. Street vendors/food are great around there. Upon checking in the staff handled my luggage. Their stuff is just amazing and they will go above and beyond to take care of their customers and to make sure they are safe. Great value for the price,it is what it is, but I would definitely stay there again and it was already my second time in this hotel because of their stuff:)
4 out of 5
by Benoit

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 30, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

No frills hotel, close to old city

Posted Sep 20, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Some of the staff was a bit standoffish, but Beatriz was very helpful and let me use the phone in the lobby, which I used for about 20 min
Cons: Is an older hotel, with plenty of issues
Location: Closed to most sites, short cab ride to Bocagrande which is the beach area, and where there's also a nice and modern shopping center
Locatin, location, location ! Within walking distance to the Walled City, and many of the sites in Cartagena, very basic hotel, moldy room, no phone, hard beds, tiny elevators, the area is a bit sketchy but strangely enough I felt safe, lots of little stores and many people always around.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Decent location.

Posted Aug 23, 2017
No warm water was really annoying. The AC works but is not powerful enough to cool the room. I liked the hard beds and the washroom was a big on the bigger side for such a cheap hotel. It is just very old and there is no character at all. The cold showers is the main reason I wouldn't do this hotel again.