Ratings based on 49 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazona staff, great location.

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pros: The staff!!!
Cons: The cleanliness and condition of the room. Toilet has not been "deep cleaned" in a while, water hose by toilet dripped.
Location: Location is perfect, 4 blocks away from Cafe del Mar the perfect spot to see the sunset.
I went for a wedding and Leonel and Karen went out of their way to help us in every possible way. I needed a hair dresser and make up artist and Leonel made it happen with no hesitation at all. I also needed 4 gigantic balloons to be blown with helium and between Karen and Leonel they made it happen. Lovely small hotel in an excellent location. It's all about the sercive and everyone was so nice and readily available to help. Fernando at the "restaurant" also was friendly and spoiled us with a delicious breakfast.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 8, 2017
Nice. But looks more better in pictures that in reality. Theyou say it has pool and what they have is not a pool. Location is great. Thare are so many things near
5 out of 5
by jane

Was was perfect for our needs

Posted Jan 7, 2017 on Hotels
Located in the old town, close to museums, transportation at our doorstep Did a tour of city with a guide, which was great
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing !!!!

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Just returned from our 7 day Cartagena trip! We booked 4 rooms from the boutique hotel! Staff was amazing !!!breakfast amazing!! Everything was fabulous! The staff seriously went out of their way to make sure we were always taken care of! By the end of our trip, we felt like we were saying bye to our family .. Very emotional leaving this place! Would defiantly return! Amazing experience ! while in Cartagena check out. Havana club!!!!! Also visit the arepa guy outside the hotel! Best cheese arepas!
1 out of 5
by David from montreal

Hotel falling into disrepair - doors don't lock

Posted Mar 8, 2016 on Hotels
when I booked this hotel, I was excited, because the photos and reviews said such positive things. Having now stayed there, I feel that this property is being left to fall into ruin and disuse. The staff was really nice and tried hard to fix the problems, but it was obvious that this was beyond their power. The room we stayed in could not be locked! the battery for the automatic card lock had died, and no one could fix it. So, we spent one night in a room that could only be locked from the inside with the chain lock. There were no more free rooms that night to move us. The second day, we were upgraded to a very nice suite, BUT the room safe could not be locked, and the shower head was broken, and held in place with nails and screws. Plus, the water was cold. The hotel pool had a broken underwater light with loose wires hanging in the water. The jacuzzi upstairs was filled with green coloured smelly water. When we checked out, the front staff could not get the credit card machine to work and we spent 40 minutes waiting for them to get it to work. We almost missed our plane. The staff tried hard to make things work, but it was obvious that they were told to just try their best. I felt sorry for them, but I was very angry. the breakfast food was very good I have to say - super tasty. But, overall I have to say that you should not stay in this hotel - you can get better value at other places.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Shelton, CT

Nice hotel!

Posted Jan 8, 2016
We had a short stay but it was pleasant and very comfortable. There was a problem with the Direct TV in our room, so no channels available but we didn't care becuase we were out most of the time visiting the beautiful walled city. Highly recommended!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Great vibes = great times

Posted Dec 25, 2015
The room was lovely and air conditioned. We were only really there for sleeping. Excellent selection of TV channels in Spanish, English, Portuguese and a few other languages for background noise. The staff was wonderful and helpful (food recommendations, walking directions, taxis, etc). I speak Spanish so I can't comment on level of English spoken at the hotel. We were right across the street from the wall and the walk to anywhere we wanted to go was easy and seemed short. We walked to and from Gestamaní one night which looked far on a map but wasn't. Even with the constant flow of "greetings" on the streets from men, we (2 women) felt safe all the time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Mark S.

Special boutique hotel

Posted Jul 22, 2015 on Orbitz
La Merced Royale is a lovely, boutique hotel in the heart of Cartagena's historical district. The location could not be better as it was central but around a quiet courtyard with views of the bay. The rooms range in size from fairly cozy (with a king-size bed) to quite large (with a king-size bed and comfortable sofa bed). They are nicely appointed but not luxurious. The court-yard pool is small but fresh and attractive. The roof-top jacuzzi has views of the city wall and the bay. The delicious and varied breakfast is served in an elegant old hall by an attentive and gracious wait staff (who double as porters and pool attendants). Everyone speaks some English. One concern: websites say rooms have two beds, but only a couple do. This mattered to us as we were 6 guys (not couples) in three rooms, so we were less than thrilled to share beds. The hotel worked it out after a day, but when it says two beds per room, the second bed is more suitable for kids.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Charming hotel inside the walled city of Cartagena

Posted Jul 20, 2015
We couldn't ask for anything more. This charming hotel located inside the walled city of Cartagena, Colombia. The hotel staff were extremely helpful and pleasant to the entire family. We would definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
by Roy from Israel

Great location

Posted Oct 30, 2014 on Hotels
Great The AC a little problematic